Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

JT and GI to lead NRL support for Adam Goodes by performing Aboriginal War Dance

Evenflow

Love how people say "he shouldn't have singled out a 13 year old girl" like he knew her age at the time. He's on the boundary, someone calls him an ape and he gets them kicked out, like it should be.

Shame he didn't make a big deal out of that flog eddie when he said he should be doing promotions for king kong.

He pointed straight at her at the time, it's not hard to tell what a 13 year old girl looks like (who actually just turned 13 five days before) when you're staring at her....

And she never got kicked out either, she was taken away by security and questioned by Police for 2 hours without an adult present. Can you honestly say that the punishment fit the crime? She's a kid, she said something she shouldn't have and sent Goodes a written apology after it and there's not way in the world she deserved that sort of treatment. Adult maybe but a kid now way.

I agree with what you said about McGuire though, that was just a stupid f**king thing to say and he should've known better, and i'm a Collingwood supporter.

Pete Cash

And goodes asked for common sense to be applied. Also he can't be held responsible for the action of stadium security.

He pointed straight at her at the time, it's not hard to tell what a 13 year old girl looks like (who actually just turned 13 five days before) when you're staring at her....

And she never got kicked out either, she was taken away by security and questioned by Police for 2 hours without an adult present. Can you honestly say that the punishment fit the crime? She's a kid, she said something she shouldn't have and sent Goodes a written apology after it and there's not way in the world she deserved that sort of treatment. Adult maybe but a kid now way.

I agree with what you said about McGuire though, that was just a stupid f**king thing to say and he should've known better, and i'm a Collingwood supporter.

She got taught a valuable lesson and may grow up to be a better person as a result. Security guards interviewing her without an adult is not Goodes' fault. Better parenting in the first place and none of this would've happened.

Chief_Chujo

Is that true? Isn't that massively illegal?

BunniesMan

He's not responsible for how the police treated her. He accepted her apology, and called for her to be educated instead of hated. He was completely classy with her.

Evenflow

She got taught a valuable lesson and may grow up to be a better person as a result. Security guards interviewing her without an adult is not Goodes' fault. Better parenting in the first place and none of this would've happened.

She would've learned a valuable lesson being called out on national TV at the time and afterwards without all the bullshit that transpired after it. As mentioned it wasn't security guards that she was interviewed by, it was the Police. Overkill much?

I don't believe i ever said it was Goodes' fault either in regards to that part of it. I was only pointing out to a previous poster that there's no way he wouldn't have known that the girl wasn't 13 years old like he implied given Goodes pointed her out and looked straight at her. He also said she got kicked out and i again just clarified that wasn't the case and explained what actually did happen. Again, no blame was put on Goodes.

RoosTah

You want me to list all minority's players who have spoken against racism who haven't been boo'd? Don't feign ignorance to try win an argument.

Ali's was different because 60's USA was extremely racist. Nobody would argue otherwise.

You asking why it only happened when he took a stand, is against, feigning ignorance. The entire thread is dedicated to the subject, and it's been repeated a thousand times. But I'll humour you - it's how he went about it.

The NRL equivalent to this would be the Tahu/ Johns incident in 2011 (though Tahu wasn't actually boo'd as such). Tahu spoke out against racism, but at the end of it everyone thought he was a wanker. Why? How he went about it.

Since when did everyone think Tahu was a wanker? No mate, they didn't. Maybe you did, but no one I know thought he was a wanker.

Probably says a lot about you and the people you hang out with that you all thought he was a wanker...

elbusto

He's not responsible for how the police treated her. He accepted her apology, and called for her to be educated instead of hated. He was completely classy with her.

And then when Eddie McGuire called him king Kong he said sfa. Dear me.

elbusto

By the way for what it's worth the daily telegraph poll on this has 80 percent voting the booing is not racist. 60000 votes.

GongPanther

To be perfectly frank,I can't wait for this news event to be over and done with.

In a week,fish & chip paper.

Pete Cash

And then when Eddie McGuire called him king Kong he said sfa. Dear me.

He accepted his apology like he did with the girl ? I mean how was he supposed to react. He literally said he didn't want a witch hunt with the girl and that he had accepted her apology.

See, people are literally inventing how Goodes responded. Let's all go back to reality.

THE CHAMP

I don't like Adam goodes.
Not because he is part aborigine
But because he is a panty waist bitch

BunniesMan

By the way for what it's worth the daily telegraph poll on this has 80 percent voting the booing is not racist. 60000 votes.

And almost 70% on BigFooty. Just because something is majority opinion does not make it right. Most people thought the world was flat at one point.

Lambretta

Immigrant? From where?

I am an immigrant from England and I am white and personally I find Australia to be far less racist than England

Whenever I go home I get all manner of people desperate to tell me how shit England is because of the immigrants and how I was lucky to move to Australia.

I never come across this same attitude in Australia

However a friend of mine, a muslim female who lived in Oldham in the UK for many years has the opposite experience. She rarely comes across racist attitudes in the UK, but experiences open racism on a frequent basis here in Australia.

I don't think it's easy to say who is right. But I will say that the UK is far more racist in my experience now than it was 20 years ago