Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Discussion: Round 7 vs Bulldogs @ Bankwest Stadium

Who will win? Round 7: Bulldogs v Wests Tigers

Obviously not making excuses, but those three injuries absolutely killed our momentum and we struggled to keep the defensive structure we had in first half. I honestly reckon if we hadn't had those injuries we would have won by 40+

I think that’s a big part of the game and why depth is critical.

It was a miraculous first half. Perhaps the best first half from any side since I can remember.

We know the side can play above and beyond.

More importantly, they know it too. We shouldn’t forget the massive positive side of it.

Tiger Ted

I think that’s a big part of the game and why depth is critical.

It was a miraculous first half. Perhaps the best first half from any side since I can remember.

We know the side can play above and beyond.

More importantly, they know it too. We shouldn’t forget the massive positive side of it.
Let’s not get carried away about a dominant 1st half against an attrocious lackey of ours who showed no resistance & were without there 2 most significant backs.The fact that Jennings & Mbye scored tries says it all.

We will get an accurate gauge of where we are over the next month.

Joey L probably got a proper reaming from the coach after the Newcastle game. He has been solid, without being spectacular...probably under coaches instruction.

Anyways if we beat the titans we are sitting comfortably in the 8 with this game in hand. Pretty important we win this game to keep the momentum going

Next 5 are

Dogs (should be winning)

Penrith (probably lean towards Penrith but anything can happen)

Souffs (their game this weekend should tell us where they are really at. 50/50)

Brisbane (should be winning, but I get the feeling Brisbane will click eventually)

Parra (don’t think we can beat them this year)

4/5 would be outstanding but I think 3/5 is more realistic

Honestly mate 3/5 would be phenomenal

At this stage all of those teams are full strength, by round 10 Brisbane will have Staggs, Fifita and Turpin back. Meanwhile we’re missing some keys players who won’t be back plus who knows who else might get injured in the next few weeks

I’ve said it before but our squad is lop sided in back rowers and hookers/halves. We’re missing 3 props and and now have a bench of 1 prop, 2 locks and an edge/center utility. We have 2 wingers in the entire squad. We’ve got injuries in the positions we can least cover

A win against the Dogs is non negotiable and we should be looking at the Broncos as a win too.

At full strength we can go with Souths and beat them if things go our way, Penrith we’ll still challenge as they struggle to score points but Eels are a bad match for us and have us covered. If we could jag one win over these 3 with the players we have missing it would be a great result.

Let’s not get carried away about a dominant 1st half against an attrocious lackey of ours who showed no resistance & were without there 2 most significant backs.The fact that Jennings & Mbye scored tries says it all.

We will get an accurate gauge of where we are over the next month.

Not carried away, but I think a totally dominant half like that is a massive boost to the players self esteem, belief and reflects well on the ability of Madge and the players to connect mentally.

He said he didn’t have to say too much to them at half time. In hindsight, he should have, but he will take that away as a lesson for him.

Very rare to see all of the players up at that heightened level. It was exhilarating.

3/5 would be great but I'm not going to think any further ahead than this weekend. The Dogs can win this game over us easily.

WA Tiger

I watched the first half again yesterday and Reynolds was rocking the first half...quick thinking quick passing and accurate..Jennings actually looked reasonable on attack ..Musgrove is a huge loss ..He looks like a kid but he’s massive..would be good on the wing..

whenever Brookes hits the spot when running with the ball and he has to decide to throw long or dummy or short pass of whatever he just held onto the ball 3 times and went nowhere ...Does he actually plan ahead ??

Pezz70

BS, as Unknown said, bar the Titans game we are travelling OK.
I think you should be prepared to be surprised.

I hope we win them all but it ain’t gonna happen, I’m thinking we’re 10-12 best case scenario and could be as low as 14th this season. Unfortunately the Tigers don’t have a first half v NQld or a Canberra game in them each week. Happy to be proven wrong but realistically we’re impotent in attack and soft too often in defence

Happy to be proven wrong but realistically we’re impotent in attack and soft too often in defence

This sums us up doesn't it. We look a better team but I think we still require some better cattle in certain positions. The players do also have to develop some consistency. I suppose that is the coaches problem but Maguire in my opinion makes good decisions consistently. I know we lost Matterson because Maguire appears to be a tough coach but what do you do ?

super_coach

At full strength we could push teams like Penrith Souths, Bronks,Knights and even the Storm but really are long long odds against the Chooks,Parra and Manly. Although with our current injury woes we are not certain to beat anyone.
I still think we are looking at just missing the eight once again, mainly based on our draw

Tiger Ted

At full strength we could push teams like Penrith Souths, Bronks,Knights and even the Storm but really are long long odds against the Chooks,Parra and Manly. Although with our current injury woes we are not certain to beat anyone.
I still think we are looking at just missing the eight once again, mainly based on our draw
Unfortunately the original pre-COVID draw was very favourable to us unlike the more arduous rebooted comp draw

Fordy20

Arduous is one way to put it.

Eels twice, Panthers twice, we've yet to play perennial front runners like the Rorters, Storm and Manly, plus we have the added bonus of going up against the Knights again who made us look like children last time we played them. If we win half of our games this season, I'll be impressed.

I don’t too think too many of us have studied their backline.

Say dwz and Hoppo jnr and the rest of the dogs seem stock.

I think mbye is just too inconsistent to be captain. A captain should be 65% competent and I’m always fearful he will have another ordinary of forgettable game. After last year, he’s a 50/50 good or bad a bit of a lucky dip player. He’s a good guy, yeah, but....

Onto the halves, I’ve barely heard of their half back, sheesh brooksy, if you can’t totally dominate this kid, you will never reach halfback nirvana.

The wily veterans Foran and Reynolds are an issue. They both struggle for consistency as well these days. Quality thinkers, but they both lack quality bodies to see the mental effort home. I think they balance out. Good and bad with both.

The pack. Harry is an absolute superstar and all signs are he’s still on the up. He needs more games, but his defence is great already. Alo needs to bring his big game of death. In my humble view, he is about most capable player In the nrl when he has a blinder.

I rate Jackson and if he’s up, we are in for a hard evening, same with Napa.

We have a stronger bench, but Sue is pretty capable. MCK is strong and agile, but often time’s, I think he can be his own worst enemy.

But that’s something that can be worked on.Hopefully before his career is over!

I think it will be a wrestle, but the game is definitely there to be won.

If is a factory win, I fear for the finals, but if we get the edge, I’d feel more comfy. A few key outs, but if we don’t win, ninth would be optimum.

Seen in this way, it could be our season. Can’t pin it all on Harry and pray. He’s not even meant to be in the squad. But he fits like a glove, answers all questions, barely starting out. Looks like he’s enjoying himself too.

WA Tiger

At this stage all of those teams are full strength, by round 10 Brisbane will have Staggs, Fifita and Turpin back. Meanwhile we’re missing some keys players who won’t be back plus who knows who else might get injured in the next few weeks

I’ve said it before but our squad is lop sided in back rowers and hookers/halves. We’re missing 3 props and and now have a bench of 1 prop, 2 locks and an edge/center utility. We have 2 wingers in the entire squad. We’ve got injuries in the positions we can least cover

A win against the Dogs is non negotiable and we should be looking at the Broncos as a win too.

At full strength we can go with Souths and beat them if things go our way, Penrith we’ll still challenge as they struggle to score points but Eels are a bad match for us and have us covered. If we could jag one win over these 3 with the players we have missing it would be a great result.
The Boys would lift for that Eels game but...The ones that were here when Mad Son left anyway..He insulted Madge too recently ..(With a couple of players back from injury)

Mario chalmers

Pretty good assessment mate.

Lack of impact from Seyfarth and Clark has influenced your assessment I suspect? They have been very ordinary. We're not going to compete with top sides rolling out those guys. They get bullied by the better packs.

In the backs there is a glaring shortage you're 100% right. I can't see any easy way to bring anyone in. We only have one spot now right?

Suggested player moves (not based on anything other than pure speculation / hope I should add)
Titans are heavy on props and have Wallace and Boyd rumoured to be leaving. Maybe they would look at McQueen who might be from up that way originally?
Would the Warriors look at an ET in coming weeks? They have a young pack and could do with some experience.
Eisenhuth might be a chance at moving if its clear he is not going to be offered a new WT deal. He's been subject of plenty of rumours. The Dragons have something like 3 roster spots left to fill.
Oliver Clark is another with no prospect of a new deal and I'm sure I read somewhere that he had interests outside of footy?

Of any potential incomings Utoikamanu is the obvious one. if him and Blore are on the bench by year end I would be pleased. If we can free up any other spots by moving the guys above outside backs would be top of the list.
Rhys Martin was awesome in his brief period on the edge for Canterbury and is the best goalkicker anywhere in RL. Currently playing for Leeds in SL. With an 80% goalkicker we might have made the Top 8 in recent times!

Fordy20

Rhys Martin was awesome in his brief period on the edge for Canterbury and is the best goalkicker anywhere in RL. Currently playing for Leeds in SL. With an 80% goalkicker we might have made the Top 8 in recent times!

Goal kicking has been a problem for us for a while. Isaako is on the outer at the Broncos, I wonder if he would be worth a look. We are pretty light on outside backs.

We are in it deep if we can’t send the dogs packing.

It’s a must win game if we want to make any meaningful impression this year.

That second half attack from the roosters tonight- look how it starts on their 10 and they are almost always launching an attack on the other line by the fifth. They pressure up in defence and force the error. It was a masterclass without key players. Organised chaos.

They have a whole of side effort before their guns start firing.

We need this type of focus, composure and game plan. Blokes at speed from the ruck. Energy, power, agility.

As soon as they got behind, they changed gears. Credit to the dragons for the scare.,

Pezz70

Pretty happy with that half, Mbye was actually pretty good, forwards had some
Real sting in defence. Brooks quiet but did nothing wrong and his defence was committed. Hope they keep it up. Completion rate could’ve been better but....