Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Leichhardt

hutch

The NRL dominated board can say what they like. When Balmain default, Wests get first option on buying them out. If they elect to do so, no more NRL independent board. No more Leichhardt. It's a possibility. Tool.

If this was to happen, it would not be in the best interests of the Wests Tigers. So let's hope it doesn't!

BuffaloRules

Interestingly enough Danoz, I don't necessarily see it happening that way if Wests Ashfield take over. Ashfield is comparatively closer to LO, and it would stand to reason that they would seek to still support LO as it is closer to the Maggies original homeland of the inner west.

I guess time will tell though.

+1

It might change one day but not next year

DanOz

Interestingly enough Danoz, I don't necessarily see it happening that way if Wests Ashfield take over. Ashfield is comparatively closer to LO, and it would stand to reason that they would seek to still support LO as it is closer to the Maggies original homeland of the inner west.

I guess time will tell though.

It's not about geography though mate, its about dollars. Leichhardt is not profitable. ANZ is. And whilst Ctown is not profitable either, if Wests opt to buy Balmain out it will be with Wests Ctown coming back on board which will guarantee its survival.

Time will tell what happens. Lucky for former Balmain fans the Wests group has committed to the Wests Tigers brand. But there may be a restructure if they buy Balmain out, and it may finally become the merger people mistakenly call it instead of a Joint Venture.

I would love to see the club move back to self determination. Having the NRL involved is not in our best interests. What if the NRL decide that relocation to Perth is in our best interests? As it stands, they run the board...

It's not about geography though mate, its about dollars. Leichhardt is not profitable. ANZ is. And whilst Ctown is not profitable either, if Wests opt to buy Balmain out it will be with Wests Ctown coming back on board which will guarantee its survival.

Time will tell what happens. Lucky for former Balmain fans the Wests group has committed to the Wests Tigers brand. But there may be a restructure if they buy Balmain out, and it may finally become the merger people mistakenly call it instead of a Joint Venture.

I would love to see the club move back to self determination. Having the NRL involved is not in our best interests. What if the NRL decide that relocation to Perth is in our best interests? As it stands, they run the board...

I think its all about dollars. Just relocate to ANZ.

Tigerted

As we've degenerated into the most dysfunctional rabble imaginable I have a strong hunch that the nrl are going to compel us to relocate out of sydney & very likely to Perth as this would certainly allow the nrl to up there product value substantially when negotiating with fox & commercial tv.

I'd luv a miracle in short -term & for us to turn things around so as to keep the dickheads & nrl of our backs but the depth of ineptitude on & of the field with this club beggars belief.Good luck to gentleman mick potter as he never deserved to be caught up in this appalling predicament !!

The club doesn't own Leichhardt.

And if they did they wouldn't get much for it, if they could sell it at all.

The NRL dominated board can say what they like. When Balmain default, Wests get first option on buying them out. If they elect to do so, no more NRL independent board. No more Leichhardt. It's a possibility. Tool.

Wests Ashfield want Wests Tigers.

If Balmain default, i imagine only the Balmain half of the merge is up for sale, but not the NRL licence, thus it will stay as the Wests Tigers

weretiger

:crazy:

self determination is what got the two teams into a joint venture and that was because wests were a basket case and balmain were a rabble and you think a wests take over is going to fix things ,we could look forward to filling our trophy cabinet with wooden spoons for years to come. Packed orana park on a sunday arvo getting beat by 50 it does not get any better, ,wow cant wait for the west takeover.

If it's about dollars, all games will be held at ANZ I would imagine.

I'm not averse to playing more games at Campbelltown, I just want whatever will keep the club solvent in the meantime until we can get the scratch together to set up full time in Campbelltown. It stands to reason that if we continue to play games at LO and CSS, we are spending money we don't have.

I agree with your sentiments about self determination. I think it is in the best interests of the club that Balmain part ways, that way there is one governing body. Wests Ashfield will respect the Balmain & Wests heritage, they'll respect that Wests Tigers should be it's own entity, and not an extension of either former club and most importantly, they know how to run a business successfully. Having the NRL there for the interim is not a bad move as it has removed the factional bullshit while Balmain are in their death throes which has been a destabilising influence, but it gives the NRL the power to do whatever is best for the NRL rather than the club which is not beneficial for us long term.

I am happy for them to manage us into a post-Balmain, single owner organisation, but that would be where I would want to see their involvement cease.

ed313909

Im all for the relocation to Perth....
Im a Balmain supporter but realistically this merger is a joke... It hasn't worked.
There are too many teams in Western Sydney and for the good of the game someone from Western Sydney needs to leave.... And Cronulla to merge/get swallowed up by Dragons/Illawarra.
It wouldn't bother me at all if they moved to Perth.
Im from Balmain... I support Balmain. As far as I'm concerned Campbeltown and Perth are same.... Except i might maybe 1 day make my way to Perth to watch a game. I will never go to Campbeltown Stadium.
This has to happen for the game to move forward.
Perth needs a team and in a few years PNG needs a team. The average Aussie has no idea how much a PNG team could offer the NRL... The love for the game there is immense and they have the players. They just don't have the pathways.
And lets get real... The Wests Tigers have less history than any other team in the NRL.
Relocate them... Now.

sensesmaybenumbed

Im a Balmain supporter but realistically this merger is a joke... It hasn't worked.
There are too many teams in Western Sydney and for the good of the game someone from Western Sydney needs to leave.... And Cronulla to merge/get swallowed up by Dragons/Illawarra.
Im from Balmain... I support Balmain. As far as I'm concerned Campbeltown and Perth are same.... Except i might maybe 1 day make my way to Perth to watch a game. I will never go to Campbeltown Stadium.
Perth needs a team and in a few years PNG needs a team. The average Aussie has no idea how much a PNG team could offer the NRL... The love for the game there is immense and they have the players. They just don't have the pathways.
And lets get real... The Wests Tigers have less history than any other team in the NRL.
Relocate them... Now.

The titans and souffs 2.0 say hello.

We should stay exactly as we are - i.e. a western Sydney based team that stretches from Leichhardt/Balmain out to Liverpool/Campbelltown. We should play out of ANZ because it is the most profitable.

On field success will lead to off field success. All we need to do is win games more consistently.

I think on field success is not that far off but we have screwed ourselves over recently and we need to work on that. We need to get recruitment and retention right and assemble the best possibly squad within the salary cap with a good coach so that we can be successful on field.

I honestly think our squad may come good. Our coach is hopeless however he might learn from his numerous stuff-ups this year.

Relocate them... Now.

How about we wait for the wash up from the ownership issues before we go wrist slitting?

A - you lose all the Balmain fans
B - you lose all the Magpies fans
C - You lose all the Wests Tigers fans
D - Perth wants their own team, not a relocated side
Therefore you end up with a relocated club that has no supporter base at all and is unwanted by the city they play out of. Which is why relocation is the most moronic concept ever thought up.
Yes, one premiership in the last 15 years is a joke compared to 0 premierships in Balmain's last near-30 years
This is a massive load of horseshit. Melbourne has more AFL sides covering a smaller region of the city than Sydney has Rugby League sides covering a larger portion of the city. Both have comparable populations. What's needed is good administration for all NRL clubs, not a heap of old football players trying to run the clubs like it's 1964 still.
You will find you are in the vast minority.
Thanks for confirming you are a moron.
No it doesn't. And this happening would not move the game forward.
Perth and PNG need their OWN teams, not some relocated side that they have no passion for or investment in. You have no f**king idea what you are talking about.
Relocate them... Now.
Yes, let's get real, Relocation does not work. Nearly every club is run with antiquated and outdated practices by people who have f**k all business acumen

AFL clubs are run by businessmen and they are surviving and growing in a very crowded area. NRL clubs are spread out and run by old footy players with practically no business experience and they are all ambling along. Get clubs run by businessmen and watch them all grow.

North Sydney's relocation to the Central Coast worked wonders didn't it?

Furthermore, Gold Coast Titans have less history than the Tigers and the Dragons only have one year more history.

And Souths and Manly both returned in their second versions after the Wests Tigers birth.

Magpies Forever

I think Leichhardt Oval is pretty much gone for us. Its a much loved relic of the old days- Wests had Pratten Park (where my dad first took me to a game yonks ago, then Lidcombe Oval), Balmai had their constant in Leichhardt Oval. These days however, and int o the future, WT have to have a sports field with good amenities and faciltiies, easy transport
links, parking etc. Leichhardt just cannot supply that level of access and amenity.

Not sure on answer but maybe it is the ANZ at Homebush as home for the 'inner city' Wests & Balmain supporters and Campbelltown for the outer south west supporters.

I too do not think we should even countenance relocation at this stage of events but I acknowledge we are in potentially dangerous ground if the NRL flirts with the idea of relocating a Sydney team, being in hoc to the NRL and having their directors on our board.

A basket case of a club (ie WT) has little ammo to fight them in a stoush over relocation versus a well run club.

DanOz

Wests Ashfield want Wests Tigers.

If Balmain default, i imagine only the Balmain half of the merge is up for sale, but not the NRL licence, thus it will stay as the Wests Tigers

Yes mate. The Wests Group have publicly stated they are committed to the Wests tigers brand. There is no talk of that changing. But you may find games split between Campbelltown and ANZ, with Leichhardt numbers reduced until they play only a annual heritage style game there.

DanOz

:crazy:

self determination is what got the two teams into a joint venture and that was because wests were a basket case and balmain were a rabble and you think a wests take over is going to fix things ,we could look forward to filling our trophy cabinet with wooden spoons for years to come. Packed orana park on a sunday arvo getting beat by 50 it does not get any better, ,wow cant wait for the west takeover.

This post is not to sling shit. It is hopefully to give you an understanding that Wests tigers will be fine moving forward.

If you have a look at the criteria the NRL put down to rate clubs, Wests came last mainly because of position on the ladder. Wests have ALWAYS been financial. I know there is a lot of BS that floats around on Balmain web pages, but if you research the FACTS, Wests finances were in good shape.

If you take that into consideration, and the fact that the NRL criteria of coming last no longer applies, Wests will be in good shape to take the Wests tigers forward into the future. Self determination IS in the best interests of the club. Wests are committed to the Wests tigers brand, so Balmain defaulting literally changes nothing except the loss of the independent board if Wests take the first option to buy them out.

Nothing changes for Balmain. They haven't paid their way for years, and they currently have no seats on the board. Wests taking ownership changes nothing. We all still have a team to follow.

DanOz

I think Leichhardt Oval is pretty much gone for us. Its a much loved relic of the old days- Wests had Pratten Park (where my dad first took me to a game yonks ago, then Lidcombe Oval), Balmai had their constant in Leichhardt Oval. These days however, and int o the future, WT have to have a sports field with good amenities and faciltiies, easy transport
links, parking etc. Leichhardt just cannot supply that level of access and amenity.

Not sure on answer but maybe it is the ANZ at Homebush as home for the 'inner city' Wests & Balmain supporters and Campbelltown for the outer south west supporters.

I too do not think we should even countenance relocation at this stage of events but I acknowledge we are in potentially dangerous ground if the NRL flirts with the idea of relocating a Sydney team, being in hoc to the NRL and having their directors on our board.

A basket case of a club (ie WT) has little ammo to fight them in a stoush over relocation versus a well run club.

Agreed mate. The sooner we get control of our club back, the better. The NRL only have their own interests at heart