Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Leagues club AGM 2012

I always liked smithy :) ... pats on the back for me :lol:

every coach has their used by date - some just go off quicker than others

Wally21

Because they expected to be allowed to form a lynch mob?

Do you think the prime minister should be forced to sit and listen to a gang of disgruntled voters hurl abuse at her disguised as questions?

You can't please everyone.

The answer to your question is yes. They, be it politicians or sports club board members are elected to represent their community. The day they stop listening to wha the people who have elected them say, abuse or not, they have become so egotistical and arrogant, they have moved to becoming irrelevant and will eventually be found out and shown the door.

The quickest way to the exit for these egomaniacs is to start believing they know better than the people who elected them.

Ratchy

it is also a lot harder to win when you haven't done shit for years - Bills, Browns, Bengals, Dolphins.

The Bengals have made the play offs 2 out of the last 3 years and last won the AFC North 2 seasons ago, that is not doing shit for years.

Secondly alot of the reasons teams struggle in the NFL and American sports in general is because for whatever reasons they have spare room in salary cap or decide on lower payrolls. Can't compare US sports to the NRL it's completely 2 different set ups...deadset :roll:

Kenny

I was at the AGM. The questions asked by some of the punters (if you can call them questions) were cringeworthy. You'd think that with the weeks they had to prepare their questions they could have come up with something better than "Hindy can you guarantee you will give your best for the rest of the year" or "why don't you acknowledge your fans after the game". The punters sharing their game plans, which I am sure I saw printed in the Daily Telegraph, were quite entertaining too.

I am sure some better questions would have come up but due to time restrictions placed by Spags we will never know.

Captain BF

I was at the AGM. The questions asked by some of the punters (if you can call them questions) were cringeworthy. You'd think that with the weeks they had to prepare their questions they could have come up with something better than "Hindy can you guarantee you will give your best for the rest of the year" or "why don't you acknowledge your fans after the game". The punters sharing their game plans, which I am sure I saw printed in the Daily Telegraph, were quite entertaining too.

I am sure some better questions would have come up but due to time restrictions placed by Spags we will never know.
Can't agree more. Just awful. Why Hindy had to stand there and cop "Hindy can you guarantee you will give your best for the rest of the year" from some deadbeat is beyond me. I now understand why they screen questions at the Fan forums that they have had in the past.

Ratchy

Nolan on the other hand sounded like he knew what he was doing.

Out of all the doom and gloom at the moment Nolan is a major positive. The bloke knows his shit when you see the likes of Gillett, Yow Yeh, Reed etc all playing major roles in the current Broncos squad he pulled off the scrap heap pretty much.

Thanks for the reports everyone. It seemed it didn't really achieve much - what the fans want was never going to happen but kudos to those who turned up.

the problem that we had was that it was Leagues Club AGM, not a footy forum, therefore there was so much other stuff to get through in such a short space of time, the Q&A to the players and coaching staff were a complete and total waste of time but as few pointed out, Peter Nolan, yet again, conducted himself like a true professional whilst Hindy (who spoke on behalf of the players) and Kearney were almost pleading for forgiveness.

yes, the questions were cringeworthy and the moron who almost insulted our captain on stage didn't help either.

I gotta run to work however im sure MITS and or emjaycee can touch on the Agendas that took place such as the possible proposal to market the sale of Vikings which was also comical..at some point today or this evening.

Predictable that the AGM was a shambles I guess.

Also predictable that two of the Three Amigos were swift into damage control and deflecting criticism here last night.

Just a question for those who attended. Were the 8 questions (LOL) off the floor chosen at random or were they pre-selected ?

For the sake of the club, we need to jag a few wins over the next 6 weeks and make some decent player signing announcements to drag us out of the ever descending whirlpool that we now find ourselves. Otherwise the (most loyal in the NRL) fans will start to drop off in their 1,000s.

My son (13) has lost interest to the point that he just asks me after a match how much we lost by. Has little interest in attending matches because he says they don't try. Call that fickle, but I would say that his attitude is representative of maybe 60% of our fan base.

Parramatta Eels squad forced to front club's annual general meeting

SOME wanted to know why expensive recruit Chris Sandow had been dumped to NSW Cup.

Others labelled the Eels style of football "too Melbourne Storm-like" and "boring".
One fan stood on the steps of Parramatta Leagues Club, broke down and cried before she pulled back her shirt to reveal a pair of giant Eels tattoos on her front and back. Most notably, there were repeated calls for former player and coach Jason Taylor to replace Stephen Kearney.
In the end, 300 long-suffering Parramatta fans were given the rare chance to ask the players why their start to the 2012 NRL season had sadly become the club's worst in 52 years. Sure, the supporters will wake up this morning knowing Parramatta are still anchored at the bottom of the ladder.
But, said skipper Nathan Hindmarsh, hopefully they could now realise the frustrations the players experienced, and how they, too, were desperate to stop the rot.
Hindmarsh said the biggest concern that kept being raised was straight-forward.
"Obviously where we're sitting on the table and why," Hindmarsh said. "And that's the question we are all trying to answer in our own way. We're training, doing the extra work, extra video, extra conditioning sessions.
"A good season for us will be to make the eight. That's what every team in the NRL wants. To finish in the eight is a OK season.
"At the moment all we want to do is play good footy week in and week out. I think we can turn it around."
One thing Hindmarsh made clear was under-siege Kearney was the man to lead Parramatta out of the horrible mess.
Kearney refused to speak to the media as he emerged from the club just after 9pm, looking like a man completely lost for answers and the weight of the world on his broad shoulders.
"People don't see the work (Kearney) does and the game plans he gives us," Hindmarsh said.
"It's up to us to stick to the game plans. The bits of rugby league when we've played well, that's when we're sticking to the game plan. The team gives him our support, 100 per cent, no questions asked. There was passion (tonight). They want a team that's winning, and we understand their frustration. As players we want to win games as well. We took their questions on board."
Origin selector: Pick your NSW State of Origin team and win
Not all supporters could see the light at the end of the tunnel, including Michael Pritchard, a fan for 37 years who said: "I can't see Kearney keeping his job if we don't win at least half our games. We need to cut our losses. And for me, Jason Taylor is the man."
George Abouhamad, 24, said the Eels needed to throw the ball around, and keep high-profile No.7 purchase Chris Sandow in first grade.
Every player was forced to attend the AGM - a first for all the squad - and the hope is the meet-and-greet will have the desired effect when they travel to Canberra on Sunday in search of just their second win in 10 games. Some in the room were still baffled why the players would be humiliated by being asked to turn up.
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/n...-general-meeting/story-e6frfgbo-1226350469734

Under-fire Eels face wrath of members

Parramatta's Stephen Kearney looked every bit a coach under pressure as he ran from the media pack after the club's annual general meeting where players and the coach fronted around 300 members.
Both Kearney and captain Nathan Hindmarsh addressed and fielded questions from members as part of Tuesday night's meeting.
The Eels' 46-12 loss to Canterbury on Friday ensured Parramatta has made the worst start to a season in 52 years and some supporters are fed up and let their first grade mentor know about it.
Longtime member Michael Pritchard does not believe Kearney is the right man to steer the Eels and said there were plenty of others like him in the meeting.
"Some people got up and asked some stupid questions ... a lot of personal stuff and they said they wouldn't let that go ahead," he said.
"A couple of supporters got up and told him (Kearney) they didn't think he was the right man to coach and wouldn't let him (Kearney) talk anymore."
Pritchard and a number of other members expressed extreme disappointment at Kearney's decision to drop Eels fan favourite and club stalwart Luke Burt earlier in the season.
Hindmarsh fronted the media outside the Parramatta Leagues Club.
"I got up there and said a few words about how we're trying hard and we're trying to work our way out of it and that we've got great coaching staff who give us all the right tools but at the end of the day it's up to the players to do the job and we're not doing it," Hindmarsh said.
"It's a group effort, coaching staff and team and players together, so we're all copping it on the chin."
The club released a statement of what Kearney told members.
"It has been the worst start for this football club in 50 or so years, and frankly some of our performances have been totally unacceptable," Kearney said.
"I make no excuses on our part, the facts are we have simply not been good enough.
"I take responsibility for where we are as a team; I also take the responsibility for leading us out of this difficult situation we find ourselves in."
Hindmarsh said there was more passion than anger in the fans and he thought it was a worthwhile exercise.
"They want a team that's winning and we understand the frustration as players we want to be winning games as well and we took their questions on board," he said.
"They (fans) got some questions out there they wanted answered and I think it was worthwhile."
AAP
http://www.abc.net.au/news/2012-05-09/under-fire-eels-face-wrath-of-members/3999722?section=nsw

Keep the faith: embattled Kearney urges fans to stick solid

BESIEGED coach Stephen Kearney fronted a disgruntled group of Eels fans at Parramatta's annual general meeting last night, pleading with them to believe in his vision.
There were no excuses, just a heartfelt plea to the Parramatta faithful to stick by the embattled football team he said should be striving for the top four on a yearly basis.
After chairman Roy Spagnolo spent the first hour of the night discussing matters relating to the operation of the leagues club, the elephant in the room was finally addressed.

Almost 1000 club members waited in anticipation to hear what Kearney had to say, and when he got up, so too did his players.
It was a move straight out of Storm counterpart Craig Bellamy's book on how to deal with adversity, as all in the NRL squad stood behind Kearney, united as one as their leader left himself vulnerable to attack.
''I take responsibility of where we are as a football team, I also take full responsibility for leading this group of men out of this situation that we're in,'' Kearney said.
''I've had to make some tough decisions over the last 18 months, I have no doubt I have to make some even tougher ones in the coming weeks. Every decision I make, I make for the benefit of the team, and ultimately, the better of the football club.''
But, as expected after a 1-8 start to the season, not everyone was taken by Kearney's words.
After Kearney, skipper Nathan Hindmarsh and recruitment manager Peter Nolan addressed the large gathering, it was open to the members to ask the questions they'd been yearning to hear answered.
It didn't take long, the second question to be exact, before Kearney found himself under fire.
''I'm sorry, I just can't support the coach Stephen Kearney,'' one member said before a handful of fans began applauding.
He continued, saying, ''From the moment you came to the club'', but Spagnolo intervened and deemed the member's comments inappropriate.
The unhappy Parramatta fan later went on to question the style of play the Eels have adopted under Kearney, questioning the decision to play a ''one-out'' brand of rugby league, which Kearney disagreed with.
''If you look at last year, you'll have to ask Matty Keating and the forwards, but I don't believe we were running one-out,'' Kearney replied.
''You might think that but if I go into the details of the game plan and how we want to play the game, we'll be here all night. But we're not running one-out, mate.''
On a night that should hit home to the players, it wasn't all doom and gloom, with some members expressing their support for Kearney, albeit with a little bit of coaching advice for the World Cup-winning Kiwi coach.
''Firstly, I think Stephen Kearney's the right coach, but there's too much one-out football, we've got to pass the ball a lot, we've got to offload,'' he said before Kearney jokingly interrupted and asked: ''Is your name Jason Taylor?''.
''Like 2009, that's how you should play. You've got to run off Chris Sandow, you've got a good five-eighth, you've got the best fullback.''
While Kearney was adamant the buck had to stop with him, Hindmarsh said it was time for the players to take some responsibility.
''Steve gives us the best game plan every week, along with his coaching staff. We do all the video we need to … but at the end of the day it's up to us players to get the job done,'' he said.
''At the moment Steve is taking a bit too much grief here. It's up to the players, once we cross that white line, it's our job to make the tackles, it's our job to complete the sets.''

Stephen Kearney walks a tightrope, but when will he be pushed?

Columnist
By David Lord,

Stephen Kearney is leading a charmed life as Parramatta’s rugby league coach, thanks to club chairman Roy Spagnolo.
Any coach with a 41-game record for only eight wins – winning just 19% – should expect to be punted far sooner than later.
But Kearney, the youngest of the NRL coaches at 39, has the public support of Spagnolo, normally the “kiss of death”. So far, so good?
Not for Parramatta’s faithful, yearning for the good old days of the 1980s, when Jack Gibson coached the Eels to three successive premierships in as many years, and John Monie’s 1986 success, the only four NRL premierships Parramatta has ever won.
The faithful would even settle for Brian Smith, who reached the 2001 grand final, only to lose 30-24 to the Newcastle Knights. Or the last grand final appearance in 2009 with Daniel Anderson, in the 23-16 loss to the Storm.
A fat lot of good that did Anderson, sacked at the end of 2010 with a win ratio of 56% over two years. That sure beats the daylights out of 19%, but it didn’t save Anderson from being shown the exit door in favour of Kearney.
Bad call.
Last night Kearney faced the music in front of a Parramatta AGM crowd of roughly a 1,000, pleading with them to keep the faith and believe in his vision. You’ve got to admire Kearney’s courage, he really didn’t have a leg to stand on to plead for anything.
One faithful rose to his feet to question Kearney’s ability to coach. Spagnolo stepped in immediately, deeming the question “inappropriate”.

Hardly. It was arguably the most appropriate question of the night.

Parramatta’s iconic captain Nathan Hindmarsh later supported Kearney, adding it was the player’s fault the club was heading for the wooden spoon, not the coach.
Pity Kearney hasn’t shown his skipper the same respect.
Kearney has benched Hindmarsh, a career 80-minute player, early in this his last of 15 stellar seasons where Hindmarsh is the club’s most capped player with 325 and rising, and holds the phenomenal NRL record of 10,000-plus tackles, also rising, to go with his 23 Kangaroo caps, and 17 Origins.
Coach, you simply don’t treat legends like that. Kearney can’t blame the faithful for feeling angry in so many ways.
New signings Chris Sandow and Ben Roberts beg more questions. Sandow came from South Sydney as a very good player – Roberts the same from the Bulldogs. During the pre-season Roberts said: “To be playing with Chris and the new side is exciting”.
Not any more. Their form has slumped so alarmingly they have almost disappeared without trace.

Why is the question? Good players don’t become ordinary players overnight without a damn good reason.

The buck stops with Stephen Kearney. He survived last night, but what about the tomorrows?

Jason Taylor would be the faithful’s choice to head back to Eels’ territory for a second stint.
The first, as an interim coach, was 2006 with 16 games for 10 wins – 62%. Those stats are far more appealing and faithful friendly.
http://www.theroar.com.au/2012/05/09/stephen-kearney-walks-a-tightrope-but-when-will-he-be-pushed/

I bleed blue & gold

As it has already been mentioned, Hindmarsh did not look happy, but answered questions well. Kearney also spoke well. Hayne had a blank look on his face the whole time the team was standing up, while you could barely see Chrissy behind the Mannah boys lol. One thing that was good was the round of applause Jonny recieved from the members. For my first agm experience it wasnt bad.

I bleed blue & gold

the problem that we had was that it was Leagues Club AGM, not a footy forum, therefore there was so much other stuff to get through in such a short space of time, the Q&A to the players and coaching staff were a complete and total waste of time but as few pointed out, Peter Nolan, yet again, conducted himself like a true professional whilst Hindy (who spoke on behalf of the players) and Kearney were almost pleading for forgiveness.

yes, the questions were cringeworthy and the moron who almost insulted our captain on stage didn't help either.

I gotta run to work however im sure MITS and or emjaycee can touch on the Agendas that took place such as the possible proposal to market the sale of Vikings which was also comical..at some point today or this evening.

ah, i thought you were there. #imnotastalker

And that once again highlights the ridiculous setup that we have going! :crazy:

Of course its a Leagues CLub AGM so there needs to be time to talk about the physical club, its books, its financial situation investments etc etc

Oh but we don't really have much time to talk about how the NRL thing is going ... thats just some side thing that can't be talked about anywhere else cos nowhere else is really relevant cos the Leagues Club actually controls the NRL stuff - unless we decide to put on a footy forum once in a blue moon (at a time convenient to our situation).

We don't have time to talk about the thing that is the reason for the club's existance in the first place, the reason that most ppl who turn up to the AGM actually joined.

Its stupid.

I read with interest the run down on the AGM on nospam46.

One item that hasn't been mentioned here so far are the contracts awarded to Sid Kelly Flooring and Libertini's La Piazza.

Also the newly passed resolutions that afforded directors various financial benefits for representing the club.

Etu Uaisele

ALL MEMBERS PLEASE TAKE NOTE: that as per Clause 27 (b) of the Constitution of Parramatta Leagues Club Limited, only those financial Club members that have held continuous Club membership for a period of three (3) years as at the date of the Annual General Meeting, being 8 May 2012, are eligible to attend and to vote.

Ummmm yep . Think we've established that , but cheers .