Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Kiwis Train-on squad

So looking at who has been named so far, it might look a little like :

1. Perrett
2. Stanley
3. Hape
4. Inu
5. Tuiaki
6. Chase
7. Smith
8. Faiumu
10. N. Cayless
11. Pritchard
12. Kidwell
13. Smith

14.Luke
15.Rapira
16.Blair / Moimoi
17.Mannering

KiWi_BoI_15

Good lookin team there Mix, i just cringe at seeing Kidwells name there. Id have Smith pair with Pritchard, Eastwood into lock.

Still quite a strong backrow without Williams in there.

Revelation 3:20

I dont agree with what MoiMoi is doing, saying "whoever picks me first yayaya....
i'l be happy to play for either...."

Pick already

NZ Warrior

Mixmasterreece said:
So looking at who has been named so far, it might look a little like :

1. Perrett
2. Stanley
3. Hape
4. Inu
5. Tuiaki
6. Chase
7. Smith
8. Faiumu
10. N. Cayless
11. Pritchard
12. Kidwell
13. Smith

14.Luke
15.Rapira
16.Blair / Moimoi
17.Mannering

Gutsy move putting Faiumu in at Prop and going without a hooker. I like your balls.

KiWi_BoI_15

Geez, its a harder choice then u think Rev 3:20.

Hes not only picking his rep future, but also his buddy Tuiakis as well..lol.

NZ Warrior said:
Gutsy move putting Faiumu in at Prop and going without a hooker. I like your balls.

Hahaha ok crap.

Ok :

1. Perrett
2. Stanley
3. Hape
4. Inu
5. Tuiaki
6. Chase
7. Smith
8. Aostasi
9. Faiumu
10. N. Cayless
11. Pritchard
12. Kidwell
13. Smith

14.Luke
15.Rapira
16.Blair / Moimoi
17.Mannering

Jesbass

mean_maori_mean said:
Players added to the train-on squad:

Cowboys:
David Faiumu

Eels:
Krisnan Inu, Nathan Cayless, Fuifui Moimoi

Bulls:
Shontayne Hape and Tame Tupou.

Though Cayless is out for test and most likely the tour with an expected torn pectoral muscle.
Sounds like Jeff Lima will get done at judiciary for the tackle (he has done it before) also heaps of possible injuries for the storm.

Which means Adam Blair should be brought back into the team after being out of FG for the finals series , also means another kiwi in Sam Tagataese might get a game.

I take it your bolding of Tame Tupou's name is supposed to say he has been in good form, and thus deserves to be selsected? I haven't seen much if any of Tupou's play this season, but I know from Whatuira's selection that form doesn't always come into the equation. ;)

Manu Vatuvei

mean_maori_mean said:
Well specialist QLD CUp player :
Well he's played three or so tests for kiwis
In 2006 - he played the majority of the season and pretty sure he was leading try scorer for broncos or close to it 12 or 13 tries.
He fell out with benett - betcha benett wish they played him b'coz those young bronco clones were crap.

Copped criticism early in his career - what are you on about he only made his debut last year - more like early in the season.

Well lets pick him because:

1) hasnt been out of first grade all year - Tigers havent had a good winger since pat richards left. Have you seen Fitzhenry play?? Anybody could get a run on tigers winger that why they are linked to signing skinny byrne.
Broncos are a hard team to crack when you piss-off bennett.

2) household name in league circles - what for being moimoi's lover and b'coz he doesnt now what country he wants to play for. Mate of course he has that token factor he is a wrecking ball.

3) played every game this year - you already said that one

Mate I am a tiger supporter and watch all their games - and tuiaki has put in heaps of effort each week but far from a polished "WINGER" - in case you didnt note he has being moved to second-row during most matches this season.

I think he deserves to make the kiwi test team with vatuvei out. BUT he is far from a MUST. I like the ways he plays in general and i am actually a fan of the mighty TNT(u would have to be if you supported the tigers this year).
All i am saying u mong is that we dont have to worry about 'winning him over' -tupou is just as good as tuiaki - he could be his identiical twin.

Tupou is a monster winger - im 6'2 and he towered over me. He would offer the same value as tuiaki - he just had a bad year.
If we were too lose tuiaki for good to tonga or aussie - he could offer the same services in the future.

I would put Tupou in before SKD, Vuna

Tuiaki isn't a polished winger, but Tupou is even less polished.

Tuiaki was named by the PLAYERS as the hardest guy to tackle in the game, hence his being a household name.

Manu Vatuvei

Given that apparently ESL players are available, Webb will be a certainty for fullback won't he?

I suspect Perrett might be the unlucky one to miss out because of that. I'd also prefer Inu on the wing than centre at the moment. As unpopular as it this seems to be, I still reckon Mannering should be centre, with Tuiaki outside him, similar to the Mannering-Vatuvei combo. Then you could have Hape/Inu on the other side, very classy.

Fast Eddie

Yeah I guess it comes down to Whatuira/Tuaki or Mannering/Tuaki and I'd say that Mannering has probably had the better year. Hape/Inu is a great combo.

Fast Eddie said:
Yeah I guess it comes down to Whatuira/Tuaki or Mannering/Tuaki and I'd say that Mannering has probably had the better year. Hape/Inu is a great combo.

I'd rather watch us lose, blooding new some new players who may have a future in the kiwis (and thus securing their services before some wanker gets in their ear about origin).

Than,

Lose, while playing guys arent in great form in the first place, and who will be lost to the kiwis for the majority of the rest of their careers in the ESL.

KiWi_BoI_15 said:
Geez, its a harder choice then u think Rev 3:20.

Hes not only picking his rep future, but also his buddy Tuiakis as well..lol.

This is true, but hes not picking a club, its country

He's either Kiwi or an Aussie (or tongan)

But its dragging out, its not the type of thing you tell the media

Manu Vatuvei

1. Webb
2. Inu
3. Hape
4. Mannering
5. Tuiaki

imo

Cayless/Asotasi/Moimoi/Rapira as the prop rotation

I reckon Faiumu and Eastwood should be the other 2 benchies, we need a sub hooker and of course we also need someone if a back gets injured, Eastwood is ideal for that.

I would prefer Luke starting because he is a proper hooker, but it wouldn't surprise me if Faiumu starts and maybe Luke is on the bench.

The starting backrow, well- I'd like Pritchard, Louis Anderson and Bronson Harrison. But Vinnie Anderson, Jeremy Smith, Teo, whoever, they'd probably all do a job.

Halves are gonna be dud, but I'd go Chase/Smith.

NZ Warrior

I really don't think Mannering has had the type of season that would command a Kiwis jersey. If he gets one, then someone has been screwed.

Manu Vatuvei

Who, exactly?

A lot of people want Inu to play centre and he's never played a game there in first grade.

Steve Matai- hmmmm. Fair enough. I'll accept that.

NZ Warrior said:
I really don't think Mannering has had the type of season that would command a Kiwis jersey. If he gets one, then someone has been screwed.

I think we might find Mannering on the bench, because he can cover centre, wing and second row
but it will be a battle between him a hape, very similar players, and Hape hasnt been playn for ages, just that last game.

Fast Eddie

I don't think Matai will be available for the tour. With the amount of injurys he is carrying I'd say there is some end of season surgery coming up.