Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Matthew Johns sex scandal in 2002

Dazzat

Here's a new concept. Imagine if society started promoting that sex should be left until marriage ... wow ... that would fix the whole 'consensual' debate. But I guess that's all too simple and profound to be accepted in a forum like this.

After reading many of the posts on this forum, I can see why most marriages these days end in divorce. Seems most males don't consider they need to treat a woman well ... you just take what you can get heh ... it's all about the p*nis.

I posted something about 'treating a woman like a princess' and got disrespect. No surprise there I suppose.

There is no defending the actions of the Cronulla players in New Zealand ... none! Absolutely disgusting.

Fein

Here's a new concept. Imagine if society started promoting that sex should be left until marriage ... wow ... that would fix the whole 'consensual' debate. But I guess that's all too simple and profound to be accepted in a forum like this.

After reading many of the posts on this forum, I can see why most marriages these days end in divorce. Seems most males don't consider they need to treat a woman well ... you just take what you can get heh ... it's all about the p*nis.

I posted something about 'treating a woman like a princess' and got disrespect. No surprise there I suppose.

There is no defending the actions of the Cronulla players in New Zealand ... none! Absolutely disgusting.

Lady Godiva, that is a high horse you have there.

Lego_Man

http://news.smh.com.au/breaking-new...as-destroyed-my-life-woman-20090511-b0ok.html

This is a pretty good summary of the program content for those who didn't watch, as far as the Sharks/Johns incident and Gallop's overall response goes.

LOL, what's her problem? It's clear she already had mental issues, which is why she consented to being a groupie whore in the first place. Dont be blaming it on the boys who wanted some action and found a willing participant.

She's responsible for her actions as Reg is.

Sam I Am

Well said and I'm glad someone's highlighted that. It sounds like it's all well and good for these women to parade themselves around and act like pieces of meat. Both sides of the fence need to learn to respect themselves.

The poor woman asleep in her room in a university dormitory was hardly parading herself around. In her sleep.

On a final note I’m considering lodging an official complaint with the ACMA in regards to the display of pornographic images. Pictures of erect penises have no place on television. If you want to see that rubbish, go rent a porno. Who approved that crap?

Just so you don't make a bigger fool of yourself, make sure you read the ABC Code of Practice, because it is breaches of that Code that you can report to ACMA with respect to last night's program.

Specifically read:

• 2.2 This Code is not intended to ban certain types of
    language or images from bona fide dramatic or
    literary treatments, nor is it intended to exclude
    such references from legitimate reportage, debate
    or documentaries.
  • 2.6 Sex and Sexuality. Provided it is handled with
    integrity, any of the following treatments of sex
    and sexuality may be appropriate and necessary:
    • it can be discussed and reported in the
    context of news, current affairs, information
    or documentary programs
    • it can be referred to in drama, comedy,
    lyrics or fictional programs
    • it can be depicted or implied.
In short the code has not been breached.

Mortar

LOL, what's her problem? It's clear she already had mental issues, which is why she consented to being a groupie whore in the first place. Dont be blaming it on the boys who wanted some action and found a willing participant.

She's responsible for her actions as Reg is.

Spot on.

Hard to feel sorry for a s**t complaining about being treated like a s**t.

bartman, if you think that article accurately summarises the 48 minute program you've either not watched it all, watched it in part, or closed your eyes and blocked your ears for half of it.
f**kin hell Tim, I said the article was a good summary of the stuff in the show about the Johns incident, and of Gallop's response... never claimed it was a blow by blow of the whole show :roll:. People who hadn't watched the show had asked in this thread for a recap, and I couldn't be arsed typing it all out...

I wonder if Reg will continue to lick women on the ear.

I reckon we won't be seeing Reg for a while. It won't surprise me if Matthew Johns suddenly develops some health problems that cause him to stand down from his Ch 9 work for a month or two, to remove him from the spotlight in the hope this all blows over.

macavity

I want league’s image cleaned up as much as the next person. I don’t want other codes’ players to be committing similar sins and escaping it. I don’t want players private lives, their sexual lives, made public unless a criminal accusation is made and later proven. I don’t want every groupie thinking they can make a quick buck (as no doubt Palavi did). I want a better future for this game but my fear is with the media climate (i.e. saturation) that even the innocent incidents that may occur, and in some cases complete lack of incidents, that our game may not be able to clean that up, simply due to the amount of people out there seeking to damage the sport we love.

top post Timbo.

Steve Burraston was on ABC radio Newcastle this morning about the show.

The Knights opened their doors to 4 Corners for 3 weeks as he believes we have nothing to hide - that it is no good doing the right thing behind closed doors, you need to do the right thing and be seen to be doing it as well.

4 Corners told the Knights the show would be about RL's drinking culture and how clubs handled it / were trying to change it. Obviously the focus ended up being very very different to what they were told. Burro wasn't entirely happy, but understood that as 4 Corners investigated the story took on its own life.

As a club we have sacked Tilse, Seu Seu, Fai Fai Loa, not signed Taumata after agreeing to terms, and declined to re-sign the likes of Perry & Newton (whole other story). I think we have made some positive steps to creating a very positive culture, not that it isn't an every day battle.

The producer/presenter was very compliamentary about the club - said that we are a beacon of light in the code. I am happy with that - not that I didn't cringe when some of our dopey u20s said stupid things.

I would like to hope that Simon Williams was either taken out of context or didn't think about what he said. I hope. Regardless I am sure he will be getting a talking to by a great number of people in the coming days.

Having said that, you get any group of 17-20yos in a room, and they will say stupid things - I went to a selective private school (heh) and things just as stupid were said on a daily basis.

I too am looking forward to the story on AFL's culture.

Flapper

I blame Ray Hadley

I just heard him questioning Palavi's motives and morals on his morning now. About time, I guess.

I think this is the bottom as far as sexual damage towards NRL and the mistreatment of women, it can only go up from here through more education and harsher punishments for the degradation of a woman. Even if a girl wants to have sex with the whole Sharks team (god knows why), as much as it is behind closed doors, both sides have to be able to recognise the alarm bells surrounding that situation.

There will always be women throwing themselves at footballers, it should be shown to a footballer how to avoid this situation and instead try to foster a relationship with someone without the sole focus of her talking to you being the fact you play footy. Nothing but a quick burst of satisfaction can come from it, and as has been shown, can come back to bite you on the balls. And, not meaning to generalise, but a lot of these women wil probably already have self-image issues and it does have the potential to destroy someone mentally.

Basically, while some players do have a bad attitude towards women which isn't good, I have a feeling those images will turn around in light of this.

Wow...

Ever heard of feeling the nuances in the body movements of the person you are with? Whether they are equally participating (as opposed to just lying there and copping it), or whether they tense up if things are too hard, fast or at the wrong angle, or respecting and communicating with the other party while you are sharing a physical experience...

There are so many ways that men can gauge consent before and during sex without it simply being a test of the absence of the word NO.

One of the problems of rooting people you don't know well is of course that you aren't familiar with their particular signals nor of their possible reactions to the situation. Couple this with risky behaviour like group sex with a person you don't understand, and the potential for trouble is magnified.

I just heard him questioning Palavi's motives and morals on his morning now. About time, I guess.

I think this is the bottom as far as sexual damage towards NRL and the mistreatment of women, it can only go up from here through more education and harsher punishments for the degradation of a woman. Even if a girl wants to have sex with the whole Sharks team (god knows why), as much as it is behind closed doors, both sides have to be able to recognise the alarm bells surrounding that situation.

There will always be women throwing themselves at footballers, it should be shown to a footballer how to avoid this situation and instead try to foster a relationship with someone without the sole focus of her talking to you being the fact you play footy. Nothing but a quick burst of satisfaction can come from it, and as has been shown, can come back to bite you on the balls. And, not meaning to generalise, but a lot of these women wil probably already have self-image issues and it does have the potential to destroy someone mentally.

Basically, while some players do have a bad attitude towards women which isn't good, I have a feeling those images will turn around in light of this.

I recall a quote from Matthew Johns saying that he knew this would come back to bite him on the bum. Just begs the question, "Why do it in the first place?"

The poor woman asleep in her room in a university dormitory was hardly parading herself around. In her sleep.
Where did implicitly state she was? That particular woman I do feel sorry for. The NRL took the appropriate action against Tilse and I do believe he should've been rubbed out for longer. By all means, take my point out of context but at least get it right.
Just so you don't make a bigger fool of yourself, make sure you read the ABC Code of Practice, because it is breaches of that Code that you can report to ACMA with respect to last night's program.

Specifically read:

• 2.2 This Code is not intended to ban certain types of
    language or images from bona fide dramatic or
    literary treatments, nor is it intended to exclude
    such references from legitimate reportage, debate
    or documentaries.
  • 2.6 Sex and Sexuality. Provided it is handled with
    integrity, any of the following treatments of sex
    and sexuality may be appropriate and necessary:
    • it can be discussed and reported in the
    context of news, current affairs, information
    or documentary programs
    • it can be referred to in drama, comedy,
    lyrics or fictional programs
    • it can be depicted or implied.
In short the code has not been breached.
Looked like Charmayne was showing off her "glory wall" more than anything. I'd strongly debate the integrity of the use of those pictures given the source too. They did nothing to assist the story.

As a final point, wake up to yourself when it comes to arguing - this isn't about personal matters. I don't know you and you don't me. Play the ball, not the man.

Joker's Wild

Are you being serious or just taking the piss?

Check your clock mate, the 1950s are long gone

God-King Dean

Sam I Am

As a final point, wake up to yourself when it comes to arguing - this isn't about personal matters. I don't know you and you don't me. Play the ball, not the man.

Wake up to yourself, Flaccid. Talk about hypocritical:

Here are some of your comments from the last few days:

You've been caught out again, chump.

If I was a lawyer I would say that I have title to you.