Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

JT and GI to lead NRL support for Adam Goodes by performing Aboriginal War Dance

SLRBRONCOS

Mate, Goodes was totally fair on both counts here - it's fair enough not to want to be called an ape if you've grown up with a lot of stigma and abuse, particularly during an indigenous round.

The idea that calling out racism is some how worse than racism itself is some seriously f**king twisted bullshit. You write about all this inner city elite stuff, but you're just as ramped up about this whole thing as anyone, so don't act like you're above it all.

Thats like me saying its fair for me to dislike the indigenous because they lit some of our machinery on fire, stole two cars, torched cotton bails, killed two dogs, punched my mum, spat, called us "white kunce", just to name a very limited few. Even when we would try and help them. But nah, actually, I don't hold anything against them as a race.

I am just saying that sometimes everyone in the city is so quick to say "those poor vilified indigenous" which sometimes is the case, but sometimes it is definitely not. End of.

RoosTah

Thats like me saying its fair for me to dislike the indigenous because they lit some of our machinery on fire, stole two cars, torched cotton bails, killed two dogs, punched my mum, spat, called us "white kunce", just to name a very limited few. Even when we would try and help them. But nah, actually, I don't hold anything against them as a race.

I am just saying that sometimes everyone in the city is so quick to say "those poor vilified indigenous" which sometimes is the case, but sometimes it is definitely not. End of.

So in your mind a not wanting to be on the end of a racist taunt is the same as a general sense of dislike for a people of a particular race?

I really don't get your point here - you started by arguing things are a lot worse in some places and that this is all soft inner city stuff, then you went on and had a crack at him for pointing the girl out because of her age, as though he ought to have known her exact age (and also now having a go about how security then responded - not exactly his control) and now you're telling me what really annoys you is the general sentiment of "city types" to take pity on the inidigenous.

Seriously, you're all over the shop - you're making this about something else entirely now. I mean what's your argument exactly? There's a shit load of drug and alcohol abuse in the aboriginal community, so lets not be too sympathetic? What's any of that got to do with the fact that racism is pervasive and institutional? Do you think the complexities and difficulties facing the aboriginal community will be somehow helped by people NOT making a stand against racism?

SLRBRONCOS

So in your mind a not wanting to be on the end of a racist taunt is the same as a general sense of dislike for a people of a particular race?

I really don't get your point here - you started by arguing things are a lot worse in some places and that this is all soft inner city stuff, then you went on and had a crack at him for pointing the girl out because of her age, as though he ought to have known her exact age (and also now having a go about how security then responded - not exactly his control) and now you're telling me what really annoys you is the general sentiment of "city types" to take pity on the inidigenous.

Seriously, you're all over the shop - you're making this about something else entirely now. I mean what's your argument exactly? There's a shit load of drug and alcohol abuse in the aboriginal community, so lets not be too sympathetic? What's any of that got to do with the fact that racism is pervasive and institutional? Do you think the complexities and difficulties facing the aboriginal community will be somehow helped by people NOT making a stand against racism?

Pfft. He saw her, she was clearly young as. Pointed to security and had her ejected. YouTube it.

Just read it all back if you're confused. You're over analysing everything and spinning it up to prove your points. i can't be bothered.

RoosTah

Pfft. He saw her, she was clearly young as. Pointed to security and had her ejected. YouTube it.

Just read it all back if you're confused. You're over analysing everything and spinning it up to prove your points. i can't be bothered.

Mate, I'm just repeating back to you everything you've brought up - not exactly a case of over analysing.

Seen the clip - it was obvious she was young but girls are trickier than blokes when it comes to picking age. But I guess there we have it - that's what's shitting you. You just reckon he should have copped the abuse and known everything about her.

I reckon he was well within his rights to say "no, it's not cool for the crowd to carry on like Eurotrash soccer fans and call me a monkey," but I get that you don't agree. That's fair enough and I think we've reached an impasse.

Again, better parenting to begin with and we wouldn't be talking about it. I'd be appalled if my kids spoke like that. She copped exactly what she deserved and Goodes handled the situation perfectly. Hopefully the kid grows up to be a better person from the experience.

Except for the simple fact he didn't want to touch the SAME SITUATION when a high powered AFLOL official did the same ,
He dogged it pure & simple .
Chose to not rock the afl boat .

He's weak as piss & a hypocrite .
A piss poor human being .He accepted all the accolades,all the press blah blah about his stand against racism ...Aust of the yr award ,then did nothing when McChins made a joke about him.

strong_latte

Except for the simple fact he didn't want to touch the SAME SITUATION when a high powered AFLOL official did the same ,
He dogged it pure & simple .
Chose to not rock the afl boat .

He's weak as piss & a hypocrite .
A piss poor human being .He accepted all the accolades,all the press blah blah about his stand against racism ...Aust of the yr award ,then did nothing when McChins made a joke about him.
That's pretty rough mate... I got the feeling it was more about him actually feeling sorry to her when he spoke with her and wanting to ensure he made the point about racism generally rather than just one teenage girl.

Who's McChins though?

elbusto

Nice to see the Swans TV ratings were as miserable as ever yesterday. Media hysteria but feck all people tune in regardless.

Pete Cash

They can't handle anyones opinion.

My opinion is that when he first addressed the young girl as "the face of racism" was poor.

Also kicking her out of the stadium, jesus, she's 13, Adam, very wrong what she said, but ignore it. Thats my opinion, I am entitled to it Roostah, so deal.

I'm going to keep posting this. From the day after.

http://mobile.abc.net.au/news/2013-05-25/goodes-gutted-but-places-no-blame/4712772

I'm pretty gutted to be honest," he told reporters in Melbourne on Saturday morning.

"The win, the first in 13 years, to be up 47 points against Collingwood, to play such a pivotal role just sort of means nothing.

"To come to the boundary line and hear a 13-year-old girl call me an 'ape', and it's not the first time on a footy field that I've been referred to as a 'monkey' or an 'ape', it was shattering."
"I've had fantastic support over the past 24 hours," Goodes said.

"I just hope that people give the 13 year old girl the same sort of support because she needs it, her family needs it, and the people around them need it.

"It's not a witch-hunt, I don't want people to go after this young girl.

"We've just got to help educate society better so it doesn't happen again."

Goodes said that Victoria Police asked if he would like to press charges but he declined, reiterating that the girl needs to learn why her abuse was hurtful.

"It's not her fault, she's 13, she's still so innocent, I don't put any blame on her," he said.

"Unfortunately it's what she hears, in the environment she's grown up in that has made her think that it's OK to call people names."

"I guarantee she has no idea right now how it makes people feel to call them an ape."

elbusto

Mate, I'm just repeating back to you everything you've brought up - not exactly a case of over analysing.

Seen the clip - it was obvious she was young but girls are trickier than blokes when it comes to picking age. But I guess there we have it - that's what's shitting you. You just reckon he should have copped the abuse and known everything about her.

I reckon he was well within his rights to say "no, it's not cool for the crowd to carry on like Eurotrash soccer fans and call me a monkey," but I get that you don't agree. That's fair enough and I think we've reached an impasse.
Ahh the sook is back defending saint Adam. :lol:

Pete Cash

You don't need to be a saint to not want to be racially vilified. I remember Australians were much more sympathetic to the plight of Andrew symonds. I remember the Indians were like but but but its not really racist I swear and Australian supporters were rightly saying nonsense.

Weird how it happening in Australia causes a backlash against the black athletes in question.

Cletus

They can't handle anyones opinion.

My opinion is that when he first addressed the young girl as "the face of racism" was poor.

Also kicking her out of the stadium, jesus, she's 13, Adam, very wrong what she said, but ignore it. Thats my opinion, I am entitled to it Roostah, so deal.

Goodes handled it extremely well. The problem is people are believing the version as given by liars like Bolt, Jones and Devine. They have an agenda that they are pushing and won't let the truth get in the way.

If you actually go to the trouble of finding out what he actually said you'll find that he was very gentle with the girl. And why can't he object to it? I would have thought correcting children on their poor behavior was the way to go, not letting them scream racist abuse at people like her mother seems to think is not only acceptable but a funny thing to do. Goodes actually said at the time that the girl would have learnt the behavior from her family, go figure.

Anyway this is Goodes infamous interview at 22.30, I defy anyone to watch it and think that he handled it poorly.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-07-31/the-drum-friday-july-31/6665800

millersnose

Go petey
You champion against idiots who try to insult with racial slurs
People who do that are retry low aren't they petey
.. Oh wait....

RoosTah

Goodes handled it extremely well. The problem is people are believing the version as given by liars like Bolt, Jones and Devine. They have an agenda that they are pushing and won't let the truth get in the way.

If you actually go to the trouble of finding out what he actually said you'll find that he was very gentle with the girl. And why can't he object to it? I would have thought correcting children on their poor behavior was the way to go, not letting them scream racist abuse at people like her mother seems to think is not only acceptable but a funny thing to do. Goodes actually said at the time that the girl would have learnt the behavior from her family, go figure.

Anyway this is Goodes infamous interview at 22.30, I defy anyone to watch it and think that he handled it poorly.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-07-31/the-drum-friday-july-31/6665800

Exactly - people's defence of all these booing idiots has been built around the misrepresentations of what actually happened in 2013 being put forward by a few confirmed bigots and racists.

It's precisely assholes like Bolt, Jones and Devine that are dividing the country. Heck, for Bolt in particular dividing the country along race lines is how he earns his money! So it's pretty funny hearing him complain about Goodes not doing enough to bring us together.

DiegoNT

The afl media is hugely to blames for this whole mess.
With their puppets in the media they can spin anything to their favour. They attack nrl on their stance on SKD while they let majak daw continued playing despite him waiting trial for rape. So when the racial booing of Goodes started the afl media got into their spin cycle to cover it up because having racist fans would hurt their imagine. Suddenly Goodes had become a dirty player, suddenly he was the player who dived for penalties. Suddenly Adam was a 'flog', an insult I've never actually heard used against anyone before. The afl couldn't be seen to have a racism problem in the games so they've made Goodes a villain. The incident with the girl went from a stand against racism to picking in a little girl ( despite Goodes handling the situation well). They even tried to manufacture a scandal of Goodes groping a player by putting a feeeze frame shot of a contest on the front page of the paper, despite it being a nothing situation. They tried to cover the initial racism, but this only made the situation worse, it legitimazed the bigots in crowd who only got louder. As they got louder and louder people believing the spin that Goodes is some kind of villain joined in the booing, inadvertently adding their voices to the racism. This egged on the racists even further. They're again tried to legitimize the booing further by having people in the media admitting they boo Goodes as well. I mean have you ever heard a nrl media identity state that they boo a certain player? Not even Queensland identities would come out and say they boo a nsw player. Now this whole issue has spiralled put of the afl's control. I believe many people have swallowed the afl's spin, and hate Goodes for them person he had been portrayed as being, but by booing goodes your only further legitimizing the initial racism. You might be at the stadium booing him for being as the afl try to say it, 'being a flog', but your only adding your voice to the people booing him for standing up for racism and calling for him to go back to the zoo.

millersnose

Millers me old mate !!!!

Good to see you. Care to discuss the issue in 4c.
The thread we are in is cool for me
Don't be evasive petey
I am just trying to get your opinion on people, like yourself, who resort to racial slurs
Do you think they are pathetic?

Cletus

Exactly - people's defence of all these booing idiots has been built around the misrepresentations of what actually happened in 2013 being put forward by a few confirmed bigots and racists.

It's precisely assholes like Bolt, Jones and Devine that are dividing the country. Heck, for Bolt in particular dividing the country along race lines is how he earns his money! So it's pretty funny hearing him complain about Goodes not doing enough to bring us together.

Yeah that's the thing that makes me really angry about this situation. If people want to have a debate about it fine, just debate the facts not make up canards and misrepresent what Goodes has said. I think part of the reason Abbott has been so luke warm on this is that he doesn't want to offend the right wing commentators. Anyway.