Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Lyon to manly- he left because of Smith

parra pete

Obviously coming to Hadley via Cleal, via Fulton. Manly should be charged with breach of the anti tampering laws.
Lyon is contracted to PLAY rugby league with Parramatta.. Not be a letter writer or GET ON with anyone. If he has personal problems with the coach so be it. You play, Brian coaches. If you don't want to do that, see ya in court.
Does every player, every coach get on famously. The ACT Brumbies didn't like their coach either, but they had enough professionalism to get them thru. Players MUST be TOLD they have to fulfill CONTRACTS. It is too easy these days to SPIT the dummy. If he doesn't want to play. Give the money back and announce your retirement. Otherwise face charges for extortion..Trying to obtain money with menaces (threats against an establishment) and finally GROW UP you big sook.

parra pete said:
The ACT Brumbies didn't like their coach eithert, but they had enough professionalism to get them thru.

Don't even think about quoting that situation.

Firstly, the players didn't like their coach.
Secondly, the players were brave enough to stand up against that.
Thirdly, the Brumbies didn't renew the contract of their coach.

And.....HE WAS SUCCESSFUL.

Maybe some lessons could be learnt from the professionalism of the Brumbies.

Two Super 12's Competitions.

THIS IS A F***IN BUSINESS.

By the way, I have absolutely no sympathy for Jamie Lyon.

He made a decision for whatever the reason.

Jake the snake said:
If u ask me what would it take to get Lyon back? I'd say anything even sack the coach, because its obvious that nobody likes him. SMITH has to go it would be a great injustice if Lyon went anywhere other than Parra especially Manly. f**k!!!!!!

Lyon letter to rock Eels
By rugby league broadcaster Ray Hadley
May 23, 2004

PARRAMATTA chief executive Denis Fitzgerald has received a damning letter from his club's runaway star Jamie Lyon indicating the real reason why one of the game's most talented players walked away from rugby league.

The letter, received last Thursday, confirmed what I've been saying for the past week - Lyon walked from Parramatta because he could no longer stand being coached by Brian Smith.

It also contained another request for a release from his contract.

Yesterday, Fitzgerald would not confirm the contents of the letter.

Tomorrow, the Eels will seek legal advice on Lyon's future, although Fitzgerald would not say whether a release would be granted to Lyon.

Considering they have paid Lyon $140,000 of his contract, they will not consider a release until they see a return of that money.

And if and when a release is granted, you can take it as read Lyon will be playing for Manly by the end of the season.

Lyon has very close links with the Cleal family, with Noel now the Sea Eagles' recruitment manager - a job he fulfilled for many years at Parramatta before being dumped by Smith.

From an outsider looking in, it appears Crusher was too successful attracting players to the club, taking the gloss away from Smith's own recruitment policy.

Yesterday, Smith was advised of Lyon's letter and its contents.

I'm informed the shock on his face was something similar to what he experienced on Friday night when his side was humiliated by St George Illawarra's virtual Premier League team in one of the club's most embarrassing losses.

Last week, The Daily Telegraph ran a story headlined "Smith says Bolts is nuts", where the Parramatta coach proceeded to say I had a "very, very poor knowledge" of rugby league.

He also said Lyon didn't leave because he was coach, saying: "That's 100 per cent incorrect. Ray's a bit of a mischief-maker in all of this ... Ray runs a bit of a vaudeville-type show.

"My experience with Ray over the years is that if he says black, I'm pretty much sure the answer is white when it comes to football matters."

Well, guess what Brian?

It's black and white that Jamie Lyon left Parramatta because you are the coach. And with the arrival of the letter - that's official.

I've been told Jamie couldn't stand the school master coaching attitude of Smith that was clearly illustrated on Friday night, with halftime pictures showing Smith standing in front of a whiteboard and his team sitting down like they were in a classroom.

He could no longer stand Smith's hectoring.

I'm informed Fitzgerald sat on the letter until yesterday because he didn't want to disturb Smith in preparations for Friday night's important game.

Fitzgerald has never cast any doubts on the future of the coach at Parramatta, but how many players like Lyon have to walk out of the club?

A coach will always win a battle between himself and a player but it's time the Parramatta club took notice of the facts.

Besides Lyon, the facts are a number of players - at least a dozen - have left Parramatta to carve out successful careers at other clubs since Brian has been coach.

One of these players, who switched clubs this year, couldn't even bring himself to answer a question on what he thought of Smith - pleading for the journalist to ask another question.

It all gets back to the whiteboard we saw at halftime on Friday night. It all gets back to the coach's attitude.

Whatever was on the whiteboard didn't work, because Parramatta were smashed 29-0 in the second half against a team missing virtually its entire top starting line-up.

A team containing a few players nobody outside of St George Illawarra had ever heard of.

Get rid of the whiteboard, Brian.

Either that or do the honourable thing and fall on your sword.

The Sunday Telegraph

IF (and that's a HUGE IF) this story is true (which the blokes on the Footy Show reckon it isn't), then as great a lad, as great a player Jamie was

F*** YOU. **** YOU. How many people with REAL jobs can actually just change their job because they're fed up with their boss?

You signed a contract son. If you want to be treated correctly, HONOUR IT.

On the flip side, if it's not true,

HADLEY YOU KNOB JOB QUIT POSTING RUMOURS. They do more hamr than good.

Misty Bee

I think everybody with a job can leave it when they like, can't they?

I'll refuse to judge Lyon for leaving, until the ultimate outcome happens. Until he signs with Manly, I'll take Ray Hadley's words with a MASSIVE grain of salt.

All I see is a player refusing to play for a shit coach, and who is doing the right thing for himself. Sure, a contract is a contract, but uless we know FOR CERTAIN every detail about that contract, whose to say that Parra haven't broken it by not providing, say, a decent coach? If Lyons contract had a clause that involved Cleal's participation with the lub, then the contract has possibly been oided by Parra.

That's why I don't judge Killer. I hope sanity prevailes, and that Killer will return as Smith leaves at the end of the year.

One thing I am damn sure of, Killer has not left TO join Manly.

As per the letter getting to Hadlee, well, he and Fitzy are mates, are they not? Twould be easier for Fitzy to take the decision re Smith with the media AND the public on board.

Hadley has not seen the letter. He said he rang Fitzy and asked if one existed and he answered "yes".

mickdo

Misty Bee said:
I think everybody with a job can leave it when they like, can't they?
You have to give a certain amount of notice when you leave, but also with many jobs (including mine) there can be clauses in your contract that prevent you from working for a competitior for a certain period of time after you leave the company. In my case it's only 6 months, but that's all up to the individual company when you sign the employment contract.

Freak

Misty anyone can leave their job when they want to, but JL has received a proportion of his contract without meeting the requirements of that contract!

The grub should stop thinking about himself for a minute and start thinking about his mates he has played footy with for past 5 or so years. I don't care how f**king special you think you are, at the end of the day your only as good as the players (your so called team MATES) around you.

Last time I checked Rugby League is a TEAM SPORT.
2 words Jamie Lyon doesn't know the meaning of!!

I know where this will go, but what ever happened to the player saying I'll give my all because my mate in the blue and gold next to me is!!

Misty Bee

Technically, micdo, you don't have to give notice.

Freak, you can't say that anyone next to Lyon gave their all v Canterbury. And I don't think that he recieved all of his contract money for the season. He recieved the third entitled to him for the off season. Yess, people have to pay expenses during an off season. For a season, you bundy on on October, not the following March.

And finally, have you read any of Jack Gibson's words? He'll tell you that any player who says 'I'll do it for the team' is full of shit. PLayers respond when they are working/playing for them selves. Clearly, Jamie decided that life under Smith was so bad that he would be better off counting the cotton seeds at Wee Waa.

The only problem people have with Loyn is that he didn't do the right thing by Parra. He let our team down. But so is Brian Smith. Parra would clearly be better if Smith left, and Lyon came back.

Wouldn't YOU be happy to see Lyon back?

fish eel

Clearly, Jamie decided that life under Smith was so bad that he would be better off counting the cotton seeds at Wee Waa.

The only problem people have with Loyn is that he didn't do the right thing by Parra. He let our team down. But so is Brian Smith. Parra would clearly be better if Smith left, and Lyon came back.

Lets fast forward.

Brian Smith isn't the coach.

We are not going to well. And Nathan Hindmarsh spits the dummy....me or the coach? What do we do...and where does the line get drawn?

And more than anything else, Jamie has let himself down, not just his teammates and club.

If Lyon ends up at Manly how does he know that he'll like Hasler???

I wouldn't feed Jamie Lyon.

Misty Bee

Under that scenario, one would have to ask: Is there a massive leak of talent who have all gone gangbusters at new clubs? Are we undererforming year in, year out, under our current coach?

Brian Smith has let Jamie down, and the club.

His walking out on the club, Childish

When you become a man, you learn that if you commit to something you see it through no matter what; your word is your value end of story.

I can understand the pressure he and others may have put on himself but in reality, walking out on the club, be it because you don't like someone or because you want to go to another job where a friend now works is ultimately poor form and reflects badly.

The Letter or Stat Dec or what ever, if he pens that he left because of Smith, I would be surprise if he backed it up like a man and said it on radio, or on camera. I don't think he will back it up, again his signature may have been bought to get him through a time where he only has a hundred thousand to live on!!! Also a letter or the like I am unsure how legally binding are they in regards to perjury.

All in all a fine player, very aloof after mid 2002, I think he has some attitude problems that need to be sorted.

GAME FIRST

I HAVE PERSONALLY SPOKEN TO SMITHY DURING A TRAINING SESSION AT THE END OF LAST YEAR AND SAID TO HIM DAVID VAELIKI AND MICK VELLA WERE GREAT ATHLETES BUT WERE NOT FIRST GRADERS AS THEY DONT DO ENOUGH OUT THERE AND WHEN THEY DO ITS INEFFECTIVE AND PREDICTABLE-HE RESPONDED BY SAYING SOMETHING LIKE THIS ' DAVIDS PLAYING WITH NO CONFIDENCE JUST GIVE HIM TIME '
TO WHICH I REPLIED THAT TIME IS NOT AN ISSUE WITH HIS TALENT AND BODY STRENGTH- HE SHOULD BE PLAYING HARDER AND MORE INVOLVED AND AT LEAST BE TRYING TO GET INVOLVED
SMITHY REPLIED ' YOU CAN TELL HIM THAT 'CAUSE IM NOT GAME!'

I GOT THE IMPRESSION SMITH IS DELUDED WITH HI OWN IMPORTANCE SO MUCH SO THAT BEING A PERSON OF FACILITATING CONFIDENCE AND GOOD PLAYERS STAYING AND FURTHERMORE GROWING- THEY INSTEAD GO BACKWARDS IN THEIR GAME FORM AND CONTRIBUTION.
THEY ARE OVERCOACHED IN THE WRONG THINGS AND NOT COACHED ON THE IDEAL-PERSONABLE AND GROWTH LEVELS.

I SAID TO SMITHY AT THE END- IF I WAS THE COACH I WOULD ENCOURAGE THEM TO BLEED FOR 80 MINUTES AS THEY HAVE ALL OFFSEASON AND WEEK TO PREPARE SO BETTER PERFORMANCES-DAVID SHOULD BE PLAYING WITH THE SKILL AND EXPRESSION AND FREEDOM THAT HE SHOWED IN RESERVES AND AT THE BEGINNING OF HIS FIRST GRADE CAREER.
SMITHY ' DONT AGREE WITH YOU THERE AS HE IS TRYING'
AS FOR VELLA I SAID THAT IMAGINE YOURSELF AS AN OPPOSITION PLAYER-WOULD YOU AT ALL FEAR THIS PLAYER AGAINST YOU THAT PLAYS SO QUIETLY AND WTHOUT GETTING DOWN AND DIRTY.
SMITHY SAID HE IS AN AUSTRALIAN PLAYER-
I SAID HE THEN SHOULD BE LEADING THE WAY AND GROWING AS A PLAYER AND IMPROVING
SMITHY SAID HE IS
I SAID WELL IT DEFINATELY IS NOT SHOWING ON THE FIELD!

ANYWAY I THOUGHT YOU WILL GLEAM SOMETHING OUT OF THAT AS IT ACTUALLY HAPPENED AT PARRA STADIUM TRAINING LAST YEAR

MY POINT IS EVERY PLAYER IN OUR SIDE HAVE GONE TO LOWER LEVELS AND NOT GROWN-SMITHY TRIES HARD BUT ISNT A PEOPLES PERSON AND CANT GET CLOSE ENOUGH TO HIS PLAYERS LIKE THE BENNETS OR RICKY CAN ON A NATURAL LEVEL SO THAT HE CANT GET THEM MOTIVATED NATURALLY TO WANT TO PLAY FOR HIM UNLIKE BENNET FOR INSTANCE THAT HIS OWN PLAYERS LOVE HIS HONESTY AND GODGIVEN GIFT OF RELATING TO THEM AND TALKING TO THEM AND IMPROVING THEM-SMITHY HAS SHOWN HE CAN GET A TEAM UP ONE OR TWO YEARS BUT THERE IS AN END TO WHAT HE CAN OFFER AND THAT HAS COME NOW

LOSING LYON FOR THE REASONS NOW THAT HAVE COME OUT ITS PRETTY OBVIOUS YOU ARE NOT AS ONE OF HIS PLAYERS PERFORMING BECAUSE THERE IS NO REAL ENJOYMENT AND LOVE THERE FOR EACHOTHER-ITS A GAME NOT A CLASSROOM

Why didn't Jamie say it in his earlier meeting after he left?

If the letter states he left because of Smith, not only is he a DOG, but he is also a GUTLESS CAT.