Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Misi Taulapapa - the biggest grub of them all

Frailty

Basically, Misi came into stop a cronulla player from being driving backwards, but just struck and injured Tongue. It deserves a few weeks, but thread is a massive over reaction.

skeepe

Basically, Misi came into stop a cronulla player from being driving backwards, but just struck and injured Tongue. It deserves a few weeks, but thread is a massive over reaction.

You're deluded if you think that's what happened.

The real story: Two Raiders players make a tackle, one of them being Alan Tongue. Taulapapa is hovering around the fringes, and spots that Alan Tongue's ribs are open. He charges in, drops the shoulder into Tongue's ribs, take him out of the tackle and then pushes him. As a result, Tongue has rib cartiladge damage and will be out for up to 4 weeks. He still played on for a set or two, God bless him, but he was in real pain.

Basically, Taulapapa came in with the sole intent to cause injury and should have been sent from the field.

Kiki

but like skeepe said - there is one rule for sydney teams and another rule for raiders/warriors/cowboys/storm. The AFL does exactly the same with melbourne teams always given the rub of the green.

PFFT...paranoid much??

jimmythehand

tommy smith hit the nail on the head, it was just a brain snap. not a cheap shot.

If anything, it was just a rugby union play. Does he have a background yawning?

God-King Dean

It deserves a few weeks, but thread is a massive over reaction.

I knew it would be once I saw the author of the thread.

I actually got a pic of him off Fox Sports when a Raiders player got his butt exposed.

amy_0.jpg

Frailty

You're deluded if you think that's what happened.

The real story: Two Raiders players make a tackle, one of them being Alan Tongue. Taulapapa is hovering around the fringes, and spots that Alan Tongue's ribs are open. He charges in, drops the shoulder into Tongue's ribs, take him out of the tackle and then pushes him. As a result, Tongue has rib cartiladge damage and will be out for up to 4 weeks. He still played on for a set or two, God bless him, but he was in real pain.

Basically, Taulapapa came in with the sole intent to cause injury and should have been sent from the field.

Sorry I'm deluded for not claiming that he went in with the sole intent to hurt tongue. Get over it you wanker. As I've said already a number fo times, deserves 3-4 weeks. I also said he struck tongue, not 'miss the cronulla player and got tongue'. But hey, I forgot I'm just a part of the Sydney conspiracy!

Pete Cash

tommy smith hit the nail on the head, it was just a brain snap. not a cheap shot.

If anything, it was just a rugby union play. Does he have a background yawning?

If hitting a bloke who is essentially defenceless because he is tied up in a tackle and is not expecting the hit isn't a cheap shot.. I am confused as to what would be.

I mean saying he should be rubbed out for the year is a little much, but I really don't get what else he could have been doing with that action besides trying to injure Tongue. What else can come from charging in on a player who is making a tackle, essentially blind-siding him and snapping him in the ribs.

Brain snap or not it was a cheap shot.

Patorick

The fact that it was on Alan Tongue is what makes it even more of a cheap act.

mave

he should have been sent off. i know raiders players have been sent off for far less than that. that ridiculous woolford send off against manly a few years ago comes to mind. but like skeepe said - there is one rule for sydney teams and another rule for raiders/warriors/cowboys/storm. The AFL does exactly the same with melbourne teams always given the rub of the green.

Gee, what a wanker.

Was I dreaming when sitting in the grandstand at Canberra Stadium watching Manly's (you know....the Sydney team) Adam Cuthberson get sent off.

I have seen a lot worse only put on report but I think I have the answer..... It's a conspiracy against all Sydney teams, especially Manly.:roll:

Scorpio30

I reckon the Sharks should use the Dragons on field defense of Wes Naiqama - "he doesn't know the rules, sir!".

Far from a very low dog act i thought it was just a brain explosion. Tongue was performing the ritual act of driving his ball-carrying teammate that extra yard downfield as is common practice these days.

And i reckon Misi got carried away and tried to stop the Albino from helping his teammate out...only he went too far.

No malicious intent IMO. Just a brain snap...we're all susceptible to them. I recall playing soccer once and, whilst defending in the penalty area the ball arrived at my feet and my respsone was to, inexplicably, pick the bloody thing up! To this day i just dont know what went through my head. It was just a brain snap.

I sympathise, Misi.

Either that or for a split second he mistook Alan Tongue for Silas from the Da Vinci code. So in an act of self-defesne he may have been trying to tighten the cilice around the albino's leg.

Exactly

S.R.

If we stop players from lifting and carrying a player backwards in a tackle, players wouldn't have to help out their teammate who has 3 blokes driving him. Misi would have had no reason to even get involved.

Misi was simply trying to stop the momentum of the tackle, and went in a little too hard. Looked ugly, but he had no intent to injure anyone.

1 week at the most, if anything. Any more will be a reaction to a media beat up over the "Wing Prowler" thing.

Skeepe has gone off abit much here, as per usual, but hell he loves his side and he's a fair dinkum fan. So we'll ignore his over the top attitude and look at the incident on its merits

Miss ya papa comes in hits a bloke full force for no reason and put him out of the game for probably 4-6 weeks, imo his suspension in this case should at least match the time tongue is out for... it was a very very low act. Im sure he's a nice guy and it was probably just a brain snap as he doesnt strike me as the paul gallen sort of bloke, but he did the crime, he must do the time and it'd want to be reasonably stiff

While it stands to reason that they'll be out similar periods, I strongly disagree with the length of injury correlating to the length of suspension. Sometimes it doesn't match up with the crime. I mean it in a general sense btw, not this particular instance.

You are right, some times it doesnt, but when its a cheap shot of this calibre, i think it does match the crime.
If it was accidently, maybe a lazy high shot or something, fine but this was deliberate and nasty and he has ZERO justification or defence, crime should match the resulting injury to alan tongue in this instance imo

Saw skeepe had started the thread...... didn't need to read much more. Master of the overstatement.

It will be interesting to see how the media handle this. I mean Tongue is no Craig Wing, but there is not a major difference between the two tackles (Brown on Wing) as both were blindsided.
Will also be interesting to see how the judiciary handle this.

Skeepe has gone off abit much here, as per usual, but hell he loves his side and he's a fair dinkum fan. So we'll ignore his over the top attitude and look at the incident on its merits

Miss ya papa comes in hits a bloke full force for no reason and put him out of the game for probably 4-6 weeks, imo his suspension in this case should at least match the time tongue is out for... it was a very very low act. Im sure he's a nice guy and it was probably just a brain snap as he doesnt strike me as the paul gallen sort of bloke, but he did the crime, he must do the time and it'd want to be reasonably stiff

:lol: :lol:

Your poor little things, I wonder how some of you sweethearts got interested in RL in the first place. He was just trying to help out in the ruck like every player does in every freakin' game this year but went a bit far in his interpretation, except for the fact that Tongue got injured, deserved a penalty and you got one.

Enjoy mad Monday watching grown men run around naked, girls.

It will be interesting to see how the media handle this. I mean Tongue is no Craig Wing, but there is not a major difference between the two tackles (Brown on Wing) as both were blindsided.
Will also be interesting to see how the judiciary handle this.

Actually mate, there is a massive difference
craig wing had the football so by the letter of the law, Brown was well within his rights to hit him. It was cheap and nasty but not illegal since wing had the ball and the tackle wasnt complete

Tongue didnt have the footy, nor were canberra even in control of the footy, he was effecting a tackle and was blindsided by a player for no reason. The end result being our captain having a rib injury

for mine thats a fairly large difference

:lol: :lol:

Your poor little things, I wonder how some of you sweethearts got interested in RL in the first place. He was just trying to help out in the ruck like every player does in every freakin' game this year but went a bit far in his interpretation, except for the fact that Tongue got injured, deserved a penalty and you got one.

Enjoy mad Monday watching grown men run around naked, girls.

I wouldnt expect sharks fans to understand the point being made, i mean this is a supporters base who continually defend the actions of one paul gallen... If you want to watch a code where grown men cheap shotting each is the norm, piss off to AFL.
League is ment to be a tough man's game, and there was nothing tough about Missi's shot on tongue

I wouldnt expect sharks fans to understand the point being made, i mean this is a supporters base who continually defend the actions of one paul gallen... If you want to watch a code where grown men cheap shotting each is the norm, piss off to AFL.
League is ment to be a tough man's game, and there was nothing tough about Missi's shot on tongue

I would expect you and your other effeminate mates to sook and whinge and blame and cry foul about everything after every loss though.

Fact is that the rules are against you on this one, although I won't be completely suprised to see the judiciary bend the rules for you sooks, but if Toungue didn't get injured it would have only been a penalty.

Which is what your team got.