Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jarryd Hayne - Make him an Eel for Life

Happy MEel

For those that won’t be too disappointed if we in fact have f**ked up the signing of Hayne, do you think he improves the roster?

If so, do you honestly think we will be able to sign someone that adds as much as Hayne will to the roster by the start of the season?

Happy MEel

TBH any new coach would probably love to have a relatively cleaned out roster

People bitch about our cap, but we are gonna be under the pump for maybe 1 season - and even then our roster isnt too bad if players play near their potentiql

Truely f**ked up rosters have contracts on overs they cant get rid of for years
Only if they are signed with sufficient lead
In time to fill those roster spots with quality replacements.

Happy MEel

For those that won’t be too disappointed if we in fact have f**ked up the signing of Hayne, do you think he improves the roster?

If so, do you honestly think we will be able to sign someone that adds as much as Hayne will to the roster by the start of the season?
I’ll go first...

I think he instantly turns our roster from a bottom 4 team to a fringe top 8 side (10th-7th).

I don’t think we’ll be adding any quality players to the roster prior to round 1 that will improve our chances to the extent that Hayne can.

IMO, we have effectively given up on season 2019 before a footy has been kicked for the sake of $200k...and that will be a f**king disgrace as far as I’m concerned.

Only if they are signed with sufficient lead
In time to fill those roster spots with quality replacements.
I think most coaches come in with a plan to get somewhere in 3 yrs time ... they would be over the moon they have such cap flexibility so soon .... with some young guys already getting blooded

The turn off for coaching us is our recent off field shit and instability

Happy MEel

I think most coaches come in with a plan to get somewhere in 3 yrs time ... they would be over the moon they have such cap flexibility so soon .... with some young guys already getting blooded

The turn off for coaching us is our recent off field shit and instability
So then that will be 4 or 5 years languishing at the bottom of the ladder. Tops. It’s bloody hard supporting this rabble of a club.

Chipmunk

Basically our current coach making decisions for our next coach. Thats if BA is punted which I fully expect.
I know this is common place but our roster will be decimated as well as Coach and CEO probably gone. Anyway. Welcome to Eel Land.

If we sacked the CEO and informed the coach this will be his last season now, why would either have any say in 2020 recruitment?

Souths reportedly took 10 days to sign Bennett for 2020.

So then that will be 4 or 5 years languishing at the bottom of the ladder. Tops. It’s bloody hard supporting this rabble of a club.
No i think it means the new coach's 3yr plan gets escalated cos they have more scope to build what they want quicker

Happy MEel

No i think it means the new coach's 3yr plan gets escalated cos they have more scope to build what they want quicker
Not for 2020 if they are brought in too late in the season as they won’t have the time to transform the roster with the necessary quality to make a fist of it

If next year is a right-off (and I agree, it is) then why not have the foresight to ensure one of the club's all time greatest players is there for the new era with the opening of the new stadium? What is there to lose? After all, this club isn't going to be a serious contender for years (if ever). It's all just shits and giggles now isn't it? At least with Hayne in the side they might have gotten a few people to come and sit in this new stadium.
We will continue to be shit if we think like that.

Gazzamatta

If we sacked the CEO and informed the coach this will be his last season now, why would either have any say in 2020 recruitment?

Souths reportedly took 10 days to sign Bennett for 2020.
I don't think Bernie will be sacked under any circumstances. I do reckon he will move on though. I think thats probably whats happening with BA but he dosent know it yet. Im still hoping for Justin Holbrook as his replacement. Maybe O'Neill will be promoted to Bernies spot if what I think happens. Ive always thought BA would make a good HoF Manager. Stranger things have happened.

So isn't that why them not giving him what he wants a good thing???

I've been as critical of the club as anyone but I have had enough of his BS,whinging on social media and him and his manager playing this all out in the media. Classic Jarryd, if he loves the club as much as he claims he would be happy to take a two year deal at 500k a season oh I forgot the poor bugger has bills to pay......
Well said mate. The bottom line is that they are taking a stand. Yes, it might be too late for some but it is better late than never as far as I am concerned.

Yeah but now we're left with having to pay him well overs and have squad balance issues.
That doesn’t make the original signing poor. His form warranted it at the time and has since declined. He isn’t the first player to be out of form and he won’t be the last.