Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

JT and GI to lead NRL support for Adam Goodes by performing Aboriginal War Dance

Desert Qlder

The two incidents were completely different
The incident with the girl was in your face racism, it was happening to goodes in that moment and needed an instant action from goodes
The Maguire incident happened on a Melbourne radio ( I doubt goodes listened to it live). What was Goodes meant to do, get in a plane and get Maguire evicted from the radio station?
In both cases Goodes helped educate both offenders on why what they said was offensive and why it should never happen again and in both occasions he helped resolve the situation ( far from carrying on with it as his detractors continue to shout)

Oh and Goodes did speak out against Maguire ( one of the most powerful people in Australian media)

http://m.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news...ith-eddie-mcguire-is-over-20140505-zr4tm.html

but that doesn't fit the narrative that Goodes only picks on little girls

That was a year later :?

In the immediate time after Maguires comments the silence from Goodes was deafening. It appeared that he was under instruction not to make comment.

I sympathise with Goodes but he is not the moral hero he is made out to be.

What's the odds a player does an aboriginal jig in front of opposition fans and they boo him for what they feel is taunting them for scoring against them? Then what's the odds the media will be all over the nrl calling it racist to deflect some of the heat from the afl? I can see this backfiring big time unless fans are super controlled this weekend!

Lambretta

I was comparing the recent pre internet era to now. Say the 80s and 90s compared to now where it seems things have gone backwards. Obviously it's not as bad as 50 and 100 and 150 years ago, but IMO worse than 20 years ago.

At face value I have to agree, but I think the major difference is that 20 years ago we weren't being faced with the global humanitarian crisis that faces the World today.

People in Western countries have increasingly been subjected to large scale immigration that just didn't occur in the 80's and 90's.

I think the major difference between now and then, was back then it wasn't a "hot topic" whereas now we're being forced to face up to some realities that many are not pleased with.

elbusto

That was a year later :?

In the immediate time after Maguires comments the silence from Goodes was deafening. It appeared that he was under instruction not to make comment.

I sympathise with Goodes but he is not the moral hero he is made out to be.

Precisely. At the time Maguire made his comments goodes went quiet. No coincidence there. Great fun watching others rewrite history though.

Shorty

Lol the concern for the 13 year old girl is somewhat amusing, some people just don't get it.
A 13 year old shouldn't be calling an indigenous person an ape, he was stopping racism at its source and trying to make a difference.
That's the whole point of it, he wasn't going to let it slide.
The whole time he was being compassionate to her as well.

Its very likely if she said it at a football game she would say it in the school yard at someone her own age who then feels sh*t about their race.
Some people don't seem to understand that unless you've encountered your own sort of racism prejudice ..you're probably not qualified to speak on it.

elbusto

Lol the concern for the 13 year old girl is somewhat amusing, some people just don't get it.
A 13 year old shouldn't be calling an indigenous person an ape, he was stopping racism at its source and trying to make a difference.
That's the whole point of it, he wasn't going to let it slide.
The whole time he was being compassionate to her as well.

Its very likely if she said it at a football game she would say it in the school yard at someone her own age who then feels sh*t about their race.
Some people don't seem to understand that unless you've encountered your own sort of racism prejudice ..you're probably not qualified to speak on it.
really? We can't express an opinion? Fmd

Pete Cash

Precisely. At the time Maguire made his comments goodes went quiet. No coincidence there. Great fun watching others rewrite history though.

No he didn't ? He responded in much the same way as he did with the 13 year old girl. He isn't captain racism travelling about battling racism. He is a pro sportsman that doesn't want to be called an ape on the field.

Racial vilification ruined Andrew Symonds career and it is not acceptable in sport.

He did nothing more than Ricky Ponting as far as reporting an act of racism. I don't believe Australian crowds booed Ricky Ponting every time he batted..... Oh because he wasn't calling out Australians.

elbusto

No he didn't ? He responded in much the same way as he did with the 13 year old girl. He isn't captain racism travelling about battling racism. He is a pro sportsman that doesn't want to be called an ape on the field.

Racial vilification ruined Andrew Symonds career and it is not acceptable in sport.

He did nothing more than Ricky Ponting as far as reporting an act of racism. I don't believe Australian crowds booed Ricky Ponting every time he batted..... Oh because he wasn't calling out Australians.
Actually he didn't at the time. He was very quiet about Maguire . Comparing the two is nonsense anyway. Symonds was racially abused by am opposing player.

Pete Cash

Actually he didn't at the time. He was very quiet about Maguire . Comparing the two is nonsense anyway. Symonds was racially abused by am opposing player.

No he was abused by the crowds first and Ponting made a complaint to the icc about it.

He immediately highlighted the comments on Twitter and publicly said he was disappointed with McGuire. You are either misremembering his response to McGuire or the girl. That's age and Tasmanian living for you.

Lambretta

really? We can't express an opinion? Fmd

Everyone's allowed an opinion and you have the right to express it, but Shorty is right - if you've never experienced something, you can't know how it will effect you and therefore you are not qualified to speak on behalf of others that have been directly effected by it.

Calling someone an animal, not based on their actions, but based on the colour of their skin is akin to saying "you are a lower lifeform than me"

That's a fairly horrific assertion to throw lightly or to expect to be taken lightly.

But can I say what it actually feels like to experience that myself? Only vaguely. I have been told I am not to be trusted as I am English and I have copped the "whinging pommy bastard" jibes. Yes, the person that told me I couldn't be trusted purely based on where I grew up was being serious, but I also like to think that she was right - therefore whilst it pained me - it only pained me a tiny, tiny bit.

DiegoNT

You do know Goodes wasn't actually in the studio when Maguire made his comments. You don't think if Maguire called goodes king kong to his face it wouldn't of had a similar reaction to what he did with the girl. Maguire apologized before goodes can make a comment.
The after effects to both were the same, Discuss, educate and resolve but of cause the immediate response to both were different because they were different situations

Pete Cash

Also, its something black athletes have been copping since the dawn of time. I can name heaps of black athletes that have copped that taunt from predominantly white crowds. Samuel Eto'o the African soccer player almost walked off the field because he so regularly copped monkey chants, Wayne Simmonds the black ice hockey player had a banana thrown at him while playing, I could go on for ages listing black athletes copping that particular taunt.

So either one believes that people pay to get into the stadium and therefore can be vile, racist oiks or not ? If not then what's a black athletes to do if pointing out racist taunts in the crowd gets the ire of people.

elbusto

No he was abused by the crowds first and Ponting made a complaint to the icc about it.

He immediately highlighted the comments on Twitter and publicly said he was disappointed with McGuire. You are either misremembering his response to McGuire or the girl. That's age and Tasmanian living for you.
I stand corrected about the cricket. I lost interest in the game after that incident. As for goodes I thought his response to Maguire was pathetic. You can disagree.

For those of you still attacking Goodes, you're in good company.

Alan Jones
Andrew Bolt
Dermott Brereton
Miranda Devine
Shane Warne
Perth

Pete Cash

I stand corrected about the cricket. I lost interest in the game after that incident. As for goodes I thought his response to Maguire was pathetic. You can disagree.

Here is the crazy thing. Adam Goodes probably just wants to play his stupid sport without being racially vilified by Southern bogans. He probably doesn't want to be racism man fighting racism in Australia.

So when he says he doesn't want a witch hunt he is probably about right. What he would like is not to hear racial slurs coming from the stands. This is too much for the average afl supporter.

elbusto

Here is the crazy thing. Adam Goodes probably just wants to play his stupid sport without being racially vilified by Southern bogans. He probably doesn't want to be racism man fighting racism in Australia.

So when he says he doesn't want a witch hunt he is probably about right. What he would like is not to hear racial slurs coming from the stands. This is too much for the average afl supporter.

Mate I have no doubt there is a racist element to this. But I live in afl state and goodes is disliked for a lot of reasons. For some it's race. For many others it's his status as untouchable when playing his silly game.

Pete Cash

Mate I have no doubt there is a racist element to this. But I live in afl state and goodes is disliked for a lot of reasons. For some it's race. For many others it's his status as untouchable when playing his silly game.

But the racial element is certainly hard to ignore. It's like people who collect Nazi paraphernalia. Maybe they just think the skulls are cool but its hard to escape the racial connotations.

Now, its odd to me that the booing didn't start until he spoke out about racism but if I accept that as a coincidence then the people doing the booing are going to be tarred with the same brush because its now so obviously about race.

True which means you have two different camps booing together and it's hard to distinguish the two. That's the problem and that's why the reasonably minded people should stop booing.

For example, you may have the most legit reason to boo Goodes but would you still do it if a group of Neo Nazis stood next to you and booed too? You naturally wouldn't want to be tarred with the same brushed I'd say.