Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Junior Amone

Illusion

No! Not until this Board has been replace. We will be doomed to a bottom 8 team while our imbercile management team continues to make bad decisions with no repercussions.
Agree đź’Ż percent if you were running any other organisation they would have been all shafted by now ...... Instead they move them around , go on holidays for a bit then back again example, Doust , G.Young will be back again , if not already on the board , then the next thing IMO D. Young will be next to coach ..... Said a loooong time ago it's job's for the boys ......

Thank
Self reporting isn’t the most reliable of tools, but it’s really the only tool we have. And AOD use is trending down.

Absolutely we do. Although many fail to recognise it about themselves. Kudos for not being one of those poor folk.

For sure. And I hope I haven’t seemed disrespectful.

Thanks mate. I respect yours too.

I think respect means something to young people now too, although I suspect that the meaning has changed over time.

My experience working with young people is that respect isn’t bestowed due to age or hierarchical structure, it’s earned through actions. I actually quite enjoy this idea, although I can see why it would be challenging for generations who held more reverence for age and experience.

I also think that our social institutions eg employment aren’t working the same way for young people. Job security and conditions aren’t what they once were so employers aren’t treated with the same respect. But I’ve found young people incredibly respectful towards me whenever I’ve approached them in an authentic and honest way.
Thank you and you certainly havent been disrespectful. I always enjoy what you have to say and the same with most posters on here. I love reading what people with far more knowledge than i do have to say about our great club and the game. Ive followed the Saints for over 62 yrs now, but im no expert on the game-i just love watching it and being part of this great community

The Word

And he wouldn't win. Being charged brings the game into disrepute, so he's in breach of his contract. Whether he gets found guilty or not doesn't come into it, as he's already performed the action that breached the contract.
Even in a scenario where he is found to have been wrongfully arrested and charges are dropped, you're saying he would still have no case? IMO he would have an extremely high chance of winning a civil case against the club and every chance of having his contract paid out. Surely anything less would be considered by the court to be unreasonable? Especially considering he has no prior form (and I don't count the training ground incident as prior form).

And he wouldn't win. Being charged brings the game into disrepute, so he's in breach of his contract. Whether he gets found guilty or not doesn't come into it, as he's already performed the action that breached the contract.
I said it in regard to the JDB case and I say it again with the Armone situation. The NRL is to take over the contract from the Dragons and deal with Armone in whichever way they feel necessary.

I can’t help but think the media has only portrayed one side of the story.

The kid is done as an NRL player if the story is accurate and there were no extenuating circumstances.

Even in a scenario where he is found to have been wrongfully arrested and charges are dropped, you're saying he would still have no case? IMO he would have an extremely high chance of winning a civil case against the club and every chance of having his contract paid out. Surely anything less would be considered by the court to be unreasonable? Especially considering he has no prior form (and I don't count the training ground incident as prior form).
I think It depends. If he’s already signed up to being subject to nrl and club rules that allow them to stand him down on the basis of a mere allegation, well he can’t complain now. Until we see the terms and conditions of his arrangements he’s entered into it’s unknown but I hazard a guess that they can and @Maximus is probably right.

Putting the criminal case to one side for a sec, maybe tony tradie is probably considering an absolute monster case against him anyway.

He doesn’t have to prove his case to the same standard as the cops, but a conviction will help him prove the offence. Then he has to prove his losses.

He has considerable physical damage and probably mental trauma. May not be able to work again. Tony tradies dependents etc would be stuffed too. Let’s not forget about them. If his back is stuffed, he might not be able to enjoy life properly. Operations and the dreadful medical gauntlet. Painkillers and all that stuff.

Could well run into the millions. Junior may well lose everything he has and if the award against him is big enough, he may be paying Tony out for years.

Playing footy is the least of his concerns at the moment.

Probably time to move him on, ask him to resign quietly. No one’s going to pick him up. The players can whinge, but I doubt they’d be putting their hands in their own pockets and stumping for up his salary.

All unnecessary and a waste over a few square metres of Council grass and temper.

Next level stupidity.

what happens then if he wins the court case?

The only issue that is in question is how will the NRL deal with this and what leeway they will give us in dealing with it.

Unless a deal for an early guilty plea is struck with the courts we will have our hands tied waiting for guidance from the NRL

This could stretch out for a long period of time as it appears Amone Snr’s arrest in this matter has triggered other court matters for him.

Yet another clusterf**k our club has to
to deal with because of the selfish and senseless behaviour of certain individuals who just happen to play for our club.

Probably nothing so far as the club is concerned.

I don’t think the club would have entered into a contract with him that placed it at risk depending on the court outcome at the end.

Its a question of the charges and perhaps the circumstances that may operate to trigger any pre-trial punitive action against him.

Like jdb etc.

Unfair in some ways in principle, but hes likely to have signed up to it before.

The allegations are very serious. If what I read is true, he’s in a world of trouble.

And all the stupid windscreen jumps won’t help him.

Dragon David

Probably nothing so far as the club is concerned.

I don’t think the club would have entered into a contract with him that placed it at risk depending on the court outcome at the end.
NRL will come to a
Its a question of the charges and perhaps the circumstances that may operate to trigger any pre-trial punitive action against him.

Like jdb etc.

Unfair in some ways in principle, but hes likely to have signed up to it before.

The allegations are very serious. If what I read is true, he’s in a world of trouble.
If what I have read is true then Junior Amone's NRL career finished after his last game against the Broncos on 3 September 2022. Such a shame.

I think that’s the likely outcome for different reasons.

I think it’s a loss for the whole game really, it could have happened to any player at any club.

I don’t blame the club, they could not have seen it coming. He was Peter Perfect except for a Lomax scuffle. Those things happen fairly frequently.

A bunch of young tough footy players, there’s often the odd bit of aggro.

He’s young and any gaol will be rough. Like a giant schoolyard. It will change him forever.

Your club will manage, she’s a tough old beast, seen it all over the years.

And another kid is going to get an opportunity to step up by virtue of these terrible circumstances.

If he wins the criminal case how can he be found in breach of his contract.
That all depends what is in his contract.

If it contains a clause that says to the effect

"If you are stood down by the NRL under their "No Fault Rule" and are therefore unable to play for our club as per your contract conditions we reserve the right to review and or revoke your contract forthwith"

Then the club would potentially be able to do something.

If it contains a clause that he is unable to play for any reason other than injury and or suspension then his contract can be reviewed or revoked.

Who knows what clauses are contained within their individual contracts.

I expect Amone's legal team will negotiate a guilty pea deal that will see him sentenced to about 2 years in jail. Once this happens then the Club can tear up its contract and use these funds to recruit a new player.

I expect that Jnr Amone's lawyers will do absolutely nothing until all the implications for Snr Amone are fully apparent.

Snr Amones actions in this matter have triggered a lot of other pending legal issues and that's why he is not out on bail.

This could easily drag on for months to come and as I said earlier the old cliche that "blood is thicker than water" will well and truly play out here.

I suspect that Jnr Amones football career is not even in a consideration at this time as there are much bigger fish being fried.

Maximus

If he wins the criminal case how can he be found in breach of his contract.

The standard clause is pretty general and states that the contract can be terminated for any conduct that brings into disrepute the image of the competition or club. Whether he gets found guilty or not, his conduct has caused him to get arrested, and his arrest has brought the image of the club into disrepute (one only has to read this thread to see that).