Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

JT and GI to lead NRL support for Adam Goodes by performing Aboriginal War Dance

RoosTah

I don't support NRL players supporting Adam Goodes. Not because I disagree about the message, but if the shoe was on the other foot, AFL and all their butt sniffing journalists would be condemning NRL as the racist code, no doubt and saying our culture is toxic.

Mate, you're looking at this all wrong - the NRL is looking bloody brilliant out of all this and the AFL is looking like a backward redneck wonderland. The NRL and our players are taking the high road and leading on the issue while the AFL and the bigots in the Melbourne media are doing everything they can to protect the "rights" of the faceless racist mobs that attend their games to bully an indigenous bloke just going out there and playing the game.

Seriously, some of their arguments have been pathetic too - the NRL players are doing precisely what they should be doing and that is standing on the right side of history.

lol yeah them too. Seriously, how about that f**ktard Andrew Bolt blow hard - whinging and whining that a 10 second imaginary spear through dance is "inciting a race war"

Now there's a man who needs to harden the f#ck up! Imagine how scared he'd be if he saw the All Blacks throat slit Haka! The dutch accented prick should just piss off back the the and go play his native soccer with the rest of the girls.
"Dutch accented prick".

That's racist.

RoosTah

"Dutch accented prick".

That's racist.

No, it's merely a description - I didn't call him a Dutch Prick, I called him a prick whilst describing his accent. In the words of Dermont Brereton "I chose my words carefully," purely to give the line plausable deniability.

I gotta admit I just find it hilarious that a wanker uni drop out and convicted racist like Blot carries on about Australian culture like he's some f#cking guardian of it, and yet still speaks like he's spent his formative years in the Netherlands.

For a bloke that was born here and hates immigrants that's a bit weird.

wests1

There is no doubt that the reason people think Adam Goodes is a tool is because he doesn't know his place. For six hundredth time, this whole thing has escalated ever since he spoke out on the issue of race. Let's sswitch the context. If a player spoke out on an issue other than race - most notably because it directly affected them- would they also be in line for booing?

wests1

I also love how the red neck brigade moan on and on about how they can't say anything for fear of being called racist, while at the same tme with no sense of irony calling everyone who pulls them up on anything 'politically correct'.

SLRBRONCOS

aaaadd4.jpg

Ha, epic photo.

Shorty

I see, the old "jeez that's not real racism/sexism line" is it? A little like telling a woman who is whistled and jeered at every day at work that it's not sexism because "listen love, if you were in the Islamic State they'd rape and kill you - now that's REAL sexism, so just be thankful you've got it so good."

As for the "softest fella in the nation" - that award goes to Chris Kenny of the Australian - the sook who stole tax payer funds because he was photoshopped onto a picture of a bloke screwing a dog for a total of 2 seconds.

Explain to me what from below was ignorant. I can't wait for you to twist this into something as offensive/ bigoted/ racist as you like. Go!
Well, I had Roostah prepare this earlier, apparently you didn't read it?

SLRBRONCOS

Well, I had Roostah prepare this earlier, apparently you didn't read it?

There is absolutely no comparison between the two. Just a bunch of bs spun to try and prove a point. I doubt my point would ever be taken into account, just slammed as ignorant, bigoted and racist.

Its really nice to be naive and think that everyone is so great, but there is a huge element of smoke-screening across the face of the city folk. Also, living in the city now and for some time, I can see exactly how this happens.

My point is, the stuff you see out west is terribly upsetting. Like you know, stolen and burnt out cars and trashed graveyards, organised nurses at the mission held up with blood filled syringes (I could go on and on and on). Not to mention the poor children and again, on and on and on. We wont look at that though. I do not label anyone based on what I have been exposed to, until they bring out the "this is happening because". Adam, you're booed because you're a giant douche.

nomis88

Hi SLRBroncos , Get back to us when you are named Australian of the Year or when you actually achieve something in your miserable existence. What a sad miserable bigot you are.

SLRBRONCOS

Hi SLRBroncos , Get back to us when you are named Australian of the Year or when you actually achieve something in your miserable existence. What a sad miserable bigot you are.

Dude I ran free swimming lessons for Aboriginal youth. My existence has probably done more than you.

And "sad miserable" - are you 12?

wests1

There is absolutely no comparison between the two. Just a bunch of bs spun to try and prove a point. I doubt my point would ever be taken into account, just slammed as ignorant, bigoted and racist.

Its really nice to be naive and think that everyone is so great, but there is a huge element of smoke-screening across the face of the city folk. Also, living in the city now and for some time, I can see exactly how this happens.

My point is, the stuff you see out west is terribly upsetting. Like you know, stolen and burnt out cars and trashed graveyards, organised nurses at the mission held up with blood filled syringes (I could go on and on and on). Not to mention the poor children and again, on and on and on. We wont look at that though. I do not label anyone based on what I have been exposed to, until they bring out the "this is happening because". Adam, you're booed because you're a giant douche.

You seem intirely reasonable SLR but to not acklowdge that the problems faced in indigenous communities (I myself am from wagga with a huge aboriginal population albeit reasonably 'urban', so am familiar with what your talking about) are a result of dispossession, destruction of culture and the introduction of harmful substances by Europeans is a little disingenuous.
These problems are not restricted to indigenous Australians either, they're problems that exist in LOADS of places around the world, particularly cultures that have come into contact with colonisation. We live off the back of this imperialism, so need to be honest in addressing it.

MrAnonymous

f**k you're a gronk. Because you dont agree with someones opinion they're a bigoted racist? Pull your head in dickhead you sound like that little bitch Goodes.

SLRBRONCOS

You seem intirely reasonable SLR but to not acklowdge that the problems faced in indigenous communities (I myself am from wagga with a huge aboriginal population albeit reasonably 'urban', so am familiar with what your talking about) are a result of dispossession, destruction of culture and the introduction of harmful substances by Europeans is a little disingenuous.
These problems are not restricted to indigenous Australians either, they're problems that exist in LOADS of places around the world, particularly cultures that have come into contact with colonisation. We live off the back of this imperialism, so need to be honest in addressing it.

I 100% agree with this. And would get to it.

People just explode with their high horses of "everyone is so wrong to say that". I just wanted to highlight some of the things that go on out there. And why opinions of others are ok, hell everyone my family was involved with put so much time and effort into engaging with the indigenous, who were essentially our neighbours. From employment opportunities like cotton chipping, to lifts out of danger, and leaving food and water for them.

strong_latte

I'm just going to blow in here - only read the last couple pages, but whilst I get how to someone who has seen really awful stuff this whole thing with Goodes just seems like a lot of fluff, I also reckon RoosTah is right with his point that relativist arguments can be applied to pretty well everything and so you can't really be totally dismissive like that.

The other thing I'd say is that relativist perspective goes both ways: all these people who apparently got their knickers in a twist about a bloke doing an aboriginal war dance and taking such exception to him not wanting to be called an ape (which is kinda fair enough I reckon - we don't wanna turn into Euro soccer) that they'd then go and boo him everything bloody time he touches they ball are all a pack of massively over sensitive princes that need to go out and live in the real world for a day.

RoosTah

Mate, no one thinks everyone has to be nice an great etc etc, and that's just ad hominem BS... My point is perfectly applicable here - people have ALWAYS tried to minimise any kind of institutional bias or prejudice by pointing to something worse elsewhere. Your comment fits perfectly into that mould.

Why is Goodes a massive douche in your view exactly? That seems to be what is generating most of the controversy here - the difficulty people have in explaining just what it is they hate so much about the guy that makes him more worthy of a visceral hatred than countless players who've come before him - including those who've had sexual assault convictions and far worse on-field reputations.

That's kinda the rub, because if you hate this bloke so much that you make it a mission to go to footy games with your mates just to boo him (and some clearly do) then it's just a poor look for us as a country when you think of some of the genuine grubs that have come before him who have been treated with nothing but respect.

SLRBRONCOS

Why is Goodes a massive douche in your view exactly? That seems to be what is generating most of the controversy here - the difficulty people have in explaining just what it is they hate so much about the guy that makes him more worthy of a visceral hatred than countless players who've come before him - including those who've had sexual assault convictions and far worse on-field reputations.

That's kinda the rub, because if you hate this bloke so much that you make it a mission to go to footy games with your mates just to boo him (and some clearly do) then it's just a poor look for us as a country when you think of some of the genuine grubs that have come before him who have been treated with nothing but respect.

I think Goodes has had many opportunities to bring people together, but he has widened a divide.

The young girl should not have called him an "ape" - but she needed education, yet Goodes labeled her as the "face of racism".

13 year old girl, bullied her publicly.

DiegoNT

I think Goodes has had many opportunities to bring people together, but he has widened a divide.

The young girl should not have called him an "ape" - but she needed education, yet Goodes labeled her as the "face of racism".

13 year old girl, bullied her publicly.

You do realise Adam met with the girl, accepted her apology, educated her on why calling her an ape was so wrong, then asked for the public to respect her privacy and not to hate/bully her?
The people who keep dragging this girl back into the limelight are the people trying to find an excuse to legitimized their booing of adam