5th mate, about where we should be at this stage. Point still stands, tremendous turnaround.We are third in Sportsbet odds at $18. Big change.
It’s a shame both Fitzgibbon and Young are leaving when Newcastle are finally building something more than just a fringe top 8 side.Regardless of whether we win any games in the finals, unbelievable effort to make it to a home semi.
I hope the team is a little more ambitious than you are. At the end of the day it's 4 games of football that they need to believe they can win.It’s a shame both Fitzgibbon and Young are leaving when Newcastle are finally building something more than just a fringe top 8 side.
Any win in the finals this year is going to be a bonus. It’s near impossible to win it from outside the top 4.
Newcastle should be using this year as a springboard and aim for top 4 finish next season.
Taking one week off and then playing with a high grade AC joint injury (likely a full tear of a ligament)... I just can't really see him playing at 100% with it, needle or otherwise. I'm not a doctor so maybe I'm wrong.Sounds like KP is likely to be available for week 1 of the finals but would need to be needled for it. Not the worst outcome. Hopefully he’s able to have an impact on the finals. It would be gutting to go on this amazing streak to get to the finals then not have our best player available for the actual finals matches.
Reading that, he's certainly up against it, but it's not outside the realm of feasibility. IF it's manageable with needles quickly and IF he can play at the level we've been seeing with it then maybe things will be ok. Lots of "ifs" and "maybes". At least it isn't impossible, I guess.
He's the gift that just keeps on giving to this club. Cannot stand the bloke. Tosser of the highest order.F#*£ING Ramien.... Someone go at least key his car.
Taking one week off and then playing with a high grade AC joint injury (likely a full tear of a ligament)... I just can't really see him playing at 100% with it, needle or otherwise. I'm not a doctor so maybe I'm wrong.
Every single player on the opposition team will be squaring that shoulder up and letting rip, and be entirely entitled to do so.
It'll either need surgery or be a long and slow recovery I think. I dunno how much difference 1, 2, 3 weeks is gonna make. Again, not a doctor, but i've done ligaments before and... they don't heal overnight.He will be back for the finals I reckon but my main concern is he will (understandably) go into his shell a bit and not be as effective. I guess if we can grind out a win in week 1 with him playing a minimal role, he will only recover more week to week right?
I think it's a case of the damage is already done and, as long as it's stable and the pain can be managed, it's not likely to get any worse without actually tearing his shoulder/arm off.Ponga has been a totally different player mentally the past 2 months so I don't think he will go into his shell at all. If anything I think he enjoys the physical battle. I'd be more worried he injuries his shoulder even worse and won't be available at all week 2 of finals.
That was also the last time the richest club with the most resources in the NRL won a compLast time we played a home semi, I took an 18yo Japanese exchange student. He's now married and his 2nd child is 10.
Assuming those two teams are Penrith and Brisbane?I hope the team is a little more ambitious than you are. At the end of the day it's 4 games of football that they need to believe they can win.
I agree, week 2 would be an incredible achievement given where we've come from. I don't see why they're not capable of more than that. No-one wants to play us in the finals right now. When I look at the ladder, the form of everyone, etc... I only really see two teams that I wouldn't think we could beat on the day.
Is KP the kind of player that can drag a team deep into the finals? We're paying him as such, and he looks the good to me.
Edit - Ok i've just got up to date on Pongas injury. Yeah, looks like not this year sadly.
Yup. I think it would be hubris to have any sort of confidence against those two in finals footy mode. The rest feel beatable to me and I could at least go into the match thinking we're a real chance here. That isn't to say it's impossible, just very unlikely.Assuming those two teams are Penrith and Brisbane?