Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Mitch Rein needs to go

Godz Illa

Mitch tries hard. No-one is saying he doesn't. He tries hard. He does. If he was a plucky backrower or nuggety prop that would be just great. Even the errors and penalties would be expected.

The problem is trying hard and never getting injured is simply not enough for such an important position in a rugby league team - especially if it's every week, and especially for 80 minutes every week.

pinkmoon

Well well,both grandfinalists were clinical,the 2 best sides usually do play off in the GF.
When you finish your Rein rant,is there anyone else in the 25 man Dragon squad you aren't happy with,or is it only Rein who sh*ts you.

I haven't been ranting, i've been discussing...to rant would be to aggressively call for his head, use excessive profanities, and attack him personally. I have simply stated that I do not think he is up to the job, and explained why I don't think he is up to the job; isn't that the point of the forum Einstein?

And yes, I used the two best sides from last years GF, because thats our yardstick...anything else you need explained?

DRAGONSNZ

Under a new coach the pack will become good. Au Mau will probably be lucky to play any NRL game again. He may get picked up by Newtown or the Bears. Same for Will Matthews.

Harrison, Merrin, Hunt, Creagh, Frizzell, Joel Thompson, Jack De Belin and Stockwell will imporve immensely. Harrisson, Hunt and Creagh just need to go beack to their high standards again as they have proven before that they can play at a high. A wealth of Finals footy experience between the 3. All part of Grand Final teams.

Mate your losing it, the first two just need to pack there bags and leave right now, Hunt is the worst prop in the world I swear, and Creagh is not to bad, he is carrying these guys on his shoulders, a good experienced captain in the J Smith mould would have been better than Creagh, it looks like captaincy has ruined a top class player..

pinkmoon

He is mate... fkn awful, he has no nuts when he runs and fn Halfbacks are rushing up on him... no intimidation what so ever look at Kasiano, a big ugly mofo... might as well put doust and price out there

you'll hear no argument from me. I thought he played some good football under Bennett, but he has gone downhill under Price. I think the bulk of the squad is absolutely capable with a decent coach, but Hunt is probably an exception. The injuries seem to have slowed him down to a standstill and he should probably be moved on.

watatank

IMO people seem to think he's a quality prospect ruined by a shit coach and has been to made look bad by others when really he's just another average player (maybe not even that) whose number one supporter just happens to be the shit coach

Minh

He is mate... fkn awful, he has no nuts when he runs and fn Halfbacks are rushing up on him... no intimidation what so ever look at Kasiano, a big ugly mofo... might as well put doust and price out there

Hunt is ineffective......but he's a Price favorite.

jenninga

I haven't been ranting, i've been discussing...to rant would be to aggressively call for his head, use excessive profanities, and attack him personally. I have simply stated that I do not think he is up to the job, and explained why I don't think he is up to the job; isn't that the point of the forum Einstein?

And yes, I used the two best sides from last years GF, because thats our yardstick...anything else you need explained?

:lol::lol::lol:
Not far off

Mr Red

Mitch tries hard. No-one is saying he doesn't. He tries hard. He does. If he was a plucky backrower or nuggety prop that would be just great. Even the errors and penalties would be expected.

The problem is trying hard and never getting injured is simply not enough for such an important position in a rugby league team - especially if it's every week, and especially for 80 minutes every week.

agree.
and this "they're trying hard" approach is what Price is using to select the whole team week in week out... sure they may try hard, but if they simply lack the fundamental skills and "footy smarts" needed then they wont be winning many games purely on trying hard...

big pat

Reckon Mitch Rein wishes Prior was still with us.
Wow we have a pack of forwards who have been abysmal lately and you pick on one guy,the only guy who busts his arse more than half the others.And the solution is even more absurd,to promote Garvey,who was so out of place last time he played 1st grade,then another dill wants Witt.

they say goodbye to weyman, and keep hunt go figure.

giboz71

Its a tough one to read. Rein has some decent games and something tells me with the right pack of forwards and the right coach, he would go well.

No one in our team is going well right now, yep, and its most likely as a the result of the coach.

Beau Scott and Soward are two examples of players recapturing form after leaving us. Heck even Vidot and Chase Stanley look pretty decent in their new teams, certainly a lot better than their clueless efforts at the dragons.

Rein is a good player, just playing in a very bad team right now.

j0nesy

KPIs in rugby league, now ive heard it all. How about this KPI - win more f**king games than you lose and win all finals games. Oh my goodness. The players aren't the root-cause of the issues... Oh no, its rubbing off on me... Shit I should be in club "senior management".

smi962

When Mary was mic'd up for sterlo, I enjoyed the advice to rein in the warm up to pass the ball in front of the player so he can run onto it, lol

ellskimore

Reckon Mitch Rein wishes Prior was still with us.
Wow we have a pack of forwards who have been abysmal lately and you pick on one guy,the only guy who busts his arse more than half the others.And the solution is even more absurd,to promote Garvey,who was so out of place last time he played 1st grade,then another dill wants Witt.

Did you really expect people to make any sense in this thread? Have you had a good look at this place?

140113.jpg

Efresh

Rein isn't a star, but he is one of the few players who has improved under Price. Unfortunately, that improvement has been in basic skills that he should have had in the first place.

Godz Illa

Souths have re-signed Issac Luke. We should be sniffing around his understudies. Both Korosau and McInnes would be big upgrades on Rein. Announce the 2015 coach asap so he can identify this massive gap and start recruiting.
Well we've missed one of these already. Api Koroisau apparently linking with Penrith next year. The Panthers, who mind you have James Segeyaro already, wisely strengthening this key area. We should have been all over that