Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Manly don't want Hasler in 2012

Canard

Question to some deliquint Manly fans, why are you guys writing it as De$ and Ha$ler if he actually went to the Dogs for lesser money then what was on offer at Manly? Petty much? It's always someone elses fault isn't it?!

Nodoby really believes that he wen't for less money do they? It's pretty insulting to suggest that we would be gullible enough to believe that.

Ronnie Dobbs

Poor Arko. He's really, really sad. I guess you reap what your sew eventually hey mate. Don't think too many Souths or Wests fans will be crying into their milk.

I will say I think its been blown out of proportion and probably magnified by poor management.

Compare this to how Saints delat with the whole Bennett thing as a club.

Manly are tearing themselves apart. Its just bloody great theatre.

And again, poor, poor Arko.

Raiderdave

Cant believe they did that.. He should have been de-registered by the NRL ...Give some up & coming NON WOMAN BASHING player a go .

He can't be de registered til he's found guilty of the charges
the NRL just opens itself up to law suits by jumping the gun

rest assured ... if the Court finds him Guilty

he won't be in a Cowboys Jersey next Year ... or any other NRL one for that matter

firechild

Question to some deliquint Manly fans, why are you guys writing it as De$ and Ha$ler if he actually went to the Dogs for lesser money then what was on offer at Manly? Petty much? It's always someone elses fault isn't it?!

You really think the whole thing was negotiated ina week or so? De$ had agreed to terms (and possibly already signed) with the dogs way before Manly upped their offer to him. They were squabbling over a $50k payrise and De$ chased dollars elsewhere.

Rockin Ronny

This is hilarious.

An club like the Manly Scum that have survived by underhanded deals and ecimaging other clubs - where loyalty to money is the only prioirty.

Now all the Manly scum fans are sledging Des for lack of loyalty.

let's be clear - Manly want to get rid of Des for breach of contract because they simply can't afford to pay him out for 2012. What sposnor would honesty want to be involved with Manly now?

Arko - you'd better come back and set up another dodgy "Northern Eagles" takeover or try to backstab another club for News Limited money - because your Manly boys are in massive trouble.

firechild

I love seeing the Bears fans having a sook. Just remember, Manly are in poor shape but at least they're still competing in the NRL. The Bears are gone and most supporters under 20 have little to no memory of the perennial failures from the North shore.

I've never seen anything like this. Cronulla 08-09 have nothing on these guys. Feel sorry for the players and blokes like Arko and Toovey. Here's hoping Manly can bounce back.

God-King Dean

dogstshirt_narrowweb__300x319,0.jpg

i'm not saying its a done deal or any crap like some, although i would be extremely suprised if foran doesnt end up with the dogs given the fact we lack a 5/8, he is close with des, and the fact we will have as much money as anyone to throw at him.

Nah the family club doesn’t poach players.

Bred not bought.

This whole situation is a mess and both Des and the board are to blame. Once Des made the decision to move in 2013 they should have just amicably parted ways immediately. Unless your Wayne Bennett, as soon as you sign to another club in advance your position becomes untenable.

DoggiesBro

You really think the whole thing was negotiated ina week or so? De$ had agreed to terms (and possibly already signed) with the dogs way before Manly upped their offer to him. They were squabbling over a $50k payrise and De$ chased dollars elsewhere.

according to you and nothing or noone else.

according to des it would of been better for him to stay at manly financially and they offered more.

Red&BlackBear

I love seeing the Bears fans having a sook. Just remember, Manly are in poor shape but at least they're still competing in the NRL. The Bears are gone and most supporters under 20 have little to no memory of the perennial failures from the North shore.

Do you love it as much as seeing your own club being undone by it's own people? Or do you need to do the typical it's their fault not ours attitude? Pretty hard in this circumstance I reckon.

Rockin Ronny

We're not dead yet, moron.

Manly can write off 2012 - players will be disheartened - except for all the ones already secretly committed to other clubs for 2013.

Sponsors wouldn't want to associate with an unprofessional board of cowboys.

You'd better make another play for Gosford quickly, Manly scum, time is running out.

Evenflow

LOL keep deluding yourself he only walked out for the money if it makes you feel better but here's the quote below from the man himself that clearly states nothing could be further from the truth. Though i guess you think he's a liar now :lol:

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2011-10-08/dogs-confirm-hasler-coup/3380386

"Despite my ongoing discussions with the board for over 12 months regarding a new contract with the Manly club, we simply could not align our future thoughts.

"Whilst it would have been financially advantageous for me to stay at the Manly club, I have elected to take up the challenge of building in a new direction with the Bulldogs from 2013."

counterpuncher

"Whilst it would have been financially advantageous for me to stay at the Manly club, I have elected to take up the challenge of building in a new direction with the Bulldogs from 2013."

Maybe he's thinking about petrol & tolls .... unless he plans on relocating to Belmore :D

Nice Beaver

This is hilarious.

let's be clear - Manly want to get rid of Des for breach of contract because they simply can't afford to pay him out for 2012. What sposnor would honesty want to be involved with Manly now?
Lets be clear Wonny, what club would want to pay a coach trying to take everything with him bar the kitchen sink at Narabeen? Maybe the only other board dumber than this current Manly one - that of the NSW Cup Bears.

You'd have rocks in your head to want to give him any cash. He has breached his contract. Plain and simple. Why would you pay him?

As for sponsors, regardless of the off field shenanigans, the defending premiers will get plenty of air time on TV (at least for the first half of the season until we see how things pan out). Thats what a sponsor wants - their brand name splashed all over the TV in prime time.

mikail-eagle

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...ment-shocking-hasler-news-20111110-1n7z6.html
Manly stars lament 'shocking' Hasler news

Brad Walter in ManchesterNovember 10, 2011 - 6:46AM

Manly international Anthony Watmough has labelled the way the club has fallen apart since last month's grand final win as "disgusting", but he doesn't believe players will follow departing coach Des Hasler to the Bulldogs.
Watmough learnt of the marathon Sea Eagles board meeting that decided to stand Hasler down for alleged contract breaches when he and other members of the Australian Four Nations squad returned to camp after a three-day break in Europe.
New Zealand five-eighth Keiran Foran, who has been linked with a move to Canterbury, and rookie Kangaroos halfback Daly Cherry-Evans, also spoke about what the latter described as "shocking news".

Foran said: "I do have a [get out] clause but I'm at Manly next year and I'll be there next year."

Cherry-Evans, who is set to make his Test debut in Sunday's match against Wales, said: "Obviously as a player, I don't want any of the other boys leaving but at the end of the day it is a business and they will make their own decisions".

Watmough on Foran; "I think at the end of the day he wouldn't leave his mates for Dessie Hasler or anyone else. It is the bond we have and Dessie, the great man that he is, didn't make that club everything it was.
"It was a great club before Dessie and the boys there, they made it that great club and they made that great culture there. We will still have that great culture and we will stick together."

betcats

Lets be clear Wonny, what club would want to pay a coach trying to take everything with him bar the kitchen sink at Narabeen? Maybe the only other board dumber than this current Manly one - that of the NSW Cup Bears.

You'd have rocks in your head to want to give him any cash. He has breached his contract. Plain and simple. Why would you pay him?

Yeah i cant imagine any club not looking for a reason to fire Dessie if they were in Manlys position. Then again, i cant imagine any club not re signing their coach who just won their 2nd premiership in 4 years and then completely falling apart weeks later.

Edit: I hope for scummy Manlys sake they can hold onto the Stewarts and the two halves. I feel sick just typing that.