Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Mark Gasnier to retire...

1. Gasnier signed a contract that was only allowed to be registered if it was backened.
2. Gasnier plays the first 2 years at very low wage.
3. Gasnier retires before his contract balloons.
4. The Dragons get Gasnier for about 1/4 of his total worth.

Tell me how this is not a salary cap breach?

Did he get a boat as well ??...

taxidriver

1. Gasnier signed a contract that was only allowed to be registered if it was backened.
2. Gasnier plays the first 2 years at very low wage.
3. Gasnier retires before his contract balloons.
4. The Dragons get Gasnier for about 1/4 of his total worth.

Tell me how this is not a salary cap breach?

Did he get paid what he was contracted to?

Yes

Where is the rort?

Did the dragons spend more than allowed?

No

Where's the rort?

Was there some sort of second contract or underhand payment?

No

Where's the rort?

Did he get paid what he was contracted to?

Yes

Where is the rort?

He did not get paid what he was contracted to. The purpose of a backended contract is to ensure that players are charged to their worth, the sacrifice of having Gasnier in your team during 2010 was to have his worth increased as years go by. But now that compromise will never be met, and it is setting a bad standard in regards to working around the cap. Most players near the end of their careers now will be signing for the minimum wage on a backended contract despite their intentions to retire within the year. This needs to be addressed immediately and all non-dragqueen fans can see this

bottle

Love how the halfwit is frothing at the mouth. Gaz just keeps giving, even when he's announced his retirement.
Spew out more bile you sad bastard, makes me laugh louder.

bottle

The true way is to win son. Just relax, you need more Valium. Try Toddy. It's helped Pus relax heaps.

Moffo

haha...one of the dumber footy players has pulled stumps. can i be first to say carefactor zero?

sauce spurting cutie

bs. even average players command more than that on a yearly basis. Gasnier played origin and is one of the more notable players of the decade. He should be on 400k per year not 150k and the Dragons should pay for their lies by losing 600k of their salary cap in 2012 and 2013

taxidriver

bs. even average players command more than that on a yearly basis. Gasnier played origin and is one of the more notable players of the decade. He should be on 400k per year not 150k and the Dragons should pay for their lies by losing 600k of their salary cap in 2012 and 2013

Gee, reading other threads I'd swear you thought gas was shit

Now he is one of the players of the decade!

Make up your mind son!!!!!!!