Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jason Saab

giboz71

I know very little about him but he looks like a pro athlete. I reckon he probably got picked in rep sides really easily based on how tall and athletic he looks. Kids like that get found out in the nrl very quickly.

We were all excited when he broke into grade. Had massive wraps on him, largely based on his physique. We had the slowest backline in he comp at that stage so we was like a godsend.

We waited and waited for him to break out. And.....nothing. JP even got injured and suspended a couple of times to give him more opportunities. And still.....nothing.

I would have thought Hasler could have unlocked him, but he's largely the same player. He's still got time, but if you're not making waves by now as an outside back, the same as guys like Coates, Crichton and Staggs who are about the same age, then he likely never will.

epDragon62

We were all excited when he broke into grade. Had massive wraps on him, largely based on his physique. We had the slowest backline in he comp at that stage so we was like a godsend.

We waited and waited for him to break out. And.....nothing. JP even got injured and suspended a couple of times to give him more opportunities. And still.....nothing.

I would have thought Hasler could have unlocked him, but he's largely the same player. He's still got time, but if you're not making waves by now as an outside back, the same as guys like Coates, Crichton and Staggs who are about the same age, then he likely never will.
Won't waste any more time on Saab and hopefully he doesn't become a superstar.

boardlumps62

Peter and Graham played for St George. I was deversted when Peter moved to Parramatta. Same goes for Edge who was a friend of mine. I met him through my brother who worked for the ATO at the time.
Don't remember Peter playing for us was that in the juniors. Thought they each went different directions we got the best one Peter was ok too. Sorry what was that about Saab he has been misguided.

Dragon David

Wasn’t Saab “the future”?

Remember when he was the answer to all our problems?

Remember when people were saying we should drop Rava for him?
Our "high opinion and hopes" for the Saab on this Forum were such that Dessie went for it hook, line and sinker and now it will be up to the Sea Eagles to dispose of him one day.

Like many aspiring "young guns", they just don't live up to the expectations once they are given the chance to prove themselves in first grade. Watching some highlights of him I thought he was a gun but when Mary brought him into first grade he showed very little to warrant keeping him.

Good luck Saab, I hope your chassis will make it over the try line many times for the Sea Eagles. When the Turbo comes back from injury, you and he will be working your pistons out together and maybe with Turbo back, he could be your life saver with his injection into the engine compartment and taking the ball and passing the long ball to you to score in the corner - who knows?

Our "high opinion and hopes" for the Saab on this Forum were such that Dessie went for it hook, line and sinker and now it will be up to the Sea Eagles to dispose of him one day.

Like many aspiring "young guns", they just don't live up to the expectations once they are given the chance to prove themselves in first grade. Watching some highlights of him I thought he was a gun but when Mary brought him into first grade he showed very little to warrant keeping him.

Good luck Saab, I hope your chassis will make it over the try line many times for the Sea Eagles. When the Turbo comes back from injury, you and he will be working your pistons out together and maybe with Turbo back, he could be your life saver with his injection into the engine compartment and taking the ball and passing the long ball to you to score in the corner - who knows?
Right now I am very happy with wingers Ramsey and Ravalawa. I'd say are performing well with signs that they can even go better.

Backed up by JP, the Feagai Brothers, Sloan, and Schiller, I would say that we have plenty of good young depth.

Dragon David

Right now I am very happy with wingers Ramsey and Ravalawa. I'd say are performing well with signs that they can even go better.

Backed up by JP, the Feagai Brothers, Sloan, and Schiller, I would say that we have plenty of good young depth.
Right on Possm!

1. Cummins
2. Saab
3. Roache
4. Marsters
5. Herbert
6. Williams
7. Henry
8. O’Brien
9. Fepalui
12. Bosden
13. Mundine

Couple of spots to fill in the forum hype 13..

Need a couple of forwards to help finalise the team..

Anyone think of anyone else who was apparently “the future of the club” that we could see but the coaches were apparently too dumb to realise?

getsmarty

1. Cummins
2. Saab
3. Roache
4. Marsters
5. Herbert
6. Williams
7. Henry
8. O’Brien
9. Fepalui
12. Bosden
13. Mundine

Couple of spots to fill in the forum hype 13..

Need a couple of forwards to help finalise the team..

Anyone think of anyone else who was apparently “the future of the club” that we could see but the coaches were apparently too dumb to realise?

Mundine...the forward we let go to Souths...can't remember his first name...

getsmarty

Matt Mundine..

Got him in there at lock..

I remember the sky falling in on here when we let him go..

Sorry Muzby...Missed him in your lineup. But 100% correct, that's who I was thinking of.

What about Reece Simmonds...Was it Dragons girl or cheyene who used to rave on about him...

Sorry Muzby...Missed him in your lineup. But 100% correct, that's who I was thinking of.

What about Reece Simmonds...Was it Dragons girl or cheyene who used to rave on about him...
Reecey did go on to have a solid NRL career though.. If anything he was the reverse forum favourite as not many folk seemed to rate him at the time..

And let’s be honest, what kind of hard hearted grumps wouldn’t rate these dimples?
7e70d5501742f5d8552086a824032f685fcc4f9c

Can I add Jake stockwell?

I’m just not sure if he had the forum hype before he made 1st grade...

And not sure how far his 1st grade career went after he left us..

redv13

Can I add Jake stockwell?

I’m just not sure if he had the forum hype before he made 1st grade...

And not sure how far his 1st grade career went after he left us..
Jack Stockwell played close to 100 fg games. Bit harsh I think

Ripper of a player. Had size and speed and aggression. All he lacked was the desire to be an elite player.
Also heard he thought McGregor was a flog.
Did he give the forum a hard on though?

I know I’m a big wakeman fan, but IIRC the vast majority on here didn’t rate him..