Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Kiwis Train-on squad

mean_maori_mean

Iafeta said:
Newton would have gone backrow, like Riddell does with Marsh.

That Leuluai comment is friggen beautiful. MMM proving once again what a classy critic he definitely is. This great man should be the club's CEO, or at least Kiwis selector.

Friggin beautifiul - oh yeah well you can save the quote if you want to. Its not my thoughts on the matter, its what I have heard. Though it depends how far wigan go in the esl play-offs if they get kicked out soon - my money will be on thomas.

Yes I think leulauai should be in contention. Jeremy smith (souths) didnt do jack this year - both wiliams and even little eddie paea outshone him.

Fast Eddie

He has been a good performer all season and in a big game he stepped up. If he has a good game in the GF then I think he should get a spot on the bench.

KiWi_BoI_15

Yup Jeremy Smith has been awesome off the bench for the Storm, as well as Jeff Lima.

Very strong bench, esp with Blair in the mix.

Now Kiwis could lose two stars to Roos

Adrian Proszenko | September 23, 2007

FUIFUI Moimoi's decision on which country he will pledge allegiance to - Australia or New Zealand - will influence how Wests Tigers winger Taniela Tuiaki resolves the same dilemma.
Moimoi is in the middle of a tug of war between the Kiwis and the Kangaroos for his services for the October 14 Test following his scintillating late-season form for the Eels. Kiwi officials have guaranteed him selection in their team, while a big game against the Storm today could earn him a Kangaroo call-up.
If the 27-year-old decides to play for Australia, it could effectively rob the Kiwis of two Test players, with housemate and best friend Tuiaki set to follow suit. Tuiaki said the prospect of the pair playing together at origin level made the Australian option attractive.
"If he would play for Australia, then I would probably do the same and follow him," Tuiaki told The Sun-Herald. "He's got the origin thing to think about, too, if he plays for Australia. That's a big thing. It makes it hard to choose which country to play for."
Both players qualify for Australia under the residency rule. Complicating the issue for Moimoi is the fact he has played for New Zealand A and been offered the Tongan captaincy by coach Jim Dymock for the World Cup next year.
Tuiaki would walk into the Kiwis side, but is highly unlikely to come into calculations for the Australian team just yet.
The trans-Tasman battle for the best talent doesn't end there, with Rabbitohs rookies Eddie Paea and Eddy Pettybourne and Eels youngsters Taulima Tautai and Tony Williams being courted by both the Junior Kiwis and Junior Kangaroos.
Moimoi's manager, Roy Spagnolo, said a decision would be made after the Eels' match against the Storm. "He's happy to play for either," Spagnolo said. "[But] before he makes the declaration, he would have to be assured he's definitely going to play for Australia."

http://www.leaguehq.com.au/news/news...881830560.html

mean_maori_mean

Fast Eddie said:
He has been a good performer all season and in a big game he stepped up. If he has a good game in the GF then I think he should get a spot on the bench.

With fa'alogo and SBW out - smith is a cert for the kiwis. Defensively he has alway been strong - comes up with bonecrunchers on the regular - improved heaps on offense this year. Hardworker
Imo he should probably be in the starting 13 - not sure of his stats or anything - but he seems to have a heavy workload and he should fit in with pritchard and however else they pick. I would pick him before eastwood or mannering(in the forwards).

also,
tuiaki deserves the right to play for NZ and he's a nice guy et etc but he definately replaceable - He hasnt fully developed a wingers skill set.
enter fellow tongan kiwi Tame Tupou - both bigger and faster - he has to be in contention especially when we have guys who are not ready for test level (vuna, skd) or guys out of form or fitness (webster and utai).

Manu Vatuvei

mean_maori_mean said:
With fa'alogo and SBW out - smith is a cert for the kiwis. Defensively he has alway been strong - comes up with bonecrunchers on the regular - improved heaps on offense this year. Hardworker
Imo he should probably be in the starting 13 - not sure of his stats or anything - but he seems to have a heavy workload and he should fit in with pritchard and however else they pick. I would pick him before eastwood or mannering(in the forwards).

also,
tuiaki deserves the right to play for NZ and he's a nice guy et etc but he definately replaceable - He hasnt fully developed a wingers skill set.
enter fellow tongan kiwi Tame Tupou - both bigger and faster - he has to be in contention especially when we have guys who are not ready for test level (vuna, skd) or guys out of form or fitness (webster and utai).

Tame Tupou isn't even NRL first grade standard

mean_maori_mean

Thierry Henry said:

nether was tuiaki for first half of the season - most tigers fans wanted him flicked. Pretty sure he has only scored two tries this year.
You realise this year he has been playing half a game on the wing and half a game in the second-row.

Neither is Vuna or SKD. Im fans of both players but they dont deserve to be gift wrapped a kiwi jersey.

Mate Im not saying he is a cert but he has to be considered i.e added to the train-on squad.
Bulls are out.

mean_maori_mean

Thierry Henry said:

nether was tuiaki for first half of the season - most tigers fans wanted him flicked. Pretty sure he has only scored two tries this year.
You realise this year he has been playing half a game on the wing and half a game in the second-row.

Neither is Vuna or SKD. Im fans of both players but they dont deserve to be gift wrapped a kiwi jersey. So not ready for test footy

Mate Im not saying he is a cert but he has to be considered i.e added to the train-on squad.
Bulls are out.

Manu Vatuvei

What? He has scored 8 tries this year.

You have a very creative way of interpreting things sometimes.

I'm sure Tuiaki copped some criticism early in his career, but thus far it has been a raging success really. Hasn't been out of first grade all year and is a household name in league circles, played every game this year.

Tupou on the other hand left the Broncos because he was a specialist Queensland Cup player.

JB

Fast Eddie said:

TBH i think he should be in before Kidwell. DK wouldn't have the match fitness to last a high intensity test match, while Smith appeals as a hard working, punishing defender. Could complement Pritchard quite well.

mean_maori_mean

Thierry Henry said:
What? He has scored 8 tries this year.

You have a very creative way of interpreting things sometimes.

I'm sure Tuiaki copped some criticism early in his career, but thus far it has been a raging success really. Hasn't been out of first grade all year and is a household name in league circles, played every game this year.

Tupou on the other hand left the Broncos because he was a specialist Queensland Cup player.

Well specialist QLD CUp player :
Well he's played three or so tests for kiwis
In 2006 - he played the majority of the season and pretty sure he was leading try scorer for broncos or close to it 12 or 13 tries.
He fell out with benett - betcha benett wish they played him b'coz those young bronco clones were crap.

Copped criticism early in his career - what are you on about he only made his debut last year - more like early in the season.

Well lets pick him because:

1) hasnt been out of first grade all year - Tigers havent had a good winger since pat richards left. Have you seen Fitzhenry play?? Anybody could get a run on tigers winger that why they are linked to signing skinny byrne.
Broncos are a hard team to crack when you piss-off bennett.

2) household name in league circles - what for being moimoi's lover and b'coz he doesnt now what country he wants to play for. Mate of course he has that token factor he is a wrecking ball.

3) played every game this year - you already said that one

Mate I am a tiger supporter and watch all their games - and tuiaki has put in heaps of effort each week but far from a polished "WINGER" - in case you didnt note he has being moved to second-row during most matches this season.

I think he deserves to make the kiwi test team with vatuvei out. BUT he is far from a MUST. I like the ways he plays in general and i am actually a fan of the mighty TNT(u would have to be if you supported the tigers this year).
All i am saying u mong is that we dont have to worry about 'winning him over' -tupou is just as good as tuiaki - he could be his identiical twin.

Tupou is a monster winger - im 6'2 and he towered over me. He would offer the same value as tuiaki - he just had a bad year.
If we were too lose tuiaki for good to tonga or aussie - he could offer the same services in the future.

I would put Tupou in before SKD, Vuna

mean_maori_mean

Players added to the train-on squad:

Cowboys:
David Faiumu

Eels:
Krisnan Inu, Nathan Cayless, Fuifui Moimoi

Bulls:
Shontayne Hape and Tame Tupou.

Though Cayless is out for test and most likely the tour with an expected torn pectoral muscle.
Sounds like Jeff Lima will get done at judiciary for the tackle (he has done it before) also heaps of possible injuries for the storm.

Which means Adam Blair should be brought back into the team after being out of FG for the finals series , also means another kiwi in Sam Tagataese might get a game.