Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Mitchell "Passenger" Pearce

I Bleed Maroon

Haha sorry, but suggesting Pearce was somehow a crucial part of the Roosters Premiership is a laughable premise. He rode on the backs of much, much better players. Maloney and SBW being just a couple. And before anyone starts bleating on, Perry was helped in a big way by standouts in Lockyer, Berrigan and Webcke.

His performances in State Of Origin say as much about Pearce as you will ever need to know.

Bigfella

I thought he probably did enough to be retained by steering his team to the premiership.

However being spotted by the daily telegraph at the justin Bieber concert recently has undone all that good work.

Need to start looking now

Haha sorry, but suggesting Pearce was somehow a crucial part of the Roosters Premiership is a laughable premise. He rode on the backs of much, much better players. Maloney and SBW being just a couple. And before anyone starts bleating on, Perry was helped in a big way by standouts in Lockyer, Berrigan and Webcke.

His performances in State Of Origin say as much about Pearce as you will ever need to know.

I think the coach & players would be better judges than both you & I, probably any others in this thread. Saying he was simply a passenger suggests you knowledge of RL is sparse at best. I'm no pearce fan at all in any way shape or form, but to suggest he was nothing but a passenger is laughable.

Again, what did the Johns & Newcastle comments have to do with being the least deserving GF ring bearer in recent years after I nominated Perry compared to Pearce ?

God-King Dean

Pearce has been in the top 5 or 10 for each category nearly every year for the past 4-5 years.

The denial and glossing over of facts is amazing on here. He's been a good club halfback for a number of years now.

I have nothing against Pearce, he's a decent player. I've even said I'd have him at Dragons. I don't even have anything against him at rep level - he doesn't choose to play shit.

I hate the selectors. How he gets selected when he so obviously not up to it, & how Channel 9 arselickers, & selectors continue to defend his performances. How there's halves who played equally as bad, or better, get dumped yet he's untouchable. And as IBM pointed out, most likely grooming him for captaincy.

Zigwaa

I have nothing against Pearce, he's a decent player. I've even said I'd have him at Dragons. I don't even have anything against him at rep level - he doesn't choose to play shit.

I hate the selectors. How he gets selected when he so obviously not up to it, & how Channel 9 arselickers, & selectors continue to defend his performances. How there's halves who played equally as bad, or better, get dumped yet he's untouchable. And as IBM pointed out, most likely grooming him for captaincy.

This.

Godz Illa

and he has never had a genuine shocker (of the Paul Cariage/Lote Tuqiri in origin/Darren Lockyer's first test for Australia variety).
Qld lead 8-4 midway through the second half of the 2013 Origin decider. The Blues have the uppper hand and have made a big break down the left hand side of the field through Jennings. The Maroons are shot to pieces as the ball swings back to the right with NSW poised to strike... the ball gets to the playmaker Pearce and:

2ictr_zps586d71ba.gif

Porkie

Qld lead 8-4 midway through the second half of the 2013 Origin decider. The Blues have the uppper hand and have made a big break down the left hand side of the field through Jennings. The Maroons are shot to pieces as the ball swings back to the right with NSW poised to strike... the ball gets to the playmaker Pearce and:

:lol: Exactly.

As it played out and before the myth got the ball, I stated to anyone who would listen..."now watch Myth stuff it up..." and , bingo, this very play on the next pass. lol.

The bloke is too predictable and not up to S.O.O. football. Good club player, but can't adapt to what is required at SOO level. He's had more than enough chances and has consistently proven to be at least one cut below the mark. Yet the dopey NSW selectors just keep picking him. And picking him...and picking him.

I fear that until we get rid of Bozo, Mccarthy and Gerrard from the NSW setup, we are doomed. No one wants to upset Junior Pearce and that's the problem.

Origin level, especially against this current Qld mob who are the Maroons greatest ever, is about two or three steps up in class from NRL football. No more is this so than it is for halfbacks.

And Pearce isn't good enough to dominate at that level. He has the potential to be solid, but be a matchwinner? Rarely.

Cant blame the man for that ...it's not as if he doesn't bust his arse trying. He just ain't in Thurston's class.

At club level however he was a beast in 2013 ... it's at a level where he can dominate. Not to mention he's in a great team with a great coach so he can develop combinations.

He'd be a top 3 NRL halfback for sure (with JT at 5/8). Both he, Cronk and DCE are way above the rest atm. But don't let that get in the way of a good mindless bashing of the bloke.

Pretty fair. Fact is no one in NSW can match Thurston, Smith, Cronk, Inglis, Lockyer for pure match winning ability.

Haha sorry, but suggesting Pearce was somehow a crucial part of the Roosters Premiership is a laughable premise.

:lol: end yourself

morley101

And who should be the NSW halfback?
Reynolds.... showed he was out of his depth in the end of season games.

And who should be the NSW halfback?
Reynolds.... showed he was out of his depth in the end of season games.

Hi Laurie.
You & The point are worlds apart.
How will we ever KNOW if Reynolds or any other no 7 are up to rep footy when they are not given a chance.

What we do know for certain after many yrs of failure is that PEARCE is way out of his depth at rep level..

I would give Reynolds a shot just on his far superior kicking game.
You know your no 7 is shit when Third man gets more repeat sets .

Yet the NSW selectors ,coach & Pearce cheer squad keep selecting him/defending him .

This describes the Pearce fan club perfectly

"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results."

Joker's Wild

Pretty fair. Fact is no one in NSW can match Thurston, Smith, Cronk, Inglis, Lockyer for pure match winning ability.

True enough mate and in all reality no one is expecting him match them

What we want however is a halfback who is up to rep standard, fullstop. Not a halfback who has a famous name and shits his dacks when presented with opportunities (see gif above).

Roosters fans can love him, I get it. NSW fans have every right to hate seeing his name read out every year for NSW though

LatK7

2ictr_zps586d71ba.gif

Every time I see that...there's just no excuse for that...

Chook

Bag him all you want, we love him and that's all that matters.

Did I mention I watched him win the Grand Final again last night.:lol:

Chook.