Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Lyon to manly- he left because of Smith

I agree Ron.

I don't hold mych faith in all the rumours, but when this happens, you start to think "where there's smoke, there's fire"

I'm not suggesting that all the rumours are now true, but it seems that there is soem truth in hte players dissatisfaction. Some players dont seem to be happy under Smith.

It won't take long to undermine all the good work that Crusher has done.

Its obvious he was a great asset to the Eels, look at our club championship results. And Fitzy says we cant afford him. Well how come Manly can. Maybe we should have got rid of others, instead of Crusher.

I am very concerned that we have done irreversable damage.

Jamie may hev done the wrong thing in breaching his contract, but if it came down to a choice between Jamie Lyon and BS, I know who I would rather have.

t-ba

Clear a few things up-

1-Manly hasn't approached Jamie in an official capacity. Nor would they, considering the financial tightrope the club is on.
2-Lyon is great mates with the Cleals. Cleal, apparently on Lyons behest, has been spending a few days every month in and around Wee Waa doing scouting.
3-Lyon feels betrayed by Smith. Apparently, the contract was signed under the impression that Crusher would still be doing the traps around the club. (p*ssweak I know)
4-He's got a big bag of secrets that he's dangling over Fitzy's head.
5-Thanks For Kylie, Dunner, Hex and no doubt more of your juniors in the near future :lol:

So they haven't been after Jamie, but they are scouting around Wee Waa.

This is part of their normal "scouting" process ?

Parraren

FFS pin head pete & Glenn wake up and smell the coffee! Lyon wasn't the first and he won't be the last. You two still going to keep supporting Smith when we're challenging Souths for the spoon? :roll:

Smith is killing our club :evil:

This is Hadley's so called "proof". He may well be correct but unless he's willing to share more than that, I see no reason as to why we should believe him. This just seems more like another attempt to derail Smith is his personal vendetta against him, more than dealing with the facts.

t-ba

Twizzle said:
So they haven't been after Jamie, but they are scouting around Wee Waa.

This is part of their normal "scouting" process ?

No, but we've only had Crusher heading up recruitment for half a season, and alot has happened since. He's doing it on invitiation. It's a hell of a lot more subtle than what Smith did with John Morris and apparently more welcomed by the player.

Glenn

eelsta said:
Glenn said:
How many times have people got to say this ..... Hindmarsh is not going anywhere, unless Nathan has become a liar..
If it was just a disagreement regarding coach why didn't the pr!ck do the honourable thing and see out his contract playing at Parramatta and then leave.
Sorry if this seems harsh, I have no time for people that haven't got enough in them to play out a contract, and especially put his team mates in the lurch like that
who says hes not going nowhere

Hindmarsh himself :roll:

Glenn

Parraren said:
FFS pin head pete & Glenn wake up and smell the coffee! Lyon wasn't the first and he won't be the last. You two still going to keep supporting Smith when we're challenging Souths for the spoon? :roll:

Smith is killing our club :evil:

Hmm so much for no personal attacks, unless I am mistaken Lyons was the first to sign a contract with Parramatta and then not have enough to at least play out the season before seeking a release (at least in recent history).
I didn't say I was supporting Smith, just that a player should honour his contract and not go off sulking

eelsta

Glenn said:
eelsta said:
Glenn said:
How many times have people got to say this ..... Hindmarsh is not going anywhere, unless Nathan has become a liar..
If it was just a disagreement regarding coach why didn't the pr!ck do the honourable thing and see out his contract playing at Parramatta and then leave.
Sorry if this seems harsh, I have no time for people that haven't got enough in them to play out a contract, and especially put his team mates in the lurch like that
who says hes not going nowhere

Hindmarsh himself :roll:
when did he say this

If any more top liners leave then I for one will leave as well, at least until the coach and CEO are replaced anyway.
I'm moving away from Sydney so I'll just follow the game and not one team.
If Smith and Fitzy go I'll wear my jersey with pride, for now it's packed away.
League is really pissing me off at present so I my just follow cows around the paddock instead.

N.Hindmarsh_Fan

Lyons not a baby nor us he a sook, and who ever says this let me ask you, if ur at work and ur boss is a complete and utter moron who knows nothing and makes all the wrong decisions and hires a team of idiots who wouldnt know balck from white, would you want to be there???? No u frigin wouldnt, what Hadley had said arent rumours they are facts, Ray Hadley understands what TRUE Parra fans are going through. He knows we are a rich club so why dont we attarct good players? Ill tell u the answers if your too thick to know, its cause of our idiot coach. He knows why the team plays with no enthusiasm, its cause of the coach, he knows why we cant compete with any of the top eight sides, its cause of the coach. He also knows why players are leaving, its cause of the coach. I SUPPORT RAY HADLEY, HE IS HELPING OUR CAUSE, AND OUR CAUSE IS FOR THAT TOSS BAG MAD SCIENTIST NO TALENT GOOSE BRIAN SMITH.to frigin LEAVE!!! :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

parra pete

How did Hadley get hold of the supposed letter to Parramatta. Could it have come from Noel Cleal to Fulton to Hadley.. If it did it is an act of betrayal and treachery and Manly should be fined for breaching the anti tampering laws. Lets check out Ray Hadleys credentials to ridicule Brian Smith.
What is football coaching record? What is his playing record? What is Club administration record?
(2) Is he (Ray) a good and decent bloke? I Don't know - ask his first wife.
(3) Is he a law abiding citizen? I don't know. What is his driving record like
(4) Is he loyal to his mates. I don't know. Ask John Gibbs or Daryl Brohman
(5) Is he a man of principle ? I don't know. Ask News Limited what his attitude to that organisation during the Super League War.
(6) Can his opininion be swayed by the almighty dollar? I don't know. Ask News Limited and Singo again.
I honestly don't know the answers to those questions. I am not casting any aspersions. He is a shock jock and you have to be good to be at the top for as long as he has been. I don't care if he slams Willie Mason..his behaviour off the field leaves a lot to be desired. But Ray needs to be squeaky clean if he is going to ridicule and bucket the decent people left in Rugby League.
What the game needs is more decent human beings and developers of citizens and Rugby League talent like Brian Smith.
The NRL needs to get the coaches off the side line and away from TV cameras where they can mouth expletives and carry on like pork chops every time something doesn't go their way.
What the NRL needs to do is stop shows like the Footy Show promoting boofheads like Reg Regan and Trent.
It needs to stop ridiculing a bloke like Jason Stevens because of his choice to remain celebate.
Shagging has been made a culture in several Rugby League Clubs. Dim witted players think that people like Reg Regan are the trend setters and it is cool to be like him.
The game has turned feral. I went my first Parramatta game with my late father in 1958. I'll tell you now I am very close to walking away from the game, a game I have loved forever since I can remember. Both as a representative player and as a official. I have a Life Membership to a Rugby League Club, and have been the recipient of an Australian Sports Medal. I am very disillusioned with how much strife a peanut like Hadley can generate
I do not believe in character assasination. I am strong supporter of Brian Smith and Denis Fitzgerald. I am PROUD of that support.
The media has been very quick to ridicule Parramatta for its effort against St George. St's were under strength. BUT so were the EELS. Armit, Cannings, Peek, Hindmarsh, Cayless, Pearson, O'Dwyer, Lyon, Vaeliki, Prince. Would they have been in the seventeen that played last Friday night if they were available?
Lets make sure all the facts are presented... Not selective pieces.
Ray Hadley should mind his business, promot the game and leave the coaching of football and administration to those he are qualified.
A FAIR GO IS THE AUSTRALIAN WAY. or at least it used to be.

Its the only thing that worries me about the letter.

The fact that it came from Hadley, otherwise it may have some merrit.

Ray Hadley DOES NOT HAVE THE LETTER.....he has never said he has or that he has even seen it.

The only piece of information he has attributed directly to a person (Denis Fitzgerald) is that Denis said there is a letter.

how Ray came to know of the letter is an interesting question....considering Denis supposedly only got it on Thursday and Smithy was supposedly only told of it on Saturday - Ray found out about it VERY quickly....from where, who knows???

EVERYTHING else in Ray's article comes from unnamed sources.....he claimed on radio he "rang around - including Wee Waa".....but he has never said X told me this or Y told me that.....why not? well he is either a) protecting someone who is telling him stuff or b) just peddling his own ideas as someone else's.

Maybe its all true, maybe not....only time will tell.....but at this stage I would assume Jamie would say something if he has absolutely nothing against Smithy....I guess we will hear alot more in the coming days (depending of course on whether Willie the Wanker takes up all the ink used to print the paper).

stuke

whether or not hadley is correct it sure is a common theme coming from all the players that have since moved on.

where there is smoke there generally is fire.

I see no reason to believe Hadley. He said he would provide us with "proof". He hasn't done that. All he has done is say what his proof is, that's nowhere near the same thing.

N.Hindmarsh_Fan said:
Lyons not a baby nor us he a sook, and who ever says this let me ask you, if ur at work and ur boss is a complete and utter moron who knows nothing and makes all the wrong decisions and hires a team of idiots who wouldnt know balck from white, would you want to be there???? No u frigin wouldnt, what Hadley had said arent rumours they are facts, Ray Hadley understands what TRUE Parra fans are going through. He knows we are a rich club so why dont we attarct good players? Ill tell u the answers if your too thick to know, its cause of our idiot coach. He knows why the team plays with no enthusiasm, its cause of the coach, he knows why we cant compete with any of the top eight sides, its cause of the coach. He also knows why players are leaving, its cause of the coach. I SUPPORT RAY HADLEY, HE IS HELPING OUR CAUSE, AND OUR CAUSE IS FOR THAT TOSS BAG MAD SCIENTIST NO TALENT GOOSE BRIAN SMITH.to frigin LEAVE!!! :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

You lost your credibility with me with your last sentence. Anyone who believes everything Hadley says is gullible. If you think his intentions is in sympathy win Parramatta fans then you're wrong, he's motivated by the same thing every talkback radio presenter is motivated by, ratings and money. They ARE rumours, unless there is proof that's all there ever will be. Out of all the football journalists in rugby league the only one to make these claims is Hadley, the rest have too much sense.

Lyon is a sook. If I was at work and didn't like my boss that doesn't give me the right to just tear up my contract and join a rival company. Fact is he signed a contract and he should stick with it. His behavious has been very immature and I can't see how you can argue with that.

WA Eel

Regardless of whether he does or doesn't have the letter. And regardless of whether Jamie Lyon did or didn't write it. Jamie Lyon is employed to play football by the Parramatta Rugby League Club. He doesn't need to like the club or the coach. If he didn't like the coach, the time to have acted on it would have been prior to signing the 4 year contract, not after. In fact, I'm sure Brian Smith coached just the same now as he did when Jamie signed the contract.

Make the f*cker sit out for the rest of the contract I say.