Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

KISS for the GF??? (2023 GF entertainment discussion)

The Great Dane

that is true but the Superbowl doesn’t pick artists that are 40 years past their use by date. Ffs I’m 47 and can just barely remember the last time KISS had a hit, and that was the last gasp disco number rather than one of the hits from their actual 70s prime.
The NRL aren't the NFL. They don't have the NFL's resources or reach, and have to do the best with what they've got available to them.

Despite their history, relevancy, etc, and whatever we personally think of them, Kiss will be the biggest act in the country when the GF is being played, and that's the only reason they're being discussed at all. We all agree that it'd be great if the NRL could convince one of the biggest current artists to come and do their pre-game show, but that isn't realistic, but it may be realistic to get Kiss to do it while they're in the country anyway.

Mr. Shaman

I’d rather a Joe Galuvao acoustic set or the PENRITH boys marinating their sky friend than KISS.

Steel Saints

It’s a long shot but I wonder if there’s enough room in between seat rows to bring the crowd into it? 80k fans doing the dance would garner attention globally, you’d think.

It might be bumpy performing the dance in between seat rows, but having fan interaction as part of the GF entertainment would certainly be unique. Maybe worth a try.

No you, I, and other footy fans watch the GF for the game, but there're plenty of people whom don't care about the game who might tune in for the pre-game show to watch a particular artist preform, and that benefits all involved from the broadcasters and advertisers to the sport in general and the GF as an event.

The Superbowl is the perfect example of there being undeniable value to the publicity and cross promotion of connecting your product with big acts and celebrities, and that the spectacle of it can enhance the status of the event, and if you think otherwise then, ironically, you're the one that is an out of touch bogan.
Comparing the NRL GF to the Superbowl is one of the bigger stretches I've seen in recent times tbh.

No matter how you spin it though, having this but in makeup is unlikely to sway anyone into tuning in to the GF

tired rod stewart GIF by South Park

SpaceMonkey

The NRL aren't the NFL. They don't have the NFL's resources or reach, and have to do the best with what they've got available to them.

Despite their history, relevancy, etc, and whatever we personally think of them, Kiss will be the biggest act in the country when the GF is being played, and that's the only reason they're being discussed at all. We all agree that it'd be great if the NRL could convince one of the biggest current artists to come and do their pre-game show, but that isn't realistic, but it may be realistic to get Kiss to do it while they're in the country anyway.
Of course the NRL isn’t the NFL- but no reason they can’t get modern, relevant Australian artists to play. I’d rather that than ancient yanks no matter how big they are.

blocka

I reckon Kingswood would be a great Aussie band to rock the GF and they did a Like a Version a few years ago of Destiny’s child and the Go Your Own Way ad, so I reckon they could be up for covering What You Get Is What You See and Simply The Best

Canard

that is true but the Superbowl doesn’t pick artists that are 40 years past their use by date. Ffs I’m 47 and can just barely remember the last time KISS had a hit, and that was the last gasp disco number rather than one of the hits from their actual 70s prime.

The Superbowl has had artists like the Stones, Prince, J-Lo, Shakira, Diana Ross and Aerosmith all well past their prime

what actual band are the young interested in?

modern music left bands behind a decade ago. They are all solo acts that just do collabs with each other.
I wouldn’t say bands have been left behind. It was only a few years ago we saw Gang of Youths playing. While music amongst the young has diversified, there is still the element of the band alive and kicking and landing high in the Hottest 100.

Again in 2018, a young Ruby Fields was smashing through the Triple J scene with Dinosaurs. As a local Cronulla girl, the Sharks would have done well to get her and the band out for a big game.

Definitely some good young bands around to appeal to electric guitar loving folk of all ages.

wazdog

Ok name some then.
You could have any of the following acts as half time entertainment many of which would get non league fans tuning in and potentially international coverage.

Sia
Flume
Avalanches
Kid Laroi
Rufus du Sol
Tame Impala
King Gizzard
Sampha the Great
Vance Joy
DMAs
Ocean Alley
Jungle Giants

I wouldn’t say bands have been left behind. It was only a few years ago we saw Gang of Youths playing. While music amongst the young has diversified, there is still the element of the band alive and kicking and landing high in the Hottest 100.

Again in 2018, a young Ruby Fields was smashing through the Triple J scene with Dinosaurs. As a local Cronulla girl, the Sharks would have done well to get her and the band out for a big game.

Definitely some good young bands around to appeal to electric guitar loving folk of all ages.
Both Danish and yourself are right but there’s definitely less bands. For me, I think the issue is twofold. A lot of kids don’t need to go through the laborious and expensive task of learning an instrument when you can make music through your laptop (probably why there’s more solo acts) and the ones who do, have nowhere to ply their trade because there’s bugger all band venues anymore thanks to pokies and merkins that move next door to a pub and complain about the noise.

Danish

I’m sure there are plenty of great bands around. They are just nowhere near entering the pop culture zeitgeist that is required to make them an option for the broad appeal that is required for an NRL grand final. Hence always having to go back to the well for ageing bands that at least have name recognition.

The NFL Super Bowl is a great example of the fall of bands. They can afford absolutely anyone they want. In actual fact they don’t even pay the acts as they all want to do it purely for prestige. The most modern band act that has played the Super Bowl is Maroon 5. The only other bands that have even performed at the Super Bowl in the last decade are the chilli peppers and Cold Play, and the chilli peppers weren’t the headline. Now compare that to the 2000s where they had bands headlining a majority of years.

the wide popularity of bands is simply gone. Replaced by design by committee overproduced shit that no one really likes (which is why most of the Super Bowl acts in the last 10 years have been well established artists as opposed to anyone new - the Weeknd being the exception).