Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Lyon to manly- he left because of Smith

My brother spoke to Hodgo a month ago and Hodgo said it was the coach. Not that I rate the speed hump but he did blame the coach for his depature.

GAME FIRST

He may be a speed hump- he is happy now and playing like an origin player-he isnt my type of player but is very creative and when fit is dangerous.

parra pete

Wonder why he would say that? Didn't Brian pluck him from Wests after they conceded 900 points in a season, gave him a go and turned him into a State of Origin fullback. Wouldn't have anything to do with the fact they he played about ten games in 2003 and wanted $230,000 to stay. They Eels could have given it to him and missed out on signing McKinnon and Grothe I suppose. Hoddo is going great guns this year. Good luck to him.
I think Parra treated him very well. I am sure that he would thank Brian Smith for a lot of personal issues that went on in his life. I would be very surprised if Brett Hodgson bagged Brian Smith...not that I don't believe you or your brother. I would find it hard to fathom.

GAME FIRST

Well mate, believe me when i say Hodgson was not enjoying Smithy's coaching-but the main point is he is not strong enough for first grade and is injury prone.

Misty Bee

Eelementary said:
Of course people can walk out on their jobs.

What I meant is that professional people in the main do not do that.

It's unprofessional, it's reprehensible, it's totally lacking of morals.
Rubbish. Not long ago a whole heap of doctors walked out of the health system. These are the utmost in professionalism.

Walking out on a job, in some instances, is the best option. If you are suffering shit from your inept employer, which is affecting you in every aspect of your life, as only employment hassles can do, thenyou'd be nuts NOT to leave. I certainly don't agree with breaking the contract, but I do agree thaqt Jamie is not a traitor or a sook, like some pathetic souls make out. On the field, there was never a bloke who tried harder (bar Hindy) than Killer. Whoever said he can't handle pressure is a friggin idiot. Check hsi defensive stats last season. Remember, he's the worlds best 3/4, playing with a 5/8 who gives him no ball and is the coaches pet (Wagon)!

Hands up how many want Smith sacked, but reckon Smith is innocent re driving Lyon out of the club? But you all blame him for forcing Hodgeson/Marsh/Drew/Heckenberg/Donald/Hindmarsh/Buettner out of the club!!!!

Mortimer didn't like Ryan yet didn't walk out like Lyon.

Can you tell me what's different about Smith now compared to when Lyon signed the contract?

CrazyEel

Yeah but the point your ignoring Misty is that Hodgeson/Marsh/Drew/Heckenberg/Donald/Hindmarsh/Buettner all played out their contracts and didn't do a midnight flip on their mates.

WA Eel

Lets not bring Brett Hodgeson into this, he left because Parra wouldn't give him $230k a season, not because he didn't like Brian Smith. What's more, if Brian Smith had agreed to pay him $230k a season, then it would have been evidence that he had gone mad.

Hurriflatch

actually your wrong

Buettner still had 1 year to go on his contract in his 1st year at the Tigers (2003) Parra were actually paying him about $150,000 (maybe even $200,000)

CrazyEel

Your now arguing semantics! In relation to the original context of Misty's post he was indeed pushed by Smith and didn't quit his contract like Lyon.

Misty Bee

El Duque said:
Mortimer didn't like Ryan yet didn't walk out like Lyon.

Can you tell me what's different about Smith now compared to when Lyon signed the contract?

You should ask Jamie that.

However, blind freddy can see that Smith has changed since then!

BTW, Mortimer could see that his best scenario was to stay with Ryan and captain Canterbury to premierships. Mortimer - a halfback - played behind arguably the toughest pack ever - a massive advantage. Lyon, on the other hand, had the opposite effect. He had to become a defensive workaholic -like having Bunny Reilly in the centres. There is a HUGE difference between the two scenarios.

Besides, Ryan eventually left Canterbury. Smith is more entrenched at Paramatta than the friggin Lennox Bridge!!!!!

Misty Bee

Hasler? Who are you referring to, ED?

For the record, I don't rate Hasler very high ATM. I'd love to see Ian Millward in charge.

Well if Jamie goes to Manly surely he must think he's a better coach or why leave??

If you agree with Jamie doing the Harry and he ends up at Manly then you also must agree that Hasler is better than Smith.

CrazyEel

El Duque said:
... then you also must agree that Hasler is better than Smith.

If not better then at least equal, certainly no worse. Hasler couldn't do any more damage than Smith has.

If anyone would care to read the RLW today you'll see that Jamie has an exclusive interview in there stating what he and his manager have said all along - That he did not leave because of Smith.

Another swipe at the Hadley Circuis.

Does any one have a link, cause I couldn't be bothered to go and buy it.