Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Discussion: Round 2 vs Parramatta @ CommBank Stadium, Parramatta / Burramattagal

Who will win? Round 2: Parramatta v Wests Tigers

• Parramatta Eels 13+

• Parramatta Eels 1-12

• Wests Tigers 1-12

• Wests Tigers 13+

Results are only viewable after voting.
Taylan update.

She didn’t show, case dismissed.

We can sign him I guess.

Then I’ll be burning my memberships.

No second chance from me.

There you go @Kilkenny, justice at work. The crap we don’t like.

The cops withdrew it, fmd, weak as piss.

Hand in your badges you cowards.

Our state of chaos.

Kilkenny

Taylan update.

We can sign him I guess.

Our state of chaos.
Very unfair on the police. I would suggest the alleged victim, may have become a hostile victim/witness no longer willing to follow thru with her complaint and not willing to give sworn testimony. Very little the police can do, happens all the time in DV related matters, just the way it is.

Yeah, I’ve read a bit more about it and I may have been a bit hasty.

Corrie wouldn’t adjourn it and the police could not offer any evidence.

The prosecutor was very experienced.

Taylan got his costs of ADVO proceedings because they breached him without cause. They simply didn’t know the terms had changed.

They made a mess of that part of it anyways.

But not a good result for the specialist domestic violence cops. They work hard.

I think his second chance is coming and it’s now on that he will be a Tiger.

And on the cusp of finals, I said I’d burn my memberships if that eventuated and I’m kind of stuck now.

So hopefully we don’t sign him.

But otherwise in a protest on behalf of dv victims I’ll have to set my 2025 Tigers membership alight.

Thank you for your insights and shining a light on it for us.

Kilkenny

Yeah, I’ve read a bit more about it and I may have been a bit hasty.

Corrie wouldn’t adjourn it and the police could not offer any evidence.

The prosecutor was very experienced.

Taylan got his costs of ADVO proceedings because they breached him without cause. They simply didn’t know the terms had changed.

They made a mess of that part of it anyways

I think his second chance is coming and it’s now on that he will be a Tiger.

And on the cusp of finals, I said I’d burn my memberships if that eventuated and I’m kind of stuck now.

So hopefully we don’t sign him.
Again I’m sorry to disagree the application for an interim AVO is mandatory. There is no if’s, but‘s or maybe’s the issue which resulted in this failed prosecution lays with the alleged victim who for whatever reason changed her position. Absolutely nothing the police or police prosecutors could have done differently, once the alleged victim is no longer onside the case is basically done. We should not promote a narrative that apportions blame on the police, i am confident they would have done everything in there power to persuade the alleged to attend court and give sworn testimony and they would have been supported by civilian staff , specialists in proving support to DV victims.

There it is, free as a bird or Tiger as appears to be the case.

Again I’m sorry to disagree the application for an interim AVO is mandatory. There is no if’s, but‘s or maybe’s the issue which resulted in this failed prosecution lays with the alleged victim who for whatever reason changed her position. Absolutely nothing the police or police prosecutors could have done differently, once the alleged victim is no longer onside the case is basically done. We should not promote a narrative that apportions blame on the police, i am confident they would have done everything in there power to persuade the alleged to attend court and give sworn testimony and they would have been supported by civilian staff , specialists in proving support to DV victims.

There it is, free as a bird or Tiger as appears to be the case.

Police had to pay Taylans costs because they wrongly breached him in the advo.

They screwed that up.

Police screw things up, you have to put away your rose coloured glasses.

They are essentially public servants.

Pezz70

Taylan update.

We can sign him I guess.

Our state of chaos.
Read the news article she didn’t show, she would’ve been subpoenaed, and the magistrate wouldn’t adjourn the matter for the cops to try to get her to court, as a result the cops couldn’t offer any evidence as they didn’t witness the assault. Mrs May’s sister was also subpoenaed and provided a medical certificate. So it’s really nothing to do with the cops. She had varied the AVO in October so that she could see him, according to the story.

Kilkenny

Police had to pay Taylans costs because they wrongly breached him in the advo.

They screwed that up.

Police screw things up.
OK, by inference are you asserting there was an additional charge preferred at some stage post initial charges (Assault and others) that he somehow breached the conditions of his original interim AVO. I’m not aware of that alleged breach, but it doesn’t alter the fact there is one person to blame in this sordid mess and it is not the police, no rose coloured glasses, it is the individual himself.

Good luck to Taylan i have never advocated he be rubbed out of the game, even if he was convicted. I am a believer in individuals getting a shot at redemption and given a second chance. I just don’t want to see a narrative this sorry mess and blame game falls at the feet of the Police. That is a nonsense.

OK, by inference are you asserting there was an additional charge preferred at some stage post initial charges (Assault and others) that he somehow breached the conditions of his original interim AVO. I’m not aware of that alleged breach, but it doesn’t alter the fact there is one person to blame in this sordid mess and it is not the police, no rose coloured glasses, it is the individual himself.

Good luck to Taylan i have never advocated he be rubbed out of the game, even if he was convicted. I am a believer in individuals getting a shot at redemption and given a second chance. I just don’t want to see a narrative this sorry mess and blame game falls at the feet of the Police. That is a nonsense.

Very ungracious of you.

Police where ordered to pay Taylan over $20k costs. Don’t tell me that’s satisfactory.

He wasn’t going to give evidence they said previously. Why was that? I’ll give you one guess.

You can give him a second chance, Im not interested. Your club wasn’t interested either.

Maybe the cops could have done a better job getting her to court?

I reckon 10 wins is a pass this season, nothing less.

I hope so as a minimum.

Based on last year, that would put us on 26 points and arriving in 12th place.

Same as the Broncos.

And within the market, but that was based on the positive halves pairing I think. Ranked 4th apparently.

Read the news article she didn’t show, she would’ve been subpoenaed, and the magistrate wouldn’t adjourn the matter for the cops to try to get her to court, as a result the cops couldn’t offer any evidence as they didn’t witness the assault. Mrs May’s sister was also subpoenaed and provided a medical certificate. So it’s really nothing to do with the cops. She had varied the AVO in October so that she could see him, according to the story.

All true, except they blew the ADVO matter. Butchered it. Whoever f**ked it up should pay for it.

We don’t pay them to arrest people who are innocent of the charge they want to lay.

Why didn’t they access the conditions of his ADVO that are kept on the court file? Wouldn’t have taken them more than a few minutes at best.

Kilkenny

Very ungracious of you.

Police where ordered to pay Taylan over $20k costs. Don’t tell me that’s satisfactory.

Thats the criminal justice system. Go figure.

Anyway I’ve tried to be objective, but clearly we are polar opposites on this issue so I’ve expressed my opinion in what i thought was an objective manner so i wont weight in further.

Cheers, i hope he goes well at the Tigers.

Nutz

Geez, is there any footy to talk about? We are playing the Eels apparently.
Anymore of this court, police, avo stuff maybe should go to the trash thread.

Geez, is there any footy to talk about? We are playing the Eels apparently.
Anymore of this court, police, avo stuff maybe should go to the trash thread.

Just some frustration. Taylan is coming I guess. I’m over with it.

Well the eels, let’s see, there’s no way on earth they can reproduce that first half v purple robots

Then we saw Ryles must have really got through to them at half time. Frightening to pull them back from the brink.

We will have some sorely missed talent back on deck.

Api plus JL is a very serious attacking proposition. Remember last year, no one kept up with Api, JL knows better.

There was criticism about the side defending the lead last week. I can’t see that v eels.

Nutz

Just some frustration. Taylan is coming I guess. I’m over with it.

Well the eels, let’s see, there’s no way on earth they can reproduce that first half v purple robots

Then we saw Ryles must have really got through to them at half time. Frightening to pull them back from the brink.

We will have some sorely missed talent back on deck.

Api plus JL is a very serious attacking proposition.
I agree.
Our halves played like they have never trained together.
Luai missing trials wasn't ideal. I know how you feel about trials but maybe you may agree a little bit more with me now.
We had to hit the ground running.
A great example is May. He was outstanding because that's how his trial form was and that's how he trained preseason.
He made a point by coming out and said my stats will be right up there.
I made him my Fantasy captain and he won me the rd.
Newcastle were beatable.

Kilkenny

All true, except they blew the ADVO matter. Butchered it. Whoever f**ked it up should pay for it.

We don’t pay them to arrest people who are innocent of the charge they want to lay.

Why didn’t they access the conditions of his ADVO that are kept on the court file? Wouldn’t have taken them more than a few minutes at best.

I apologise to the West Tigers fans who probably want me to piss off and i understand that.

One last point in respect to the above issues raised by Silverdale.

The Cops are in the exact same position with the charge of Breach AVO. They still need a victim to come to court and provide sworn testimony.

The alleged breach could have involved a multitude of things, contacting her, driving past her house, going to her work who knows but the charge would have been preferred based on a statement most likely provided by the victim in this matter.

Innocence and not being in a position to provide evidence in support of criminal charges is two different things altogether.

I agree.
Our halves played like they have never trained together.
Luai missing trials wasn't ideal. I know how you feel about trials but maybe you may agree a little bit more with me now.
We had to hit the ground running.
A great example is May. He was outstanding because that's how his trial form was and that's how he trained preseason.
He made a point by coming out and said my stats will be right up there.
I made him my Fantasy captain and he won me the rd.
Newcastle were beatable.

I think so, plus the best affair near the end there, the panic and chaos.

55 missed tackles really didn’t help the cause. I like to divide prospective tackles into classes:

1. Able to be tackled through circumstances and technique.

2. 50/50 shot through circumstances

3. Unable to be tackled effectively. Impeding opponent as fall back required.

And we really need to get more type 1 in.

Add size and things, and smaller players can only add 2 and 3, unless they know what they are doing and a good dash of courage.

I guess we need to cut down on our own self inflicted errors.

I also like us to get through sets and we need a lot more threat in attack.

That first ten minutes v knights was a high point for us game wise. I was shocked and awed! If we can do that, we will eventually meet all challenges and win.