Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Karmichael Hunt goes rah-rah

Wow. A lot of hating going on in this thread. I think a lot of people are going a bit overboard, especially with comments like "Stamped never to play in NRL again".

lol you softcock.

That's not hating.

I'd be quite happy to see him have a career ending injury whilst playing for the Broncos feeder team later this season.

Now that's hating...

Greenbits

ARL/NRL should put all representative payments in a holding fund, earning interest for the player. The player receives the payment on retirement. If the player goes to a rival code or competition before age 30, they forfeit the payment.

i think the highlighted part, is part of the reason why these players are heading to union overseas they can make $350,000 a year in australia and if they are seen in public having a beer, with their girlfriend and they sneeze, they are a fair chance of being accused of assault with snot, while being blind drunk, and having their career ended because of some moron with a camera phone and hack journalists like magnay and bourbon bec

in french union they can earn twice the money, set themselves up for the rest of their lives and have a better quality, personal life when they are not playing, due to anonymity

while i do not agree with turning your back on the code that gave you, your start, i can understand why they would consider it, especially if, as Hunt has said, he has settled down with his girlfriend, and they are looking to the future,

with anonymity, he can go and have a few drinks with mates on a sunday arvo and not have false accusations thrown at him which could affect his relationship

unfortunately i think we, will see a lot more of this over the next few years

I don't have a problem with him going for whatever reason. I also believe that the moment they sign they should be playing park footy, not NRL footy. Like I said, I could care less about the bloke now and if he had a career ending injury tomorrow, no skin off my nose because that would ensure he never comes back, which is what I'd like to see. What makes it so he doesn't come back is irrelevant to me.

And that's why gives me the sh*ts. We welcome these f**kers back like the prodigal sons...

Azkatro

Not sure about Origin, but the Broncos need him right up until the last minute they play this year because they're in a precarious position at the moment. They are going to find it harder than previously to recruit players, and also progressively harder to retain local juniors due to the Bennett factor. I'm tipping this year or next they might be finally due to miss a finals series, for the first time since 1991 and for only the third time since 1988.

I think losing Bennett will see them go through a genuine slump of sorts, before they find their feet again.

Broncodr01d

I agree. The loss of Bennett cannot be understated. I said this to fellow Brisbane fan mates at the start of the year despite the "Bennett who?" retorts I was met with when we were atop the ladder.

The true test for Henjak will be post Origin, can he recharge the players and get them back on track for a run at the top four again? I think he can. He has a good supporting cast off the field and our early season form showed we can be formidable when we have our strongest 17 on the field.

Bennett was a genius at getting this done time and time again, Ivan's turn.

he wont go .. he will be at the dragons

Travelling the world, seeing the amazing sights and experiences of Kogarah and Wollongong?

If players want to go to union because it offers better opportunities I say good luck to them. Not their fault, just a fact of life nowadays. If the NRL wants to compete in the market for these guys it needs to generate the $ and offer the same opportunities.

piss off

Queensland should not pick the prick. other players were not picked when defecting

yeah, way to go xenophobe.....

not just you, but hey, people can do as they like.

Its a big world out there. Sometimes I write from overseas. I do it a bit actually.

The world may be a big place, but its getting smaller. And this is YET ANOTHER reason why we MUST OFFER AT LEAST A TRULY NATIONAL COMPETITION.

People want to retreat back to nsw - they are having a dig obviously. We must expand, and sydney clubs must go in order to do it, as we cannot sustain too many extra teams and keep up player talent and pay them enough.

I say it again to you all....the nrl in decades to come is in GREAT danger of being insignificant.

Proceed with the current situation at your peril.

Johns Magic

A damn shame as a Brisbane fan. I envisioned Karmichael playing his career out at Brisbane and eventually becoming a long term captain of the club.

As for Queensland selection, with the series now won and the not-so-secret defection of Hunt to rugby, I think we need to bring in someone new to take his place. Who? Not to sure as it stands.

Is this a gee-up?

Broncodr01d

G'Day Johns Magic

No mate, I have returned (see post in Brisbane forum).

Admin are working on reactivating the old account that I don't have the log in details for.

No surprise to see him betray the game, a leopard doesn't change its spots.

people need to get over this whole betrayal thing.

rl is not a monarchy. wayne rooney did it, c. ronaldo did it, everyone is doing it.

players have been doing it since organised sport began. they change sports. baseball players go to play gridiron, and grid iron players go to play baseball. rl and ru players have been doing it for a long time too. so what. DALLY MESSENGER DID IT!?

so somehow your game sux because a player leaves? thats whats this is about.

I know most of you people find it hard to appreciate so called 'competing' sports. I can appreciate other sports even if I am not completely wrapped in their entertainment value.

What you guys need to understand - what the nrl needs to understand - is that the NRL is NOT a prison. And once that is understood you can go about enticing players to stay more, by playing them more and by making the game more enjoyable to play, of which there are hundreds of areas that may be improved.

And even then you must accept that many people dont always want to do the same thing all their lives even with big dollars and great competition. C Ronaldo left because he'd done it all....baseball players play grid iron for the challenge and a change.

The NRL is not a prison, and you cant hold people against their will. They must be enticed to stay but even this won't keep them all in it. Its a fact of life, but it doesnt mean your game sux.

This is a case of the media reporting facts - and people who can't get over the fact. We need to move on and make the conditions for playing league better.

Broncodr01d

Quality :lol:

I look forward to many multi-coloured posts to come.

Saab brough this up too - I am going to have to go searching for some old posts I guess :lol:

[Edit: yeah, I found what you guys are talking about - as I said to Saab - one bored douche bag)

sooperdooper

He has done it all… chasing the dollars obviously.
At least over this year he has mad his intentions quite clear. Had not snuck around or denied it.
Is his missus off her head though?

Johns Magic

Saab brough this up too - I am going to have to go searching for some old posts I guess :lol:

[Edit: yeah, I found what you guys are talking about - as I said to Saab - one bored douche bag)

Fond memories of you and Saab embarrassing yourselves in the SOO forum. Would love to dig those posts up.