Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jarryd Hayne to the NFL!

Will Jarryd Hayyne make it in the NFL?

Obscene Assassin

NFL RB's aren't that great really. They usually run 4.4 yards every time they get the ball and then have a minute break. The average for for yards per game seems to be around 60-68 yards per game (54-62 metres) Not exactly the most athletic people in the world.

Hayne is one of the best athletes Australia has seen, even if the Seppos have the GOAT athletes like some are spruiking I'd say that Hayne would at least be middle of the road there. The only reason that will prevent Hayne from making the NFL is the structures. Would make one hell of a kick returner though.

Sure a great player. And yes one of the best ive seen at beating a man one on one. When on more complete than any player i have seen.He would however drift out of games. Lacked leadership qualities and didnt control a game.He didnt have it all-His long and short kicking game where average-Sure he could kick a ball far but placement was not his strong points. I would say Lockyer was the most complete guy ive seen. Didnt have the power of Hayne but gee he could play and he did it for 12 yrs at an elite level.
A few of the guys i mentioned had all of these attributes and although they didnt have those flashes of brilliance they are still important factors to consider.

As far as Hayne athletic ablilities compared to NFL- They are athletes-They are not endurance athletes. Meaning there more expolsive and powerfull for short amounts of times.
Look at running. A 100mtr sprinter and a marathon runner. In this case we applaud the 100mtr sprinter but dont pay attention to the marathon runner who is also a great athlete.
Was it Haynes athletic body that made him so superior in the NRL? i reckon theres guys fater and stronger then him. Its more his footy smart-Ability to pass-Ways to trick his opponent-his in and away that made him the more dangerous player.
Also keep in mind our set plays where based around Hayne-Just like Manly are with stuart and Meblournes are with slater.
I think use all need to stop pulln your C$%ks over Hayne. And also give the NFL some respect cause most on here are sounding like sepo's themself.

Sure a great player. And yes one of the best ive seen at beating a man one on one. When on more complete than any player i have seen.He would however drift out of games. Lacked leadership qualities and didnt control a game.He didnt have it all-His long and short kicking game where average-Sure he could kick a ball far but placement was not his strong points. I would say Lockyer was the most complete guy ive seen. Didnt have the power of Hayne but gee he could play and he did it for 12 yrs at an elite level.
A few of the guys i mentioned had all of these attributes and although they didnt have those flashes of brilliance they are still important factors to consider.
Most complete player you have seen even thought he could barely tackle a salad sandwich.

NFL RB's aren't that great really. They usually run 4.4 yards every time they get the ball and then have a minute break. The average for for yards per game seems to be around 60-68 yards per game (54-62 metres) Not exactly the most athletic people in the world.

Hayne is one of the best athletes Australia has seen, even if the Seppos have the GOAT athletes like some are spruiking I'd say that Hayne would at least be middle of the road there. The only reason that will prevent Hayne from making the NFL is the structures. Would make one hell of a kick returner though.

How often do you watch the game (NFL), OA? The statistics you quote are yardage gained in possession. As well as the obvious yardage run behind the line of scrimmage, they participate physically in many plays in which they do not get the ball (pass blocking etc). They don't have a minute break between every play, though its true that they don't participate in every play. Most #1 NFL running players are fit by any standards. Hayne is presently nowhere near these guys....simply b/c they've been playing this game competitively for many years. You're right about the kick returner spot......that and punt returner seem to be his only credible hopes in the short run.

Most complete player you have seen even thought he could barely tackle a salad sandwich.

How many origins and gf's mr lockyer?
How many games did he win with 5 mins to go with something special.

Tell me how many games Hayne won us when there was less than 10 mins to go and we where down. I cant think of any. Hayne did some freakish things but some of you guys don't give others the credit they deserve.

Lockyer did it under pressure-In big games-In big moments. In 2009 GF Hayne didn't step up and win it for us-He had his chance.
In our last two games this season against Knights and Canberra Hayne again didn't step up and win it for us.

I love hayne-One of my favourite eels, but lockyer did more in his career.Use are leaving out a lot of there qualities that Hayne lacked.The ones you don't notice.

How many origins and gf's mr lockyer?
How many games did he win with 5 mins to go with something special.

Tell me how many games Hayne won us when there was less than 10 mins to go and we where down. I cant think of any. Hayne did some freakish things but some of you guys don't give others the credit they deserve.

Lockyer did it under pressure-In big games-In big moments. In 2009 GF Hayne didn't step up and win it for us-He had his chance.
In our last two games this season against Knights and Canberra Hayne again didn't step up and win it for us.

I love hayne-One of my favourite eels, but lockyer did more in his career.Use are leaving out a lot of there qualities that Hayne lacked.The ones you don't notice.
Firstly i wasn't saying Hayne was a better player then lock but How many great sides did Lockyer play in??? How many great players did he play with??? He was a great player no doubt but how can you call him complete when he in defence he was shithouse??? Wonder how he would have gone at 5/8 for most of his career without his minder Tonie Carroll keeping him safe???????

Hayne undoubtedly has a lot of raw attacking talent - probably the most in any player I've seen. His defence improved admirably in recent years too.

But apart from what would now be his career highlights - the sustained late 2009 miracle run and his feats in this year's origin series - you couldn't really say he had the best footballing brain/teamwork/motivation/leadership to go with it? Other guys - like Lockyer - beat Hayne in that department hands down.

For the record, I rate Sterlo as being the player whose input/attacking talent could stamp an impact on a game more regularly and consistently than Hayne - different era sure, but Sterlo had the brain, teamwork/motivation and leadership aspect in his game as well.

Obscene Assassin

Yeah nah forget that he holds the record for most LBA's in a single game (2010). Forget that he could made 300+ metres in single games, regularly. Forget that he had 30 hit-ups/runs in a game in 2009. Forget that he could make an opposition stand still, run 30 metres sideways and then somehow score or set-up a try. Forget that he was so good at every position in the backline he dominated whenever he played ANY rep game. Forget the countless debates on whether his best position was fullback, wing, centre, five-eighth. Forget at a time he was carrying a team and because he played a final game for us in 2011 and he stood up where all of the points that day he either set-up or scored. Forget how he changed his game to suit what position what was needed and how his body shape developed.
2006-2008= Intercept king, try scoring machine, speed freak
2009= Absolutely dominant in everything he did
2010-2012= Focused on his passing game and his long kicking game developed massively in this time period, so much so that it wasn't uncommon to see him finish a game with 5+ kicks next to his name.
2013-2014= Power running, mixture of size and speed to get his goals.

If we take out all of Hayne's accomplishments I guess you could put Lockyer or anyone else in front of him. If Inglis had half the heart that Hayne has he would win the Dally M every year.

Someone

It doesn't matter now. His career at Parramatta, despite what he thinks, will forever be unfulfilled. He stuck with the club through years of bullshit, was about to reap the rewards and probably lead the team to a couple of grand finals but instead he chased his boyhood dream.

Yeah nah forget that he holds the record for most LBA's in a single game (2010). Forget that he could made 300+ metres in single games, regularly. Forget that he had 30 hit-ups/runs in a game in 2009. Forget that he could make an opposition stand still, run 30 metres sideways and then somehow score or set-up a try. Forget that he was so good at every position in the backline he dominated whenever he played ANY rep game. Forget the countless debates on whether his best position was fullback, wing, centre, five-eighth. Forget at a time he was carrying a team and because he played a final game for us in 2011 and he stood up where all of the points that day he either set-up or scored. Forget how he changed his game to suit what position what was needed and how his body shape developed.
2010-2012= Focused on his passing game and his long kicking game developed massively in this time period, so much so that it wasn't uncommon to see him finish a game with 5+ kicks next to his name.

If we take out all of Hayne's accomplishments I guess you could put Lockyer or anyone else in front of him. If Inglis had half the heart that Hayne has he would win the Dally M every year.
Great post, but but but but he was the reason we couldn't win a thing. Watch us go now without the best player in the game......

I agree.

Hayne was a freak of a player, but it seems that if he didn't win us every game or win a title or two, then it follows that he wasn't that good...

He had the size, strength and power of a forward; the speed and agility of a back; and the ball-playing skills of a half (we didn't see much of his kicking game, but his passing game was freakish).

Locker accomplished more throughout his career, but Hayne, imo, is easily the best player I've ever seen. Even Joey Johns (apparently the next Immortal) had a hard-on for him.

oldmancraigy

Hayne undoubtedly has a lot of raw attacking talent - probably the most in any player I've seen. His defence improved admirably in recent years too.

But apart from what would now be his career highlights - the sustained late 2009 miracle run and his feats in this year's origin series - you couldn't really say he had the best footballing brain/teamwork/motivation/leadership to go with it? Other guys - like Lockyer - beat Hayne in that department hands down.

For the record, I rate Sterlo as being the player whose input/attacking talent could stamp an impact on a game more regularly and consistently than Hayne - different era sure, but Sterlo had the brain, teamwork/motivation and leadership aspect in his game as well.

You know you're a very poor judge of footballing talent, right? VERY poor.
My guess (from seeing you interact over the years here) is that it's probably because of your own ego, can't see anything anyone else did, or was right about, because you're too fragile to deal with it.

In all seriousness: go see a shrink. Your life will be happier :thumb

oldmancraigy

I agree.

Hayne was a freak of a player, but it seems that if he didn't win us every game or win a title or two, then it follows that he wasn't that good...

He had the size, strength and power of a forward; the speed and agility of a back; and the ball-playing skills of a half (we didn't see much of his kicking game, but his passing game was freakish).

Locker accomplished more throughout his career, but Hayne, imo, is easily the best player I've ever seen. Even Joey Johns (apparently the next Immortal) had a hard-on for him.

That's the remarkable thing about Hayne. He sticks with the club through the absolute crap years, carries us (to the detriment of his own glory). Then, when things are looking up, the future is a little brighter, he steps aside to do something he has long had a passion to do. Again, to the detriment of his own glory.

Would not have been hard for him to finish as our all time try scorer (8 shy of the record, would have knocked that thing over mid 2015 at age 27); or as the player to win the most Dally Ms ever (1 shy of the record, already holds the record for most fullback of the year awards); or even as the most capped Eel (would have moved into 8th next season - at 27...)

Most talented footballer I've ever seen. Really hoping he doesn't make it in the NRL, and comes back to us before June 30 next year :D

edit: defensively he has been massively underrated for a LONG TIME. People only made fun of his defence back in 2009, because if they admitted he could defend, then they would have to admit he was the best player on the planet by a long way, and better than media darling Billy. But go watch some games from 2009/10 and you'll see a remarkable defender at the FB position.

eel01s

I agree OMC. Hayne is easily the most gifted player in all facets of the game that has ever played for Parra. Had he not left for the US I think he would have surpassed Andrew Johns as the most complete footballer ever.