Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Mitchell Pearce

I'd agree with that. I've been openly critical of Pearce up until now, but on Wednesday night I thought the same thing- that he was constantly targeting Oates' corner, no more than 20 metres out from their line and doing it to keep Qld pinned up in that section of the field. If NSW give away a penalty from the ensuring set of 6 by Qld, chances are they won't be close to defending their own line.

Pearce was perfectly fine playing to a structure that'd obviously been rehearsed all week. He struggles with those 'ad-lib' plays that Cronk or JT do so well at. It's like he's made his mind up two tackles out what kick he's going to put up- and sticks with it even if, when it gets to the 5th tackle, there's an overlap he could capitalise on or there's too many Maroons defenders bunched up in his kicking range who can take the grubber on the full (e.g Gagai).

That actually wasn't the game plan, Daley said that kicking to Oates just panned out that way.

https://www.google.co.nz/amp/s/coup...n/news-story/402afb574e47db3b252eea075aa77a7f

It does make sense, all Pearce knows is how to put up a useless kick on the 5th and playing on that side of the field it would be where his kicks would go.

That actually wasn't the game plan, Daley said that kicking to Oates just panned out that way.

https://www.google.co.nz/amp/s/coup...n/news-story/402afb574e47db3b252eea075aa77a7f

It does make sense, all Pearce knows is how to put up a useless kick on the 5th and playing on that side of the field it would be where his kicks would go.
I hate Pearce more than anyone id say but this is bullshit from Daley. The issue with the kicks were that they weren't high enough for pressure to be put on Oates

Tweed Titan

So was that not the worst QLD team in 11 years? Yes it f**king was. Was that one of our biggest game 1 wins ever? Yes it f**king was. Did our forwards completely own theirs? Yes they did.

It was a high quality game no doubt but it was the easiest win NSW have had in an origin game that matters for over ten years you biased knob, if you cant even acknowledge that you are truly worthless in this conversation. How many of QLDs forwards get a run in NSW you reckon? lol .
This apparent "student of the game" doesn't understand that playing in the halves is a hell of a lot easier when your forwards absolutely steamroll the opposition pack.

Well I guess all students do start in Kindergarten after all.

Tweed Titan

I guess because one was from a debutant, and the other from NSWs most capped halfback in origin... equal with johns, and more than all of the other great halves that the blues have had since 1980.
I wanted to like your post, but the thought of the facts you bring to light actually make me want to cry.

Tweed Titan

I did think we looked better without him on the park though. I honestly think James Maloney is the best halfback for NSW and we should pick a five-eighth to go along with him.
Don't talk sense mate, you'll upset Mitch's fan club on here.

It's too late to drop him now, he shouldn't have been picked in the first place but granted we won the game he must be there for game two.

If Qld pick a decent forward pack for game two I think emperor Pearce will be exposed with his new clothes on.

big hit!

I'm one of his biggest critics but he got a pass mark for mine.

I did think we looked better without him on the park though. I honestly think James Maloney is the best halfback for NSW and we should pick a five-eighth to go along with him.

looked better? well that's a fairly subjective comment if i ever saw one.

didn't those merkins cross the line 2 or 3 times too while Pearce was off? difference was they were held up or had the ball knocked out or taken out in goal? another night and they're tries. fine line.

nah, let's jerk on about Pearce

OldPanther

looked better? well that's a fairly subjective comment if i ever saw one.

didn't those merkins cross the line 2 or 3 times too while Pearce was off? difference was they were held up or had the ball knocked out or taken out in goal? another night and they're tries. fine line.

nah, let's jerk on about Pearce

QLD will come out with a point to prove in game 2 and we won't be as dominant. We'll get to see what he's really made of than in my opinion. With luck he has a point of his own to prove.

Are you wanking under your Pearce shrine as you type this.

:joy::joy::joy::joy::joy::joy::joy::joy:

Yet no one wants to advocate an alternative.

Cronk, Milford? nah

Maloney was no different in attack than Pearce sticking to the same tactic of pinning Oates in the corner. He tried one short kick for touch that went about 2 metres before being scooped up. Maloney had 2 line breaks (both assisted) with Pearce having 3 tackle breaks compared to 1

Defensively it is not even a contest. Maloney had 8 missed tackles from 21 attempts, 8!! with 0 one on one tackles. At least 2 of those missed tackles resulted in line breaks. Pearce had 3 missed tackles from 23 in 30 less minutes including a game high 7 one on one tackles.

myrrh ken

Maloney is less rocks and more diamonds. He will miss tackles but create tries.

Pearce's stats were adequate, but he created nothing.

You need a Maloney to win a game.

Caped Crusader

Haha Maloney was head and shoulders above the other 3, easily. I'm really astounded anyone could see it any differently without trolling.

If you are relying on defensive stats to prove who was the better half then you're pushing shit up hill my friend

Haha Maloney was head and shoulders above the other 3, easily. I'm really astounded anyone could see it any differently without trolling.

If you are relying on defensive stats to prove who was the better half then you're pushing shit up hill my friend

That's one aspect. I mentioned attacking stats too. You all have a right of reply to articulate your reasoning as to why or how maloney was better in that first 50 minutes beyond the vitriolic rubbish you posted in the first paragraph above.

Maloney outplays Pearce regularly in big games. The Grand Final 2013 for example.

Lol this is such a stupid pointless comparison.
Maloney doesn't have anywhere near the platform to play without Pearce's influence. The difference was noticeable when Hastings was forced to step up in 2015.

Also see Keary the last 2 weeks without Pearce. Far less effective attack.

Caped Crusader

That's one aspect. I mentioned attacking stats too. You all have a right of reply to articulate your reasoning as to why or how maloney was better in that first 50 minutes beyond the vitriolic rubbish you posted in the first paragraph above.
You mean like Maloneys 2 line breaks to Pearces none. He ran for twice as many metres but only made one more run. 1 offload to Pearces none.

Add to the above the fact that Pearce made 2 very, very poor grabber kick choices in the first half

But hey, they are only stats in the end. Maloney looked far more involved and composed in the 1st 50. If we are fair dinkum too, he looked far more dangerous

Maloney should've been the Clive Churchill medalist that day

Actually, it should have been Sonny Bill. He set up the try for SKD, and then made the bust which got us in field position for the Jennings try. Surprising how both the breaks which lead to those two tries came about due to missed tackles by DCE.