Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jarryd Hayne to the NFL!

Will Jarryd Hayyne make it in the NFL?

T.S Quint

Relevant thread from one of the larger NFL communities on the internet.

*Edit* Reddit uses threaded responses rather than chronological responses in case you get confused by the comments.

Some awesome posts in that thread. :lol:

?]Grandmaster_flashes 0 points 4 hours ago
Wouldn't say our best athlete, no where near the calibre of Israel falou. Lachlan turner was even faster then the Hayne plane

[?]Titansthc216 5 points 4 hours ago
pfft don't let a silly thing like the salary cap stop you!!!
for context im a Storm fan...

Ron Jeremy

He's not as good as people thought he'd be for sure. But unlike Peterson he's a seriously receiving option as well. 5000 odd rushing yards at 4.3, and 3400 receiving yards at 7.6 is quite ok.

He has only rushed for a tad over 1000 yrds twice, that is average for a rb even though he was in pass happy offended, and as far us receiving goes, the way New Orleans and lions play spreading the ball around out of the shot gun formation predominately, dump ifs to rb and screens are quite common.

Why the f**k would he go to French rugby? Money isn't obviously the problem, he wants to test himself in the biggest sporting market, not about the money

Yes knowing that if doesn't make it in the NFL he can earn 3 mill a year anyhows.Win win.
People are saying he is gambling 7 million.No he isn't. He is rising 800k he would be on next year. If he hasn't signed in NFL this time next year he will be in NRL or French Rugbby.Might just be an easy exit that's all.

In your opinion do you think he will cut it? I reckon he wont.But good luck

Ron Jeremy

Yes knowing that if doesn't make it in the NFL he can earn 3 mill a year anyhows.Win win.
People are saying he is gambling 7 million.No he isn't. He is rising 800k he would be on next year. If he hasn't signed in NFL this time next year he will be in NRL or French Rugbby.Might just be an easy exit that's all.

In your opinion do you think he will cut it? I reckon he wont.But good luck

nah mate, have doubts, however never say never and I will tell you why:

One thing people dont talk about hayne when talking about his abilities is haynes anticipation skills, they are unbelievably good. Over the years hayne has shown the ability to make clutch plays and reading the game, this guy was the king of intercepts whilst on the wing, it wasn't luck it is a knack and anticipation.

Hayne could well translate these skills to the NFl in a variety of positions. IMO his best chances of succeeding are RB and safety - both require brillant aniticaption and reading the play before it happens - hayne has these abilities in bucket loads, combine that with haynes natural abilities he is a chance, slight but still a chance.

NFL is a game you just dont learn how to play it over night, it is like learning manderin - takes years and years. The NFL involves having eyes at the back of your head, comprehending what the defense will do, and also attention to detail is paramount - route running, blocking and schemeing are so precise, that if deviates fractionally it probably result in a turnover or td. Hayne has to learn this, he has to learn blocking of the ball, getting taken out from behind him - this wil be a massive shock to just run up 10 metres to tackle a guy and gthen run back, tackes take place when you dont even have the ball or you have to bloack on every play even when the ball isnt near you

Just saying - but Hayne is a huge NFL fan, so he'd be aware of all the basics of the code.

He'd just need to work on the finer things.

I can't understand some of the hate in this thread.
Hayne is a professional athelete, just like any of us who are professionals in our own chosen careers. He has chosen to test himself on his strengths in his profession, with the ultimate reward being success. Who amongst us wouldn't want to do that? Oh, that's right - the weak and feeble.

He has stated that this is not a financial decision. I believe him. He was a young kid bought up in Minto that has achieved incredible success and undoubtedly, a good deal of wealth beyond his dreams already. I don't think money is his motivation.

For those "claiming" that the timing is poor - when would the timing have been better? It's just 6 weeks after our last game and it appears he was still mulling over the decision during those 6 weeks, with the trip to Seattle.
What would you have preferred? Christmas Day? Just before next season starts? Half way through next season and risk destabilising the team? Fair dinkum. The timing couldn't have been better tbh.

I have the utmost respect and support for what he is doing. It would have been a f**king tough decision but just like the risks he took as a player, he is taking the same risks in making this decision. He has no contract and no big pay day yet. It is a gamble.

As I said in a previous post, I'm saddened. I'm shocked. I'm disappointed.
But I don't hate. I wish him the best.

Ron Jeremy

Just saying - but Hayne is a huge NFL fan, so he'd be aware of all the basics of the code.

He'd just need to work on the finer things.

also, much different to watching the NFL and and having guys chop block your legs from behind you and taking you out with your eyes elswhere, there is a reason why they need pads to wear this game, the hits and tackles come from everywhere and you dont even have the ball in your hands

Ron Jeremy

Hayne is a professional athelete, just like any of us who are professionals in our own chosen careers. He has chosen to test himself on his strengths in his profession, with the ultimate reward being success. Who amongst us wouldn't want to do that? Oh, that's right - the weak and feeble.

He has stated that this is not a financial decision. I believe him. He was a young kid bought up in Minto that has achieved incredible success and undoubtedly, a good deal of wealth beyond his dreams already. I don't think money is his motivation.

For those "claiming" that the timing is poor - when would the timing have been better? It's just 6 weeks after our last game and it appears he was still mulling over the decision during those 6 weeks, with the trip to Seattle.
What would you have preferred? Christmas Day? Just before next season starts? Half way through next season and risk destabilising the team? Fair dinkum. The timing couldn't have been better tbh.

I have the utmost respect and support for what he is doing. It would have been a f**king tough decision but just like the risks he took as a player, he is taking the same risks in making this decision. He has no contract and no big pay day yet. It is a gamble.

great post, i dont hate actually applaud this move - the guy has more courage then the other spastics that went to Rugby or AFL or tried boxing - Hayne went for the juggular.

chanticleer

I hate players BREAKING CONTRACTS

Contracts are a committment by both club and player

And Jarryd has broken it for his own selfish reasons, leaving the club in the lurch and a massive hole to fill with no time left to do it

THE TIMING IS VERY SELFISH

He should have decided on somthing like this mid year or at the least when he was coming off contract

Ron Jeremy

And Jarryd has broken it for his own selfish reasons, leaving the club in the lurch and a massive hole to fill with no time left to do it

He should have decided on somthing like this mid year or at the least when he was coming off contract

whatever old man, maybe we should all bring back grass hills too, contracts arent what they use to be, grow with the times.

Ron Jeremy

and besides, i broke my latest internet contract - i said the internet was corrupting my computer - the reality was it was just the shit load of hardcore porn i have on it.

I bleed blue & gold

Well said champ.

He hasn't BROKEN A CONTRACT. He negotiated a release. Happens all the time, and has happened since the idea of a contract evolved.

Doesn't make the timing any better....

I don't hate him. I am disappointed in the fact that a premiership win is something that he doesn't find challenging enough. He has done a lot in the game and he is certainly one of the best players I have ever seen wear the colours of our club. Greatest? No. Win A premiership and I would hold him up there.

I think the blame for this though lays at the feet of the NRL and the fact that they don't allow the players to own their image rights.... There was an article twelve or eighteen months ago that Hayne was quoted in regarding the intellectual property rights of players and it highlighted the NFL in it. The NRL a should have taken note then.

Oh and I don't really wish him anything. Off you go and follow your dream Jarryd. I just hope we have to lose players when and if he decides to honour his "lifetime" contract.

EelsFan05

He hasn't BROKEN A CONTRACT. He negotiated a release. Happens all the time, and has happened since the idea of a contract evolved.

Doesn't make the timing any better....

And what did the club get out of the negotiated release? Losing our superstar player with no realistic chance of getting him back. Also leaving us with no chance of covering for his loss in 2015. A good chance at our third wooden spoon in four years.

I'm sure we could have denied him a release and then put up with the whining that goes on when superstar players don't get what they want.