Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jarryd Hayne to the NFL!

Will Jarryd Hayyne make it in the NFL?

Anyone who wouldn't have Haybe back at this club in the next year or two is quite simply either not an Eels fan or not worth the fourteen iq points they were given. So it's no surprise you're leading the chorus. Go back to obsessing over every other code in TFC and leave NRL discussion to people with a clue

lol

and here is another nuthugger

Joely01

Anyone who wouldn't have Haybe back at this club in the next year or two is quite simply either not an Eels fan or not worth the fourteen iq points they were given. So it's no surprise you're leading the chorus. Go back to obsessing over every other code in TFC and leave NRL discussion to people with a clue

BINGO!

But El D knows everything.

Sio goes ok. Way ahead of vai. I recall Gus one Sunday arvo was astonished we hadn't resigned him. Hes no world beater but does do his job.

No, he was surprised no NRL club had signed him, which you need to remember. Fifteen other clubs didn't think he was worth his asking price either.

He doesn't, but he'll find an article in the Telegraph to try and trick everyone into thinking that he does.

lol

the DT is shite

no idea why you worship it

you and your mates can suck Hayne's dick all day. i don't care

does not mean everyone has to agree with you and that people can't think he's done a dog act

$70k could be the difference in picking up another player. We picked up Gower last year on a similar amount I reckon and look how good he turned out.

Vai can also play centre, Sio can't. And we have our two under wingers graduating to nsw cup who coukd both play NRL probably on a 3rd on what sio wanted

Exactly. With the money freed up by Hayne we can use it to strengthen more important areas of the squad (even if it's not until 2016, with next year's surplus used to front load contract extensions). Paying overs for a winger just because he's more experienced than other wingers already at the club would have been a poor use of the cap, whether Hayne was still here or not.

tell anyone

your always on here with the latest goss

just slipped your mind to post that Hayne was leaving

yet you expect people to believe that everyone knew lol

Maybe, maybe not. It could well be that BA doesn't really rate Sio, but on bare minimum money he is a better option than a rookie.

I think it's obvious Arthur doesn't really rate Sio given he started the year in Wenty and then was dropped again mid year. It's not like Semi Radradra who played every game in first grade and had hus contract extended four years. He's the only bloke currently contracted for 2018.

forward pass

I have been on holidays so not had a chance to post anything on this matter.

Two things.

Firstly, good luck Jarryd and thanks for the memories. Good on you for following your dreams and I know it would have taken a lot of guts to make this decision. As an Eels fan (and a Blues fan) I am saddened and gutted but life goes on. Who knows, Jarryd could have done an ACL in a trial match next year and missed the whole season - at least this way we have an off-season and spare cap money to prepare for our post Hayne era.

Secondly - I know this appears to be a pretty sudden decision despite the fact he has been thinking about it for a while , but what a shame he didn't decide and announce the move a few months ago and the club could have celebrated his final season with us - like a retiring player. His final home match would have been something special and it's too bad we didn't get to farewell him at Pirtek - or it may have been moved to ANZ!

I have enjoyed every second watching him play. Is he egotistical, arrogant, self -centred?? Seriously, I couldn't give a flying f**k to be honest. He was a joy to watch , played for Parra his whole career and he should be lauded as the all time greatest Eel !! All the best in NFL Plane.

I have been on holidays so not had a chance to post anything on this matter.

Two things.

Firstly, good luck Jarryd and thanks for the memories. Good on you for following your dreams and I know it would have taken a lot of guts to make this decision. As an Eels fan (and a Blues fan) I am saddened and gutted but life goes on. Who knows, Jarryd could have done an ACL in a trial match next year and missed the whole season - at least this way we have an off-season and spare cap money to prepare for our post Hayne era.

Secondly - I know this appears to be a pretty sudden decision despite the fact he has been thinking about it for a while , but what a shame he didn't decide and announce the move a few months ago and the club could have celebrated his final season with us - like a retiring player. His final home match would have been something special and it's too bad we didn't get to farewell him at Pirtek - or it may have been moved to ANZ!

I have enjoyed every second watching him play. Is he egotistical, arrogant, self -centred?? Seriously, I couldn't give a flying f**k to be honest. He was a joy to watch , played for Parra his whole career and he should be lauded as the all time greatest Eel !! All the best in NFL Plane.

f**king nuthugger :crazy:

Did I do that right El D?

Depends on how keen the NRL side was. I think a lot of people underestimate the appeal of working in the UK for a young bloke like Sio, particularly when its obvious (from the lack of serious interest) that he isn't going to be on star money in the NRL.

I think the kind of (white, middle class) people who grow up hearing how much better (read: 'progressive') Europe is than Australia, tend to overestimate the appeal of working in the UK to someone playing rugby league for a profession.

Ken Sio draws his social status from his career, and specifically what he achieves and where he achieves it. Playing rugby league in a second rate overseas competition might make Kenny more interesting at parties but I don't think that's as important to him as it might be to a finance administrator or IT consultant.

Jodeci

Of course they wanted him to take a pay cut, our cap was full. That's the whole point regarding hayne. :crazy::crazy:

The cap had nothing to do with it.

They simply didn't want him and the only measure that would work in getting rid of him was to tell the player to take a pay cut and force him to leave and then "we blame" the salary cap as an excuse.

But before Hayne left, we had heaps of money hence the chasing of Watmough.

Jodeci

At this stage it's all ifs and buts.

Our arguement is that had hayne announced earlier in the year his departure, we could of been more productive in the player market.

Don't think anyone will disagree with that.

Just speaking in general terms here, when would it be a perfect time to announce the Hayne departure?

Beginning of the season so our entire season is off the rails?

After Origin when we are sitting well on the ladder and looking at the run in and disrupt our run home?

Or at the end of the season when there is no league, little player movements, other codes have started?

But Burgess did it early and look at Souths?

Souths are not a one man team hence it wouldnt matter for them.

I think the kind of (white, middle class) people who grow up hearing how much better (read: 'progressive') Europe is than Australia, tend to overestimate the appeal of working in the UK to someone playing rugby league for a profession.

Ken Sio draws his social status from his career, and specifically what he achieves and where he achieves it. Playing rugby league in a second rate overseas competition might make Kenny more interesting at parties but I don't think that's as important to him as it might be to a finance administrator or IT consultant.

Do white, middle people really think Europe is "better" than Australia? I'd suspect that the appeal is more that it is different, rather than being better/more progressive.

And whilst I don't know him at all, Kenny strikes me as the kind of bloke that couldn't care less about his social status.