Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Knights - Finals 2023

Apey

I'd be confident in a regular season game against them. Finals is different for sure. I'd be more worried about Brisbane than Penrith tbh. Maybe they've been saving themselves for the finals but they've mostly just been plodding along since they beat the Storm. Close game against Manly, a big win over the Titans (which blew out, it was 22 - 14 after 65 mins) and a loss to Eels.

Woosh

Head Moderator
I hope the team is a little more ambitious than you are. At the end of the day it's 4 games of football that they need to believe they can win.

I agree, week 2 would be an incredible achievement given where we've come from. I don't see why they're not capable of more than that. No-one wants to play us in the finals right now. When I look at the ladder, the form of everyone, etc... I only really see two teams that I wouldn't think we could beat on the day.

Is KP the kind of player that can drag a team deep into the finals? We're paying him as such, and he looks the good to me.

Edit - Ok i've just got up to date on Pongas injury. Yeah, looks like not this year sadly.

I can see Newcastle getting through the first 2 weeks of the finals but after that I just can’t see it. Especially if they have to play the Panthers on the back of a week’s break in a preliminary on a dewy ground at Bluebet.
Newcastle will be well and truly battered and bruised come week 3 of the finals. To beat Penrith the side needs to be as fresh as a daisy. They will just suffocate Newcastle into submission with their defence and won’t let Newcastle played their style.

I think a better matchup for Newcastle would be against the Broncos at Suncorp Stadium on a dry track in a shootout.
The Broncos can leak points on their edges.
They have real attacking threats in Cobbo and Staggs but apply pressure to them they can come up with crucial errors going for Hail Mary plays.

macavity

Hard to see anything other than a Panthers/Broncos GF, but finals usually throw up something.

Nuke

Fri: Penrith vs Melbourne in Penrith
Sat: Newcastle vs Canberra in Newcastle (loser eliminated)
Sat: Brisbane vs NZ in Brisbane
Sun: Cronulla vs Sydney at (hopefully...) SFS (loser eliminated)

^^ That's all if results this weekend go the way I think they will.

Nuke

So now it's changed a bit with Dolphins beating Warriors today.

Fri: Penrith vs NZ
Sat: Newcastle vs (probably) Canberra
Sat: Brisbane vs Melbourne
Sun: (probably) Cronulla vs (probably) Roosters

Apey

We can only play Raiders or Roosters in Week 1 now, most likely Raiders.

Zoidberg

Schedule wise I actually don't think this is what they will do.

They will put broncos on Friday allowing an earlier start on Saturday for Penrith/warriors to suit NZ TV meaning your game will be Sunday arvo.
I’d prefer that we play Sunday arvo. Saves me from calling in sick for work on Saturday night.

slotmachine

Schedule wise I actually don't think this is what they will do.

They will put broncos on Friday allowing an earlier start on Saturday for Penrith/warriors to suit NZ TV meaning your game will be Sunday arvo.

Agree on Friday night broncos but I think Panthers might get Sunday

I reckon we can beat any team in the comp but whether we can beat all that are left is a big ask.
Years ago when we made a run to the finals with consecutive wins then bowed out I was happy. I should be happy with what has been achieved so far but I'm expecting miracles.

I reckon we can beat any team in the comp but whether we can beat all that are left is a big ask.
Years ago when we made a run to the finals with consecutive wins then bowed out I was happy. I should be happy with what has been achieved so far but I'm expecting miracles.
It's not reasonable to expect miracles, but I think it's reasonable to have hope at this point. It's possible, just highly unlikely. If it was likely, it wouldn't be a miracle.

I'm really excited about this final series because ultimately it's the first time in 15-20 years that I've dared to dream. It's said that the competition can't be won from outside the top 4, but if you were going to make history and do it - the 9 weeks we've had leading into the finals is how it would start.

Jono078

It's just about a lock that we'll be playing the Raiders at home next Saturday.

A tough game but we have the form.

Apey

I mean if Ponga is fit and we're fair dinkum we should win that 13+. Raiders are terrible.