Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Kearney

Kornstar

personally, I'm not 100% convinced of that and I do believe Nolan has signed a 2 year extension whether it was on the proviso that the current head coach needs to be there or not, I'm not quite sure.

Do I believe it, not really but it was said by a few people with a little credibility, possibly yourself even?

It may have been what he said before we got to 7/33 or whatever it is :lol:

mickdo

Have you ever stopped to consider maybe SK is stinking the joint out?????? Or that isn't possible.

I don't think there's any doubt of that, but whether it's because he's a poor coach, because we have pea-heart players, a club that has much deeper issues, or combination of all three is a bigger question.

Wise Old Eel

That was the shittest grand final side in history. We scraped into the finals in 8th place FFS. The year before it we missed the finals and the year after we missed the finals as well.

Take off your rose-coloured glasses about how good the 2009 team was. They didn't even start performing in that grand final until the game was as good as over. Just like in 2001.

This is where your argument is flawed. DA took the team - in your opinion, "the shittest grand final side in history" - to the GF. In 2010, we only missed the making the 8 again with arguably a weaker team by 2 matches. He was punted for poor results.

Kearney - who has been afforded every luxury available to a coach - has taken a stronger side NO WHERE. We missed the wooden spoon last year by ONE game - and even that was only because we were lucky enough to draw the eventual wooden spooners in the last round. This year, we are terrible. We are not even as competitive as last season and we have stronger side.

Face it. SK may have great "ideas" but he has no idea how to make them happen. He clearly is a man out of his depth. The only reason he has not been shown the door already is because the board have backed themselves into a corner. Sacking Kearney now would mean they have to admit they made a DUMB decision in sacking Anderson. Too many stubborn egos there for that to happen.

WOE

natheel

1 person in the club i don't want to leave is Nolan - what he did for Brisbane was great and is being shown here too

Regardless of who the head coach is Nolan will still be successful in recruiting and rentention

Maroubra Eel

I don't think there's any doubt of that, but whether it's because he's a poor coach, because we have pea-heart players, a club that has much deeper issues, or combination of all three is a bigger question.

I agree with this. I reckon Kearney might be a good coach but there are deeper issues we don't know about.

Maroubra Eel

you know what, I would like to think that's the case too, regardless of what he thinks of the head coach.

From all accounts Nolan is the best thing that happened to our club for a while. Now if only we could start winning a few games we'd be laughing.

The fact he still has the confidence of the board despite his record says they must see something special in him.

What an example of cow-towing to the (apparent, presumed) opinions of anyone in authority, with head-in-the-sand about reality or how things really work behind the scenes of organisations.

Because they'd look like absolute morons, you thick dickhead.

Mate, they would only look like morons in your eyes and I'm certain they don't give a f**k what an idiot like you would think about them.

These are successful people mate. They don't have the kind of bogan mentality you ascribe to them.

Maybe in your world admitting you're wrong is something to be ashamed of, but in successful circles reassessing your situation and fixing mistakes is just what people do.

Can't you get that through your head. They made a massive f**k up by sacking DA for a rookie, sacking him now would only concede that.

Whatever is going wrong under Kearney doesn't have any bearing on whether Anderson was the right man for the job.

If Anderson was good enough they surely would have kept him.

What an example of cow-towing to the (apparent, presumed) opinions of anyone in authority, with head-in-the-sand about reality or how things really work behind the scenes of organisations.

I guess I'm just not an edgy rebel like you bartman you pissweak no-hoper.

Fight the power bartman. :lol:

images

Ron Jeremy

Thats crap, plenty examples of management f**k ups by not selecting the right person, it happens everyday, from everything from recruiting the right player or coach, or re-signing or drafting, hell just look at the list of exx eels players running around in the NRL, bad example.

:lol: You've just done it again - blind faith in authority to the bitter end, rather than any element of critical or independent thinking. That's how Australia ended up with so many troops massacred in past wars, simply adhering to the authority of our British commanders.

You've mentioned hayne several times. SK has shown he won't take shit from players, (shack, tahu and possibly egj) and is willing to show them the door or keep them in reserves.

True but none of them are essential to the team's performance (you can argue Tahu would have improved our defence on one side of the field but in 2010 he was a terrible defender) and none on the massive coin that Hayne is on.

If hayne was that bad, don't you think SK would of also shown him the door.

Whatever Hayne is doing to the squad's cohesion (and it's just speculation, much like 'Kearney can't coach') he is clearly essential to our performances (look how much better we played when he came back into the team) and his own form has been excellent. The only player to have played worse with Hayne back in the side is Sandow.

So I'm not saying Hayne is the problem; I'm suggesting he might be at least be part of it.

Have you ever stopped to consider maybe SK is stinking the joint out?????? Or that isn't possible.

This is the point mate. You (and most other whingers) are looking for a magic bullet - a simple solution to what is certainly a complex problem. Kearney is definitely part of the problem, but is he part of the problem because he's trying to do the right thing?

Whatever the case, it is close to 100% likely that Kearney is not the sole problem in this team, which means replacing him is almost certainly not going to fix whatever our problems are.

:lol: You've just done it again - blind faith in authority to the bitter end, rather than any element of critical or independent thinking. That's how Australia ended up with so many troops massacred in past wars, simply adhering to the authority of our British commanders.

:lol: You've just done it again - letting your insecurity about authority figures cloud your judgement.

This is where your argument is flawed. DA took the team - in your opinion, "the shittest grand final side in history" - to the GF. In 2010, we only missed the making the 8 again with arguably a weaker team by 2 matches. He was punted for poor results.

Two things:

1. Hayne took us to that grand final.

2. Anderson wasn't punted for poor results; he was punted for the reason that Kearney was brought in - because the club needed rebuilding.

Anderson was replaced because of our long-term issues, not for what had happened in the short-term.

There was nothing wrong with our short-term results. I believe we won about half our games under Anderson.

Kearney - who has been afforded every luxury available to a coach - has taken a stronger side NO WHERE. We missed the wooden spoon last year by ONE game - and even that was only because we were lucky enough to draw the eventual wooden spooners in the last round.

We were hardly a "stronger side" last year - we had lost Mateo, Inu, Cayless, Tahu and Grothe.

This year, we are terrible. We are not even as competitive as last season and we have stronger side.

We are indeed terrible and the question is why. Blaming the coach doesn't cut it, because the fact is he was here last year and the team played their best nearly every week.

So the problem is much more complex than SACK THE COACH!!! :crazy:

Face it. SK may have great "ideas" but he has no idea how to make them happen. He clearly is a man out of his depth. The only reason he has not been shown the door already is because the board have backed themselves into a corner. Sacking Kearney now would mean they have to admit they made a DUMB decision in sacking Anderson. Too many stubborn egos there for that to happen.

You have a very simpistic view of the people running the club. Probably fuelled by jealousy.