Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Looking back at ancient controversies

Wb1234

that’s cause when he was living in nth qld he was never rated as a player and it was the dragons that discovered him that gave him a launch pad

Wb1234

Never rated by whom?
It’s in his book

all through the junior pathways

his brother was a gun and made reps Gordon didn’t

they had a low opinion of him saying he would never make first grade

he had a chip on his shoulder

his brother was signed by the broncos and Gordon told bennett he signed the wrong Tallis

beave

It’s in his book

all through the junior pathways

his brother was a gun and made reps Gordon didn’t

they had a low opinion of him saying he would never make first grade

he had a chip on his shoulder

his brother was signed by the broncos and Gordon told bennett he signed the wrong Tallis
I've read the book mate.

The NQ club and the junior/senior rep teams were completely different entities so the beef he had with the junior rep teams should have been purely with them and the cowboys were years away from existing when he was in his teens.

He left for St George end of 1991 because Rod Reddy was coaching him at Centrals in Townsville and the Dragons leveraged off that connection.

He mustn't have had that much of a chip at Bennett to want to play for him that bad he was willing to sit out 1996.........

Wb1234

I've read the book mate.

The NQ club and the junior/senior rep teams were completely different entities so the beef he had with the junior rep teams should have been purely with them and the cowboys were years away from existing when he was in his teens.

He left for St George end of 1991 because Rod Reddy was coaching him at Centrals in Townsville and the Dragons leveraged off that connection.

He mustn't have had that much of a chip at Bennett to want to play for him that bad he was willing to sit out 1996.........
And probably cost the dragons a grand final win

gerg

Tallis is a hypocritic. These days very quick to comment on players switching teams, having contract disputes and handling them poorly and worst of all fighting. His sooking over the Gallen v Myles incident was ridiculous.

Whenever he is on any of the Footy shows you can see the other panel members 'walking on egg shells' around him because he has zero sense of humour, zero personality and likely to just 'flip out' at the most innocuous comment. He has some serious anger / attitude issues.

Reflector

Tallis is a hypocritic. These days very quick to comment on players switching teams, having contract disputes and handling them poorly and worst of all fighting. His sooking over the Gallen v Myles incident was ridiculous.

Whenever he is on any of the Footy shows you can see the other panel members 'walking on egg shells' around him because he has zero sense of humour, zero personality and likely to just 'flip out' at the most innocuous comment. He has some serious anger / attitude issues.
MG's another one- loves to point the finger at players who get in trouble off-field as if he was a choirboy in his playing days...

beave

https://x.com/beavington_/status/1683409824317575168?s=46&t=zCRXIVtIdJ9bRgbEfnP68A

Not only a hypocrite but one of the dumbest merkins to grace the airways.

King hit

Wb1234

My favourite part was when Tallis went off at Gallen for punching Myles. First memory I have of Tallis is him punching McDougall in the head for no reason with a big smirk on his face. Total moron
When he belted the tripe out of Ben Ross

gerg

My favourite part was when Tallis went off at Gallen for punching Myles. First memory I have of Tallis is him punching McDougall in the head for no reason with a big smirk on his face. Total moron

On one of the shows he was getting so riled up with Gallen I thought they were going to fight on air. Gallen was just laughing at him, a little uncomfortably. Like I said, he is totally unhinged. Sometimes you meet new people and you just can't 'read' them, not knowing what ... if anything ... is going through their head, or what they might do at any moment. Tallis is that guy. If he wasn't a successful footy player he's probably a serial killer?

Reflector

On one of the shows he was getting so riled up with Gallen I thought they were going to fight on air. Gallen was just laughing at him, a little uncomfortably. Like I said, he is totally unhinged. Sometimes you meet new people and you just can't 'read' them, not knowing what ... if anything ... is going through their head, or what they might do at any moment. Tallis is that guy. If he wasn't a successful footy player he's probably a serial killer?
If he was a serial killer his confession to the detectives would be all over the place. He'd claim his first victims were buried in Sydney when they were, in fact, buried in Brisbane...

MG's another one- loves to point the finger at players who get in trouble off-field as if he was a choirboy in his playing days...

Yes, but if you listen to Geyer, especially on 2MMM, he's said repeatedly he did a lot of very stupid things in his younger days, including many off field incidents. He owns it that he did some very stupid and bad stuff.

Rule 16.9, which governs when referees can change their calls, states clearly that referees can only overturn a decision relating to foul play.

Therefore, the ref is not entitled to change that decision after already making it and having players react to it and change the course of the play- let alone perhaps game.

The Referee judges on matters of fact and shall not subsequently alter those judgments. He may cancel any decision made if prior foul play of which he had no knowledge is reported to him by a Touch Judge.
I didn't say he is entitled to change it, I said the call was correct i.e. Teddy didn't touch the ball. They are different things

If it was the other way around it wouldn't have rated a mention.

I didn't say he is entitled to change it, I said the call was correct i.e. Teddy didn't touch the ball. They are different things

If it was the other way around it wouldn't have rated a mention.
It looked like the ball hit Squiddy's shoulder and flew forward, as opposed to hitting Simonsson's shoulder and flying behind him.