Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Mark Gasnier to retire...

Gasniers lies continue: says he was "excited" to play under new coach Steve Price, despite the fact that Gasnier's decision to leave was made before Steve Price was announced at coach or even before Bennett was confirmed as leaving :lol:

dragon_around

That he could hold the ball in both hands out in front, seemingly without anything on, then hesitation from the defense for that split second was enough for him to shimmy shimmy whoosh.

I still don't know how he could do it.

One of the best attacking centres the game has known.

eozsmiles

That $600k should be honoured in the salary cap, as it was part of the deal for Gasnier to be allowed to play at all, the Dragons are the new rorters of Melbourne-like proportions.

If St George sacked him then he'd get a pay out. But he's quitting so he gets nothing because he's breaking the contract. He might've got a tap on the shoulder and told it would help the club if they do it this way. No different to any veteran getting a tap like Alfie Langer did mid season.

Matt Orford is probably on a back ended deal too and he'll be retiring. Should Canberra pay for him next year?

eozsmiles

Penrith got Tahu for $150k apparently and he played Origin last year. Gasnier had 2-3 years out of the whole sport so how could he be worth any more than $150k in his return season? And he only played 10 games or so.

I still reckon Saints are going fishing for Dugan now.

Ronnie Dobbs

You'll be paying for it though :lol:

Don't confuse your fantasies with reality mate.

I can see you as the Ray Finkel / Lois Einhorne type.

If a "female" cop ever tries to accost a Dragons fan and go the pash, make sure its not BHP with his tackle tucked in.

Your obsession in hilarious.

"LACES OUT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

Hahahahaha.

You f**king idiot.

Southernsaint

As the curtain goes down on Gaz's illustrious career, Saints now have $$$s to play with and re-load the squad for seasons to come.

Dousty's gonna make it rain...

God-King Dean

Gasniers lies continue: says he was "excited" to play under new coach Steve Price, despite the fact that Gasnier's decision to leave was made before Steve Price was announced at coach or even before Bennett was confirmed as leaving :lol:

Moffo was excited about some big financial news.

Didn't happen either.

_snafu_

1. Gasnier signed a contract that was only allowed to be registered if it was backened.
2. Gasnier plays the first 2 years at very low wage.
3. Gasnier retires before his contract balloons.
4. The Dragons get Gasnier for about 1/4 of his total worth.

Tell me how this is not a salary cap breach?

f**k you are dumb. I think the only reason you attend uni is to clean the crappers.

He gets paid if he fulfills his contract i.e if he plays for the full term of his contract. If he doesn't fulfill his contract and it's his decision to stop i.e. If he retires. Then he doesn't get paid.

Ulysseus

Anyway, and ignoring the haters

I wish Gaz all the best in his retirement and thank him immensely for his contribution to the club over the last decade.
Yes, there was a moment of madness when he went to Ra Ra but he at least did it within the bounds of his contract at the time, unlike $BW and a few other, and as a sign of there being no bad blood between him and the club he was welcomed back with open arms last year.
I'll have many great memories of seeing him play, from when he left opposition defences grasping thin air, tearing wests tigers a new arsehole on several occasions and of course for his performance in the GF in 2010 when his mere presence alone caused the roosters to rush at him leaving the line open for Nightingale to pump then not once, but twice.
I can put that DVD on and always watch Soward put in a cross field chip kick and see Gasnier grab it and touch down to some of the most thunderous cheering you will ever hear.
I am saddened to see him go, but I consider it a privilege to have been there for his first game in 1st grade and I will consider it a privilege to be there for his last.

Thanks for the memories Gaz.

A players talent should have nothing to do with what they are worth under the salary cap. If Le Gaz wanted to play for $50k, so be it.

Exactly right.

The reason that people misinterpret the cap, and indeed the reason gaz was forced to sign a contract like this to begin with to 'meet nrl requirements', stems from the leagues treatment of Melbournes cheat team by not allowing them to take pay cuts and stay together. In the eyes of the nrl, the illusion of equity is very important.

So if a player is not allowed to determine their own value then what should we do? introduce a points system like the nbl?

There are some ridiculous arguments going around that this is a cap breach from people who don't realize the 'market value' of a player means nothing and it is what they are actually paid that is important

RHCP

He came back 3/4 of the way through 2010. His contract was backended out of necessity, not because of some elaborate plan to rort the cap.