Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Mark Gasnier to retire...

RABK

Good player, on his day a great one, but a lack of consistency stopped him becoming the true NSW great he could have been.

I rate Hodges a fair bit higher.

ANTiLAG

Well at least Gaz protects his legacy with the Dragons fans. Next year and the year after when his backend was really felt, and you guys w/o Bennett and Boyd start to slip, would have been a little upset with a former superstar but now just better than average centre on massive bucks.

He did nothing in origin this year, so he is no loss to the game.

Wish him well in Union. Or I wish him well in his round 6 unretirement come back to help out the Dragons on a renegotiated and significantly lower contract adequate to what he is really worth.

RABK

And a couple of favourite moments - the night he tore the Roosters up including making prime Minichiello look a fool and his try assist for Cooper in Origin 2 2005.

MightyBronco

It will be interesting to see what the NRL does when the next club lines up a back ended contract.

Even though in theory the loser out of this is Gasnier, you can just tell that he is going to get his money anyway, somehow. Whats to stop the Dragons just giving him 400k a year for the next 2 years? Or giving him a soft job as a "backs coach"?

Its a little bit murky you have to admit. Hannah reckons so too.

Firey_Dragon

A players talent should have nothing to do with what they are worth under the salary cap. If Le Gaz wanted to play for $50k, so be it.

Exactly, he's the only one who loses out by retiring early. Anyone who thought he was worth more than $120k which he allegedly got paid last year for half a season really didn't pay much attention to our games anyway. He was well and truly off the pace for a large part of it, and this year he's getting paid his worth and playing like it.

taxidriver

Confirmed in today's paper (telegraph page 138 , Josh Massoud)

No impact to dragons cap at all over 2012 and 2013

Sweet!

Fingerbang

Sweet!
WOW....that is surprising, seeing bhp was adament he was going to ensure the NRL administered his proposed punishments.

:lol::lol:

Hutty1986

Well at least Gaz protects his legacy with the Dragons fans. Next year and the year after when his backend was really felt, and you guys w/o Bennett and Boyd start to slip, would have been a little upset with a former superstar but now just better than average centre on massive bucks.

He did nothing in origin this year, so he is no loss to the game.

Wish him well in Union. Or I wish him well in his round 6 unretirement come back to help out the Dragons on a renegotiated and significantly lower contract adequate to what he is really worth.

:lol: The myth continues. We have plenty of cover for Boyd & Steve Price will go very well. Keep trying to convince yourself though buddy

betcats

1. Gasnier signed a contract that was only allowed to be registered if it was backened.
2. Gasnier plays the first 2 years at very low wage.
3. Gasnier retires before his contract balloons.
4. The Dragons get Gasnier for about 1/4 of his total worth.

Tell me how this is not a salary cap breach?

It doesn't matter what he is worth, all that matters is that he didnt get paid more then his contract stipulated for each season. If he wants to play for unders then thats his choice.

f**king kids think they go to uni so now they know everything, f**k off back to Potts Point you spoiled little b*tch, everyone is over the crap you spew out all the time, you're obviously incapable of commenting on anything without bias.

nrlnrl

Every club is constantly back ending contracts...nothing the NRL can do.

exactly, clubs are severely restricted by salary cap & have to adjust contracts accordingly, it's not just a simple matter of saying "player x" is on $300K per year because his contract is $900K over 3 years

Hooch

Yeah I will still reckon Gaz had plenty to offer and could improve on his present form, if not be the player he was 5 years ago. Look at Cooper, I thought he was done a season or two ago, but he's going alright.

But if he's hearts not in it he's right to retire.

Still think we'll see him playing ruggers next year, touring France and eating strange cheese is a pricey hobby.

Ronnie Dobbs

Sweet!

But, but, but, but , but, but, butt bandit BHP said there would be. We'd have to lose 600k off our cap.

My wife works at Sydney Uni. I drive her to work every morning. Ima smack this little Potts Point scag addict upside da head wid da back'o'my hand when I see him. Shouldn't be too hard to spot the idiot sitting in a corner sucking his thumb and sticking pins into a voodoo doll in the Red V, telling anyone who'll listen that we're gonna get ours.

Idiot.

Doug2234

f**k me BHP is a crack up. Last years Grand Final lose still cuts him deep.

Not sure why you are all replying to him. Just leave him to spit the dummy alone. Sydney City Brown Paper bag supporters are the last who can comment on the salary cap. Its so funny i might take a dump in a fire exit...

Dragon Dave

Anyone who thinks Gasnier only played for 50K last year is dreaming. Third party payments would've made it alot more lucrative for him. You think he did all that work for 9 and the Daily Telegraph for nothing?

He came home to win a premiership with the club he loves, he did that. He has done everything in the game, has just started a family, and wants to go out while he is playing good footy. Not that 'suss.' As he has said a thousand times, the club knew months ago and therefore have been able to upgrade contracts for the next few years.

Now, bring on the next reason why the Dragons are cheating and don't deserve what they've earnt please.

It doesn't matter what he is worth, all that matters is that he didnt get paid more then his contract stipulated for each season. If he wants to play for unders then thats his choice.

f**king kids think they go to uni so now they know everything, f**k off back to Potts Point you spoiled little b*tch, everyone is over the crap you spew out all the time, you're obviously incapable of commenting on anything without bias.

How about you fk off mate. If players could play for unders then the Storm would've kept all their players including Inglis. so how about you stfu and look at things objectively dumbass

But, but, but, but , but, but, butt bandit BHP said there would be. We'd have to lose 600k off our cap.

My wife works at Sydney Uni. I drive her to work every morning. Ima smack this little Potts Point scag addict upside da head wid da back'o'my hand when I see him. Shouldn't be too hard to spot the idiot sitting in a corner sucking his thumb and sticking pins into a voodoo doll in the Red V, telling anyone who'll listen that we're gonna get ours.

Idiot.

Wrong uni :lol:

betcats

How about you fk off mate. If players could play for unders then the Storm would've kept all their players including Inglis. so how about you stfu and look at things objectively dumbass

Players can play for less then their market value IF THEY CHOOSE TOO. The storm players obviously didnt want to take pay cuts you idiot.