Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jarryd Hayne to the NFL!

Will Jarryd Hayyne make it in the NFL?

Sio was never staying.

They wanted him to take a $70k paycut

Dogs and Souths came in too late after he agreed to go to Super League.

That's right. If he was a good as a lot are making him out to be, his manager would have secured him an NRL deal ages ago.

And who is to say that Kenny didn't want to go the UK on his own accord? Lets face it, he is never going to be a super star in the NRL, so its not like he turned down the chance to be the next Jarryd Hayne earning a million bucks a season.

A good Super League offer, plus the chance to live and play footy in a different part of the world seems like a good opportunity for a young bloke if you ask me. Besides, a couple years of picking up a shit load of meat pies in the UK might catapult him into a bigger NRL contract than he ever would have earned by staying here.

Toutai has more potential than Sio and would be cheaper at this stage. Definitely cheaper than what Sio would have got from whichever SL side he signed with

Sio goes ok. Way ahead of vai. I recall Gus one Sunday arvo was astonished we hadn't resigned him. Hes no world beater but does do his job.

I like Sio as well, and I'd prefer him to Vai, but the coach obviously thinks otherwise and Via could easily have been the best retention based on salary cap.

And that's regardless of whether we are talking pre or post Hayne leaving. No point paying an average player $70k more than he is worth (for example) just because you have space under the cap, when in the coaches opinion you can get a similar player for cheap money.

IFR33K

Toutai has more potential than Sio and would be cheaper at this stage. Definitely cheaper than what Sio would have got from whichever SL side he signed with

So u happy to see vai retained and let sio go?

IFR33K

At this stage it's all ifs and buts.

Our arguement is that had hayne announced earlier in the year his departure, we could of been more productive in the player market.

Don't think anyone will disagree with that.

So u happy to see vai retained and let sio go?

If Sio was willing to stay for the same money and fight with Vai for a spot, I'd have been happy.

Why is the automatic assumption that a club kept x over y? Sio is not, IMO, worth much more than Vai in terms of money. I'm happy we didn't pay overs for a stock standard winger. Who, I might add, has all the issues Toutai does defensively

Our arguement is that had hayne announced earlier in the year his departure, we could of been more productive in the player market.

the Hayne nuthuggers will

Joshuatheeel

$70k could be the difference in picking up another player. We picked up Gower last year on a similar amount I reckon and look how good he turned out.

Vai can also play centre, Sio can't. And we have our two under wingers graduating to nsw cup who coukd both play NRL probably on a 3rd on what sio wanted

Parra

That's just looking for an angle to have a whinge.

IFR33K

No, we should have overpaid each player by $50k because Hayne left us with a heap of cap money. :roll:

I never said that. We don't even know the amounts. All we know from jodeci is that he was asked to take a pay cut. In saying that, it's safe to assume he was in BA plans, if we could get for the right price

Maybe, maybe not. It could well be that BA doesn't really rate Sio, but on bare minimum money he is a better option than a rookie.

and here is Parra who is one of Hayne's chief nuthuggers

Anyone who wouldn't have Haybe back at this club in the next year or two is quite simply either not an Eels fan or not worth the fourteen iq points they were given. So it's no surprise you're leading the chorus. Go back to obsessing over every other code in TFC and leave NRL discussion to people with a clue

Hit the nail on the head Bazal.