Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Join the Parramatta Football Club!!!!

While a supporter of this wider push by our club for increased memberships - ticketed (STH) and non-ticketed, I too am disappointed they haven't seen fit to leave the option for existing FC members to choose to retain their FC membership alone (no bells, no whistles, no merchandise) for a period of time (1-3 years) at the previous, reasonable rate.

It doesn't affect me personally this year, as a STH the $70-odd bucks is now included in the hike in my STH price... but in the pre-election talk in ideas threads here when I supported that FC membership be included in STH prices, I was speaking about the usual annual $25 amount, not an enforced increased price with a whole lot of merchandise.

I have read people's justifications for why it has to be this way, but I'm still not personally a fan of the price hike/inclusion of random merchandise. But c'est la vie...

My decision on whether to continue to be a season ticket holder in 2011 will simply come down to how many games my dad and I can attend in 2010 (based on the NRL's scheduling) and whether it represents value for me against the increased STH price, versus just buying game tickets separately. The merchandise included doesn't come into it for me in the slightest.

But for the info of the club (and any managers following this issue here), were I not to remain a STH in future seasons, like Parra Pete I sure as hell would think twice before paying $70-odd for a non-ticketed FC membership... when as an existing FC member I know full well that (without the random merchandise) it's value was a reasonable annual $25.

Can I just say one thing.....

It's not only about what each individual gets personally for each membership (ie. the crappy throw in's), but it's also about what your extra $45 is going towards the club for. See it as a non tax-deductable donation tbh.
If I can throw any dollars, however small it might be towards the club, I'm quite happy to do that to see them grow into a position of strength.

All those that are anti the new pricing structure, have only come from a "what do I get" argument.
Personally, I see it also as a "what can I do for the club" scenario as well.

Good point. And maybe one that could be made a bit more specifically by our club, to the members that feel impacted by this sudden change... Instead of pushing the value of the Blue Blood pack based on the merchandise alone, they could push the very point that you have Suity in the letter/materials - ie what the change helps the club to do.

Again, I'm not anti the new structure or the reform of the memberships for the future - something was much needed. I just think that in addition to the changes they could have had a sunset clause allowing existing FC members holding voting rights the choice to renew at the previous rates (without merchandise) for a short period of time (say between 1-3 years).

half

It's not only about what each individual gets personally for each membership (ie. the crappy throw in's), but it's also about what your extra $45 is going towards the club for. See it as a non tax-deductable donation tbh.
If I can throw any dollars, however small it might be towards the club, I'm quite happy to do that to see them grow into a position of strength.

All those that are anti the new pricing structure, have only come from a "what do I get" argument.

yeah if 10 000 people sign up we could pay for most of hayne's contract

born an eel

[/B]

Because $25 is reasonable. $70, IN MY OPINION is not.
We have to fork out for what you people take for granted.
If I lived in Sydney, I would pay it. But I don't and I won't. NO BIG DEAL. (Plus I wouldn't want to join any Club that would have me as a member...Groucho Marx)

Say for instance I wanted to get to Cumberland Oval to watch Parra play the Storm. I have to drive to Griffith (175km), catch a plane (return fare $278), stay overnight, catch a taxi to and from Mascot (add another $40 each way)...up for about $400 and that is not counting food, drinks etc...But wait ...for $70 plus postage you can get a 15% discount on seats ----and a set of steak knives...and the opportunity to have a beer at grossly inflated prices at the Stadium...
I can't afford to get to many matches. I commit myself to the Brisbane SOO every year, and I enjoy and look forward to it, not only for the game, but all the 'hoopla' that goes with it...The SOO Dinner, the corporate box, and catching up with old mates and meeting new ones. I go up there for a couple of days, and it is the highlight of my Sporting Year.
The only games I get to watch the Eels live are in Melbourne. We take in NRL match, Races, Casino and other things blokes do on 'boys trips away'...BUT the Eels haven't played Storm in Melbourne for the past couple of years..and won't again in 2010...
Guess what Pete, Parramatta Stadium has NRL matches, Rosehill has races, Sydney has a casino and there are also a few good golf courses in the area. "Boys trips" also usually include drinking, we also have things like pubs and clubs that would like your patronage.

From your comments above you spend money on trips to watch Rugby league but choose not to spend your money to watch the team you have passionately supported for many years, it is your choice. Many North Sydney fans probably had similar ideas. Souths fans came to realise that saying your a fan is not enough and the club needs financial support to survive. Is an extra $45 too much to ask to keep watching Parra play in the best competition in the world, whether it is only on TV or not.

And Your comment about the Magpies, if I considered myself a fan, and wanted to help there existence, I would donate the money but their continued survival doesn't have any effect on me, but I wish them all the best.

parra pete

We drive to Melbourne (400km). Stay with a mate who lives in East Melbourne...easy.....Have a non-drinker who goes with us...drives us everywhere.
I am willing to pay membership renewal, but don't want the trinkets that go with it.
I might change my mind. AND it will be only GUILT that will drive me too.
The girl at the Leagues Club Jessica) told me I have until February...If I do join up again, I'll give the trinketts to one of my grand kids...at least it would leave me with a clear conscience...

well I'm kinda against it (I think they should allow existing members to continue on a $25 basic thing without all the crap extras) ... and its got nothing to do with "I" .... I will get it with my season ticket anyway (small price increase but thats cool) - so my point of view is nothing to do with what I get from it - I just imagine there are people who don't want a pile of rubbish for $45 to continue being a member of something they have probably been a member of for a long time

personally I would be ok with paying the extra $45 if I had to - but I imagine that there are those that aren't into it when they may have multiple family members and a tight budget

born an eel

We drive to Melbourne (400km). Stay with a mate who lives in East Melbourne...easy.....Have a non-drinker who goes with us...drives us everywhere.
I think the boys deserve an additional trip next year, I'm sure the family will understand, you need to make the most of your membership and discounts etc.

parra pete

Yeah, ;-) sure....The Melbourne weekend ALMOST kills me....My mates went down to the Golf, Races Casino etc last week. I couldn't go because I was the MC at the 150 Year Celebrations of the Town..It was 40 degrees..and let me tell you, that I spent most of Sunday in bed I was that crook. Probably dehydrated and absolutely 'Kangaroo Edward' at the end of the day, washed down with half a dozen schnooners of BLACK beer, which probably didn't do me any good either....

johnkolc

Firstly, Pete, you've been on fire in this thread as always, and I note you even managed a sly reference to Tim Smith in the AGM thread. Comic genius as ever, and thank God I can see it now. For the first 2 years on this forum you used to drive me insane, but I think I'm starting to come around to your sense of humour, despite the fact that I probably agree with about 2% of everything you post, and will never click on any of your youtube links.

Secondly, Hellsy, thanks for your efforts in getting me to be a member of the FC many years ago and for sending me a second form after I forgot to renew one year. I too hope the club recognises yours and others work on this front at some point.

Thirdly, my two cents on the whole FC membership and price increase bizzo. I always thought that $25 and for that matter $15 before it was far too low a price for membership to the official FC. But having said that, I don't think it was really value for money anyway, which I realise is contradictory. But for me it was just about putting some money towards the club any way I could, particularly as I'm from interstate and couldn't get there often to give them money for food, drink, gambling and merchandise. I must say that $70 is comparable with most AFL clubs in terms of price and what's included in the package. I'm a Collingwood member as well as Parra, and MITS would agree that the AFL supporter base have a completely different attitude and culture towards membership.

Sure maybe the club could have continued the $25 basic FC membership, and maybe if people complain loud enough they will. But personally, as someone who has paid overs for years for the B&GA and before that Eelite packages (and yes I agree that the stuff they send you is very rarely useful or high quality), and contributed to the club financially in every way I could, while never living in the area, I can't really agree with comments that the Blue Blood package is too expensive for what is included in it. But I agree with Hellsy and others on this one, if anyone feels strongly enough about the lack of $25 FC membership then call or write and complain and keep our board accountable.

parra pete

Firstly, Pete, you've been on fire in this thread as always, and I note you even managed a sly reference to Tim Smith in the AGM thread. Comic genius as ever, and thank God I can see it now. For the first 2 years on this forum you used to drive me insane, but I think I'm starting to come around to your sense of humour, despite the fact that I probably agree with about 2% of everything you post, and will never click on any of your youtube links.

Secondly, Hellsy, thanks for your efforts in getting me to be a member of the FC many years ago and for sending me a second form after I forgot to renew one year. I too hope the club recognises yours and others work on this front at some point.

Thirdly, my two cents on the whole FC membership and price increase bizzo. I always thought that $25 and for that matter $15 before it was far too low a price for membership to the official FC. But having said that, I don't think it was really value for money anyway, which I realise is contradictory. But for me it was just about putting some money towards the club any way I could, particularly as I'm from interstate and couldn't get there often to give them money for food, drink, gambling and merchandise. I must say that $70 is comparable with most AFL clubs in terms of price and what's included in the package. I'm a Collingwood member as well as Parra, and MITS would agree that the AFL supporter base have a completely different attitude and culture towards membership.

Sure maybe the club could have continued the $25 basic FC membership, and maybe if people complain loud enough they will. But personally, as someone who has paid overs for years for the B&GA and before that Eelite packages (and yes I agree that the stuff they send you is very rarely useful or high quality), and contributed to the club financially in every way I could, while never living in the area, I can't really agree with comments that the Blue Blood package is too expensive for what is included in it. But I agree with Hellsy and others on this one, if anyone feels strongly enough about the lack of $25 FC membership then call or write and complain and keep our board accountable.

:lol: You should ALWAYS click onto my YouTube links as they are relevant to my mosts..They will help you understand the point I am making...that is if they don't go over your head..:sarcasm:
The main thing though, John, irrespective of what you and I agree and disagree on ..Ob la di, Ob la da, life goes on, and a billion or more people in China have never even heard of Parramatta Eels..

parra pete

AND I have called the Football Club. The first lass I spoke to I think, may have been there doing work experience. She was very pleasant, but did not how to answer my query, (which would be understandable) and handed me over to Jessica who noted my views and informed me I had until February if I wanted to change my mind.

johnkolc

AND I have called the Football Club. The first lass I spoke to I think, may have been there doing work experience. She was very pleasant, but did not how to answer my query, (which would be understandable) and handed me over to Jessica who noted my views and informed me I had until February if I wanted to change my mind.

Yeah they are good girls at the office and in my experience always get back to you when they say they will, even in a stressful Grand Final week.

If you change your mind by February Pete then all the better but if not no worries too brother. Oh and enjoy the Melbourne trip next year if I don't speak to you before then!

Speaking of Kolc, I heard today that the real John Kolc has been off on stress leave ever since Fitzgerald left.
If this correct?

Speaking of Kolc, I heard today that the real John Kolc has been off on stress leave ever since Fitzgerald left.
If this correct?

I am going to assume you mean Is this correct? and say kinda.

The way I heard it, John was at the club for a few months after Fitzgerald was paid out, and then after a few months took stress leave. I believe there are events surrounding such but I don't know any detail so I won't go into them.

I am going to assume you mean Is this correct? and say kinda.

The way I heard it, John was at the club for a few months after Fitzgerald was paid out, and then after a few months took stress leave. I believe there are events surrounding such but I don't know any detail so I won't go into them.

Cheers mate - and yes, it was a typo that I couldn't be f**ked fixing now. :lol: