Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jessica Mauboy to replace Bon Jovi for 2013 ad campaign

some11

[youtube]WFKbWyckg58[/youtube][youtube]tXIzp0ok24I[/youtube]
[youtube]HzEHMynasoQ[/youtube][youtube]8VTHNc7MrE8[/youtube]

Sea_Eagles_Rock

hmmm Initial thought, OMFG I Hate it so much... I hope it is just how I am right now, but if I feel like I did watching now (or worse over time) it will really grind my gears. The mute button is going to break... Especially with the beefed up ad money built into the NRL contract too.

I'm really hoping this is a one year campaign. I'm a bit disappointed. I had hopes she would do a better job than that.

Desert Qlder

'If what you get...' is still the best for me.

There such a wonderful cheekiness about it that was a hallmark of its time and a complete lack of self-conciousness. So much effort and over-analysis goes in marketing these days. It's like marketing by numbers, without any creativity or sense of fun. In those days it was more about enjoyment first without worrying about making sure you have appealled to every demographic.

However, it is hilarious that it tried to make out Marty Bella and Steve Roach as 'sex symbols'.

bottle

Heard it again in the car on the way home.
It will deadset take days to clean up the spew.
Auo-tuned, over produced, over dubbed, over layered piece of oomph oomph pus that sounds like every other piece of oomph oomph pus that masquerades as music. You'd have to have a head full of eccys to even bear it.

This is far superior, if you can see it through -

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ksbIVkQhEuU

Just saw the ad and I thought... :|

Very poor choice of song IMO.

Dont get me wrong, Mauboy is a good singer, and good on her for getting involved in promoting the game. Also the effects are pretty good on this.

But it just doesnt seem to get me excited.

Perhaps instead of a song thats already been written, like Bon Jovi's and Hoodoo Gurus in previous years do you think maybe we should start thinking about creating a new song specifically for the game?

Much like this one:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vrYXn-TLv8M

That might not work today for everyone, but at least something a little similar, like an chant that everyone can sing to.

I dont know maybe we've gotten over that, but I still think Simply the Best is and will always be the best theme song for Rugby League.

natheel

Heard it again in the car on the way home.
It will deadset take days to clean up the spew.
Auo-tuned, over produced, over dubbed, over layered piece of oomph oomph pus that sounds like every other piece of oomph oomph pus that masquerades as music. You'd have to have a head full of eccys to even bear it.

This is far superior, if you can see it through -

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ksbIVkQhEuU

Oh for the love of god I hate that song

I'm all for women promoting the game but if you compare the great Tina turner and the ads she was in to mauboys one then you got rocks in ya head!

Hell if you want a woman to do a league commercial get a star with a bit of edge!

bottle

Oh for the love of god I hate that song

I'm all for women promoting the game but if you compare the great Tina turner and the ads she was in to mauboys one then you got rocks in ya head!

Hell if you want a woman to do a league commercial get a star with a bit of edge!

Mate did you watch the whole clip?
Trust me, it's not what you think.

natheel

Mate did you watch the whole clip?
Trust me, it's not what you think.

No didn't I hear that first bit and its off haha ill check it out again

Watched it haha I have the same reaction as the goat when it comes on tv

Tina Turner's stuff was no better than this crap. None of them are inspiring. I want to see heroes, not playboys. Kids are definitely the same.

Lambretta

It's a myth perpetuated by the indie rock hipster bulls*** scene that's gained prominence lately. All of a sudden if you like the Foo Fighters, Iron Maiden and Metallica you're classed as a bogan by some of these cardigan wearing, Arcade Fire-loving pretentious wankers. F*** em.

So what happens if you like Arcade Fire and the Foo Fighters?

If you tell me I have to spend the evening bashing myself, I reckon I've got that covered.

Jessica Mauboy isn't normally my cup of tea, but she was great in the Sapphires and can obviously sing. She appeals to a younger audience, is Australian, what's more a successful Indigenous female Australian, she's talented and she likes Rugby League.

All in all I would say she was a bloody PERFECT choice.

Have now listened to the song / seen the ad a couple of times. The song is a bit meh, but I don't think it's aimed at me.
Somethings got a hold of me is a good tag line though.

The visuals of the ad are great - the idea showing normal people playing / getting excited about the footy, cut in with the real action is great.