Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Merrin asks for release

TheRev

Fact and they can still buy a fullback, winger in Bmoz and the matautai bros
it does want even make sense, what would they do with 3x Matautai, 2xMorris, Lafai, and whoever else they have waiting around the wings.

The BMoz interest is over, they cast their net wide, now we have to pick up the pieces.

TheViking

it does want even make sense, what would they do with 3x Matautai, 2xMorris, Lafai, and whoever else they have waiting around the wings.

The BMoz interest is over, they cast their net wide, now we have to pick up the pieces.

I wouldn't necessarily agree with that.

I think you will find the BMoz situation is far from over.

I'd imagine he is the one they are pushing for hard for 2015. Throw him on the wing to replace Mitch Brown. Leave Perrett at fullback. Curtis Rona competes with Thompson for the wing spot. Lafai & Morris are in the centres with Loko & Stanley as depth.

In 2016 IF the Mata'Utai brothers do head to Bulldogs, I would think the plan is to play Sione at fullback as Perrett will likely retire that year. Thompson only got a 1 year extension so he will be off contract, as will Stanley as will Loko.

Leaving Chanel to fight a wing spot with Rona. Morris brothers and Lafai and Sione form the backline. Keeping in mind at that stage the Morris boys will be 30.

The Mata'Utai boys may well yet be persuaded to stay with Newcastle. Morris may well not leave the Dragons. There is a lot of things here to be seen yet.

BennyV

I wouldn't necessarily agree with that.

I think you will find the BMoz situation is far from over.

I'd imagine he is the one they are pushing for hard for 2015. Throw him on the wing to replace Mitch Brown. Leave Perrett at fullback. Curtis Rona competes with Thompson for the wing spot. Lafai & Morris are in the centres with Loko & Stanley as depth.

In 2016 IF the Mata'Utai brothers do head to Bulldogs, I would think the plan is to play Sione at fullback as Perrett will likely retire that year. Thompson only got a 1 year extension so he will be off contract, as will Stanley as will Loko.

Leaving Chanel to fight a wing spot with Rona. Morris brothers and Lafai and Sione form the backline. Keeping in mind at that stage the Morris boys will be 30.

The Mata'Utai boys may well yet be persuaded to stay with Newcastle. Morris may well not leave the Dragons. There is a lot of things here to be seen yet.

Good lord, so much dribble...

So the dogs will pay Brett $600k on the wing, with a $450k 19 year old at fullback, 2 recently upgraded and highly sought after centres, 3 boom youngsters (all highly sought after) competing for another wing spot in Rona, Lolo and Chanel...all this outside the NSW halves and most expensive forward pack in the comp, most of whom have been recently upgraded? All this thanks to the loss of Mitch Brown?

Bitch please!

The signing of the Mata'Utai brothers indicates the loss of interest in Brett. You just better hope that they dont pull out last minute when they realise how dodgey the deals are, a la Fifita.

For a bulldogs fan, you spend an insane amount of time on the dragons forum...weak trolling? Or dogs fans just not providing the same intel?

bottle

I think he's Dessie.
Mental, under the radar, calves blood...
He certainly knows a lot about the Dogs plans, for someone who knows shit.
BMoz $600K to play on the wing.
:lol::lol::lol:
Still, if you have an unlimited cap anything is possible I suppose.

gonz

Yes you may be right.......Dogs, Souths, Easts........they all seem to be on the same page of this is how to manipulate the Salary Cap......We are still trying to read the note pad version.....

Bogus 3rd party companies ?

TheViking

So the dogs will pay Brett $600k on the wing, with a $450k 19 year old at fullback, 2 recently upgraded and highly sought after centres, 3 boom youngsters (all highly sought after) competing for another wing spot in Rona, Lolo and Chanel...all this outside the NSW halves and most expensive forward pack in the comp, most of whom have been recently upgraded? All this thanks to the loss of Mitch Brown?

Bitch please!

The signing of the Mata'Utai brothers indicates the loss of interest in Brett. You just better hope that they dont pull out last minute when they realise how dodgey the deals are, a la Fifita.

For a bulldogs fan, you spend an insane amount of time on the dragons forum...weak trolling? Or dogs fans just not providing the same intel?

We will see.

So far all is true bar the Brett Morris thing so perhaps reevaluate your view, if they don't it's the only one I am off on. All the rest is in place. You can be cranky at this though it's not dribble. It's just because your club is ran extremely poorly and has to pay overs to sign anyone.

I love how you forget blokes like Barba gone, Inu released, Brown going there are others that are fringe top 25 players leaving. Lichaa not being paid anywhere near what Ennis was (as in a couple hundred thousand per year less).

These are things you seem to easily dismiss.

It is quiet clear that the Dogs have money. They pulled out of the Fifita deal. The money is there from Barba. With the 3rd party top ups and no doubt incentives it was widely known the Dogs had 850k a year to throw at Fifita. That could quiet easily pay Morris.

2016 is a different year. A different cap. At this point of time the Mata'Utai boys are going to be there then if nothing changes. At this time you may see the likes of Perrett, Pritchard retire. If you believe the reports like you claim for Sione and Morris's pay that clears over 750k a year. More then enough.

A lot could happen. Brett may not come. Sione may not come. Dogs may sign someone completely random like the Fifita deal. Though just because you say no and you can't understand it doesn't mean it isn't true. Again the only one that is yet to be brought to a head is the Brett Morris situation. If he signs what I have said is the most likely thing to happen.

I post here because it's a free world? Some people on here are able to discuss in detail and without resorting to petty childish insults because they disagree. I post in any part that I spot something interesting.

rainman44

We will see.

So far all is true bar the Brett Morris thing so perhaps readjust your view, if they don't it's the only one I am off on. All the rest is in place. You can be cranky at this though it's not dribble. It's just because your club is ran extremely poorly and has to pay overs to sign anyone.

I love how you forget blokes like Barba gone, Inu released, Brown going there are others that are fringe top 25 players leaving. Lichaa not being paid anywhere near what Ennis was (as in a couple hundred thousand per year less).

It is quiet clear that the Dogs have money. They pulled out of the Fifita deal. The money is there from Barba. With the 3rd party top ups and no doubt incentives it was widely known the Dogs had 850k a year to throw at Fifita. That could quiet easily pay Morris.

2016 is a different year. A different cap. At this point of time the Mata'Utai boys are going to be there then if nothing changes. At this time you may see the likes of Perrett, Pritchard retire. If you believe the reports like you claim for Sione and Morris's pay that clears over 750k a year. More then enough.

A lot could happen. Brett may not come. Sione may not come. Dogs may sign someone completely random like the Fifita deal. Though just because you say no and you can't understand it doesn't mean it isn't true. Again the only one that is yet to be brought to a head is the Brett Morris situation. If he signs what I have said is the most likely thing to happen.

I post here because it's a free world? Some people on here are able to discuss in detail and without resorting to petty childish insults because they disagree. I post in any part that I spot something interesting.
The dogs have bogus third party deals and this cheating system is designed for them the broncos,roosters and the storm. Crowds are down because its the same teams every couple of years, its a joke and everyone knows it bar the teams that cheat, your forwards are the salary cap you fool.

rainman44

You were going to get Fifita for $850k ha ha, the dogs cant even be shifty about it as the rorting is so obvious, Greenburg saved them with that one. Oh and they wanted a fullback pleeeeeeease........... Once a cheat always a cheat.

BennyV

We will see.

So far all is true bar the Brett Morris thing so perhaps reevaluate your view, if they don't it's the only one I am off on. All the rest is in place. You can be cranky at this though it's not dribble. It's just because your club is ran extremely poorly and has to pay overs to sign anyone.

Barba? Has a single breakout year, wouldnt have been on much prior to that. Inu? Didnt you just claim that he was being partially paid by Warriors? Other fringers - who? Perrett and Brown? So that gives them the ability to upgrade Graham, Tolman, Finucane, Lafai, Morris, Kasiano, Klemmer, Lloyd Perrett, Tim Browne, Jackson, Eastwood (none of whom would be cheap due to competition in the market) plus purchase the likes of Lichaa, Loko and the Mata'Utai bros, none of whom would come cheap again. And you reckon you can nab a winger for $600k?

Again, please! Its like those Roosters fans who claimed SBW was signed for less that $500k in 2012, yet when he left he was suddenly leaving a million dollar of spare cap.

I am under no illusions about how poorly my club is run and the fact that the dogs have their house in order. We have one of the the two most marketable and recognizable brands in the league and we cant get our shit together. But this isnt about that. This is the dodgey dealings of your club. Dont believe what Raelene fed you about Dogs backing out of the Fifita deal, its known widely that he pulled the plug when he realised that less than half his salary was guaranteed under the cap and the rest was in TPAs, which he waant confident about. If the dogs have that kind of pull, fine, but i will go on record as saying that kind of thing is representative of everything that is wrong with our game.

2002 must have hurt bro. But if you honestly think that the Dogs are on the straight and narrow since, and everything they do is above board, then you are the delusional one. Having Uncle Todd in the position he is in doesnt hinder the efforts either.

rainman44

Barba? Has a single breakout year, wouldnt have been on much prior to that. Inu? Didnt you just claim that he was being partially paid by Warriors? Other fringers - who? Perrett and Brown? So that gives them the ability to upgrade Graham, Tolman, Finucane, Lafai, Morris, Kasiano, Klemmer, Lloyd Perrett, Tim Browne, Jackson, Eastwood (none of whom would be cheap due to competition in the market) plus purchase the likes of Lichaa, Loko and the Mata'Utai bros, none of whom would come cheap again. And you reckon you can nab a winger for $600k?

Again, please! Its like those Roosters fans who claimed SBW was signed for less that $500k in 2012, yet when he left he was suddenly leaving a million dollar of spare cap.

I am under no illusions about how poorly my club is run and the fact that the dogs have their house in order. We have one of the the two most marketable and recognizable brands in the league and we cant get our shit together. But this isnt about that. This is the dodgey dealings of your club. Dont believe what Raelene fed you about Dogs backing out of the Fifita deal, its known widely that he pulled the plug when he realised that less than half his salary was guaranteed under the cap and the rest was in TPAs, which he waant confident about. If the dogs have that kind of pull, fine, but i will go on record as saying that kind of thing is representative of everything that is wrong with our game.

2002 must have hurt bro. But if you honestly think that the Dogs are on the straight and narrow since, and everything they do is above board, then you are the delusional one. Having Uncle Todd in the position he is in doesnt hinder the efforts either.
Well said mate.

TheViking

(Starting to see how your so far off. Barba was the Dogs TOP try scorer WHEN he re-signed in 2011 MAINLY OFF THE BENCH, this was the year before his Dally M. He was coming through the ranks and had as much hype as SBW, JT etc coming through. Many clubs attempted to poach him. When Klemmer went through this we paid him 330k a year so it's reported. Barba's hype was much bigger. It was also said when he join Brisbane he is not to earn more then his current deal at 450k a year for the year he was contracted. The back end of his contract is much bigger by the Broncos.

Inu was, like Loko is now paid heavily in his first 12 months with the club. That had passed with Inu. Meaning he was paid by the Dogs and off the Warriors books now. Unlike Loko for the Eels.)

I don't need to argue with you about what you believe players are worth or paid in the forward pack. Half the players you listed were not re-signed this year nor upgraded this year meaning it is irrelevant and your off topic.
Regardless of what you may have in your head, the club has had all of them on the books and are on the books wrapped up. The Mata'Utai boys have signed with the club and unless they pull out to stay with Knights will be with the club. That is in 2016. I'll say it again as you have missed it about 4-5 times. IT IS FOR 2016. In 2016 Pritchard, Perrett and who knows else will likely retire. They are on a reported 750k between them. At that stage Chase Stanley and Thompson are also off contract. They may well not be retained if the Mata'Utai boys come along. Fifita was signed for 2015. NO ONE has been signed since then. Do you really think the Dogs are going to leave that money sitting still waiting for 2016 when more money could come from 2015 players moving on? I don't. I expect the money that was there for Fifita to be spent on someone. The word around and the overall feeling and call it a gut instinct is that will be Brett Morris. He has not denied the request for a release in a month? The Dragons have basically confirmed he wants out with the reports they have put out. It almost sounds like an attempt to soften a blow coming. I am not the first to say this. Infact several Dragon fans have said it through out.

You have also ignored the fact Lichaa much like Loko is on a substantial less amount then Ennis and Inu. You can continue to ignore that but it is a fact. )

(It's nothing like that at all)

(Ok, I won't believe the CEO of a club that is ran well. I'll believe a poster on a forum. For the record Fifita himself stated he was upset with the money under the cap yes. 450K under the cap for the first year, for the record that isn't less then half of 850k so you know. The club pulled out because he had said some very stupid things and no doubt realized they don't need another forward. It was widely reported that several members of the Board of the Dogs were EXTREMELY UNHAPPY with this signing and sore it as a knee jerk reaction as they Dogs had been saying for almost 12 months at that time they will being signing a "Rock Star" with Barba's money)

(More pointless comments. I don't really care what you think about Todd or Castle. There is a reason he was promoted to where he is. Because he is very very good at his job. This is why the Dogs are in the place they are. Castle was hand picked and no doubt if she continues doing what she is we are again heading in the right direction. I am happy for forum members to question this. It means they wish they had them instead of the incompetent people they do have running their club.)

I will break it down per reply. Refer to the brackets.

rainman44

Fifita said those things after the dogs knew the nrl and every other team and fans were on to them, so they made out the offer was not that much. Greenberg told the dogs to let it go, it was the dogs that backed out before Fifita came out and said what he did.

TheViking

Fifita said those things after the dogs knew the nrl and every other team and fans were on to them, so they made out the offer was not that much. Greenberg told the dogs to let it go, it was the dogs that backed out before Fifita came out and said what he did.

I see. Is this before or after they gave out tin hats? You can believe that nonsense if it helps you sleep. I will stick with the reality.

The NRL cleared the Dogs of any wrong doings what so ever. Nothing was wrong with the contract what so ever.

It came down to Fifita wanting more guaranteed under the cap in which he was not getting. HE announced he was joining the Dogs BEFORE the club did, he had not signed the final contract in which is where all the problems came from. IF he had of waited he would of seen that had it explained and no problems. It is not standard for the player to come out announce he is leaving and say he is crying about leaving to his team mates as if he doesn't want to come. Especially being paid 850k to do so. Alarm bells went off clearly.

It is the same as he was blabbing about the Union money. Yet Union came out and said they were offering nothing near that. His manager and himself were driving his price up.

Again some board members never wanted him and were not happy he was even signed at all for the money he was on.

Beyond all of this, the point is very simple and undeniable. The NRL cleared the Dogs of anything wrong and the contract was all fine and legal and on the up and up. Meaning... The money is there for 2015... Which is what I have said and has been argued with.

The 2016 signings of the brothers is a different year, a different cap. In which you will likely see Pritchard & Perrett retire. Break it down. It's not that hard when people think rather then just disagree because it isn't how they want it.

TheViking

Why are you even in this forum you do realise everyone here hates those dirty grubby merkin sock dogs.

Again didn't realize people can't talk beyond petty childish things like this. It is a forum. It is designed to talk football. I am glad to hear the comments though. It is a sign of envy.

I am not trolling. I am just trying to talk footy with people as most people are capable of putting up valid and interesting views beyond childish comments.

You are a troll you try and hide behind a I am a good Dogs supporter but they don't have any you supporter a club with no integrity so off you go you little maggot.

Ronnie Dobbs

Again didn't realize people can't talk beyond petty childish things like this. It is a forum. It is designed to talk football. I am glad to hear the comments though. It is a sign of envy.

I am not trolling. I am just trying to talk footy with people as most people are capable of putting up valid and interesting views beyond childish comments.

Lick my balls and suck my dick.