Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Marvel Super Heroes

Dezziedc

roflolololo @ the sooking going on in here which doesn't surprise me.

As a "one off" I think it works. Might go out and grab one.

How's this. Went to buy one today and my size has already sold out. So I had a look at some of the other jerseys and some of those have certain sizes sold out as well. So called the Dragons store and they had some left in my size - but they were down to the last 10.

The woman I spoke to basically said that the jerseys arrived on Friday but they weren't allowed to display them or advertise them until yesterday. She said the interest in this jersey has been absolutely underestimated - they have been on the phone all day yesterday and today fielding calls about it and posting out jerseys. She herself has bought 3 different ones and some people are buying all 5.

Unbelievable that sizes are selling out in under 2 days.

tumbidragon

Still can't believe we didn't jump on Godzilla 2014 as a promo gurnsey. Both the Dragons and Godzilla would make a sweet marketing combo. Woulda been epic as the big fella himself.

Godz Illa

I'm more than happy for the club to flog merch, even merch as ugly as this shyte. We've sold uglier, truth be told.
I just think making it our on-field jersey even for one game is selling ourselves short.

It's stupid looking, definitely. But we could use the revenue. If we win while we're wearing it I'll put up with it. I can pretty much cop any sort of heresy if we're winning. As long as we wear the Red V more often than we don't and, on those terms, as long as its it's sacrosanct for Grand Finals, whatever. I just want us to win. And I don't really care what sordid deals we've got to do to get there.

Dragonbaal

Not sure what all the hoo haa is about, it doesn't look much different to the jersey we wear when we wear illawarra's colours. I have seem alot worse especially that pathetic greay thing they made us wear in the charity shield a couple of years ago-what a disgrace to our club.

Wouldn't mind one but don't have the cash

Morotti

I wish that for this special jersey they had no sponsors on it. Just the dragons emblem. Now that would be awesome.

FYI it also is a good promotion for the game. Evidenced by us talking about the jerseys now. And that weekend of footy has already gotten media exposure and it is several weeks away.

I would expect that any jersey sold would have to pay a royalty to Marvel. but if that means we sell a whole lot more then that is good for the club so you can't complain.

Agree with the short term profiteering but only as it relates to home matches taken away from traditional areas. Am happy to play Roosters @ SFS and Rabbitohs @ SCG for the time being and then progress from there if crowd sizes warrant it and supporters warm to the idea. I don't like ANZ though and the only reason we play there is because of the money they give us.

Cagey Mac

Not sure what all the hoo haa is about, it doesn't look much different to the jersey we wear when we wear illawarra's colours. I have seem alot worse especially that pathetic greay thing they made us wear in the charity shield a couple of years ago-what a disgrace to our club.

Wouldn't mind one but don't have the cash

It's more like a Steeler's jersey than just Illawarra's colours, they even kept it ferrous!
Will we prove our mettle on day? :sarcasm:

DRAGONSNZ

At least you get the option, I emailed the club store and they said they couldn't get it sent to NZ, and if I get it from another online site, it will cost at least $300 Australian including taxes... you cant even buy Home or away jerseys.

jenninga

At least you get the option, I emailed the club store and they said they couldn't get it sent to NZ, and if I get it from another online site, it will cost at least $300 Australian including taxes... you cant even buy Home or away jerseys.

Better off getting a Jetstar return flight for $99 each way ,seeing our Dragons play and return home with a jersey.

DRAGONSNZ

You got any freinds/family in Aus DragonsNZ that could ship it out to you? Would cost a lot less than $300

Yeah I do mate but the last time I got a jersey shipped to a family member in Melbourne it took like 3 weeks to get there as it got lost in the national post and then a further week or so to get to NZ. I always have to wait for somebody to go to Australia and I always get someone to grab me a Saints home jersey. NZ sucks, Warriors, Roosters Rabbits Storm and Tigers over here.Good luck finding another teams merchandise .

And I would prefer the to fly over and watch a home game and get a jersey but I cant get time off until the start of next year.

Patorick

Focus on the positives you lot.

No stickers on your jersey this week.

I think.

The Nick

The alternate jersey I can understand. All teams and all codes have it. And ours is kind of classy this year, imo. The heritage jersey, when it occurs, I can also appreciate as it is celebrating something worthy and important. Even the Charity Shield jersey I can get behind - it?s a trial match, no biggie.

But rubbish like this I can not rationalise at all. It is selling out a vital element of what makes this club what it is, for a few pieces of silver. It?s bad enough that the red v has already become a gaudy V8 racing-style collage of sponsors; it?s bad enough that we?ve all but abandoned our traditional home grounds. But to whore out our revered uniform to any one entity ? let alone a Hollywood superhero franchise, the worst kind of commercial profiteering tripe ? is a bridge too far.

The ?for the kids? argument doesn?t work for me. Other sports are able to attract young fans without turning their jerseys into superhero outfits. I somehow managed to fall in love with St George in the early 80?s even though the club failed to attach it?s brand to Christopher Reeve?s Superman. The players themselves were my superheroes. I?ll be taking my young nephew to his first game in a few weeks, hoping he?ll be seduced just as I was at his age. It turns out he may be watching a 80 minute movie advertisement, instead of the historic, storied, beloved Red V of my youth.

Is nothing sacred in rugby league anymore? If the club itself does not care about the red v, then why should I?

I just read this. But LOL.