Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Move the GF to Brisbane / Melbourne

Coaster

Im a Queenslander, and have no problem going to Sydney for the GF.

I do not think it should be moved, its the GF, i would fly to Afghanistan to watch it when the Titans make it this year.

why not have it in melbourne? save us the trip to sydney every year for the next decade or so.

Lambretta

Brisbane deserves it before Melbourne ever does

This is undoubtedly true - but you could argue, quite justifyably in my opinion, that the NRL Grand Final should go to all three Cities.

Yes Sydney is the true spirtual home of the Grand Final, but if we want to be fair dinkum about having a forward thinking sport that maximises it's commercial opportunities for the betterment of the code, then we'd be insane not to consider the benefits that Queensland and Victoria can bring to our sport.

Imagine the Grand Final at the MCG with their capacity. A Grand Final of epic proportions down in the Capital City of AFL. They talk about bringing AFL to Western Sydney - well I believe that Western Sydney should take it's own brilliant code to Melbourne and let the Victorians have a taste of what our Grand Final is like.

And with Brisbane, why shouldnt the Queensland State Government be able to pay through the bloody nose to get to host a couple of Grand Finals each decade? We shouldnt let them have it cheaply - they'll have to earn it - but share the love? Certainly. We love money, so you pay and we'll f**k you good and proper.

If Brisbane ever got an 80,000 all seater, high sided, rectangular stadium you know they'd build it properly and we should encourage them to do so. After all, bigger crowds means more money and thats better for the game.

I'm all for recognising tradition and the part it plays in the past, but if the future is about a commercially successful product, then tradition goes to the highest bidder. It's how you build success in the modern World.

Each decade, 6 Grand Finals in Sydney, 2 in Brisbane, 2 in Melbourne.

Make our code the one that "Goes National" and make us money into the bargain.

beave

Kungl's on the money with what I meant.

Saints + Souths + Canterbury = 10,704 +,10,431 + 7,973 = 29,108
Broncos + Titans + Cowboys = 12,132 + 7,814 + 4,510 = 24,456

Do the math, NSW's top three teams have more members combined than QLD's three teams.

As for assertions NSW is dragging the chain... :lol: The Cowboys and Titans' figures are absolutely pissweak. Not sure why the Cows are, maybe indifferent form? Titans is just too expensive.

Same goes for Manly & the Roosters down here, Penrith too.

cowboys numbers p!ssweak??????? most sydney clubs would love to have 8k ticketed members after playing like busted a$$es for 2 years straight, you can sit here and jaw off all you like, but you have only 100 odd more ticketed members than us, and considering the price of our season tickets and the fact the dogs were a top 2 side last year and we were painful to watch, you should be bagging out your own numbers than laying the boot into us. I will bag out my team when warranted but seriously, you are being a clown with that above comment.

Our prices for season tickets are one of the highest in the league, it's a miracle we have almost 8k as it is................... our non-ticketed membership numbers will be released shortly, i wouldn't be sprised if we have 4-5k in that category in it's first year of existence.

Glenn

there was Talk of moving the GF to Brisbane and Melbourne a while back Defantely a good move. Im not sure whats going on up there in Sydney to make them want to do this.. It had something to do with the lack of crowd figures.. or support of fans for there club..

First move it to Brisbane. Where the True Die hard fans of Rugby League live. No one deserve's to have it more then the Queenslanders.

Then the following year. Bring it down to Melbourne the home of rugby leagues Super Power. the whole CITY of melbourne would embrace it and it would sell out. No one knows how to enjoy ANY sporting event better then a Melbournian.

Come on season start already....:crazy:

LESStar58

there was Talk of moving the GF to Brisbane and Melbourne a while back Defantely a good move. Im not sure whats going on up there in Sydney to make them want to do this.. It had something to do with the lack of crowd figures.. or support of fans for there club..

First move it to Brisbane. Where the True Die hard fans of Rugby League live. No one deserve's to have it more then the Queenslanders.

Then the following year. Bring it down to Melbourne the home of rugby leagues Super Power. the whole CITY of melbourne would embrace it and it would sell out. No one knows how to enjoy ANY sporting event better then a Melbournian.

There was talk of moving it to Melbourne in light of the afterglow of our magnificent premiership victory but it was all hot air and spiel to play up to the mongoloids in Melbourne who don't watch rugby league.

It will be played in Brisbane before anywhere else.

Every one of the last 5 grand finals has featured a non-Sydney team. 2006 featured TWO non-Sydney teams. Those fans had to travel interstate.

Suck it up, league is bigger than Sydney. If it's two Sydney teams, then it makes sense for the game to be played at ANZ. Otherwise, it should be rotated between Sydney Bris and Melbourne. Reckon Victorians will ever embrace Rugby League if they have to travel to Sydney to watch their team play in a GF?

Until Brisbane is capable of catering to 80,000 people or more, it will never and should never host the NRL Grand Final. Freezing 30,000 people out of the Grand Final is a death sentence for the game.

As for your "if it's x and y team play it here, if it's t and z team play it here" assertion, do you understand how the event is planned? :lol:

cowboys numbers p!ssweak??????? most sydney clubs would love to have 8k ticketed members after playing like busted a$$es for 2 years straight, you can sit here and jaw off all you like, but you have only 100 odd more ticketed members than us, and considering the price of our season tickets and the fact the dogs were a top 2 side last year and we were painful to watch, you should be bagging out your own numbers than laying the boot into us. I will bag out my team when warranted but seriously, you are being a clown with that above comment.

Our prices for season tickets are one of the highest in the league, it's a miracle we have almost 8k as it is................... our non-ticketed membership numbers will be released shortly, i wouldn't be sprised if we have 4-5k in that category in it's first year of existence.

Yes, pissweak. Sydney clubs would love to have 8k ticketed members and three of them do, one of them after playing like busted for the best part of 40 years (Souths, if you missed it).

The fact we have more ticketed members than you at all is a miracle - you're a one town team with your nearest opposition some 1,300km down the road, the Bulldogs have three teams within a twenty minute drive of them and 8 within 2 hours drive. You're comparing apples with oranges mate. NQ and the Gold Coast should be doing MUCH better than they are.

Yeah but Sydney also has a population of 4 million which split among nine teams is more than 400,000 per club, and that's not taking Wollongong and other periferal areas into account. Townsville is 175,000. To get anywhere near that 400,000 mark you'd have to include Cairns, which is three hours drive away, and a whole heap of other towns up to four hours away. Now that's apples and oranges.

one minded 'traditional' dinosaurs like you that our games constantly on a knifes edge, NFL run it like a business.. look at thier success and popularity. We could learn alot from them, tampa one year miami the next, superbowl still sells out

Traditional one minded? I want to maximise the amount of people who can attend. Melbourne might be a consideration if it can put up the money but it should not go to a market that cannot offer more than say, 75 to 80k crowds. Brisbane is not capable of that.

sacrifice 20,000 seats at a gf to grow the game? why not. Or god forbid people travel to melbourne from sydney to pack out the G like storm fans always have too.

Sacrifice 20,000 to grow? :lol:

League is already "growing" in Brisbane - hosted the WC final in 2008, has had a number of big matches awarded to it, particularly at an international level.

Why then, would you take RL's biggest product and freeze 30,000 fans out of it? You're saying be progressive and then contradicting yourself in the same breath.

1 Eyed TEZZA

sacrifice 20,000 seats at a gf to grow the game? why not. Or god forbid people travel to melbourne from sydney to pack out the G like storm fans always have too.

Iv only been to 2 Grand Finals in my lifetime, but it was amazing how many Dragons fans were at the 09 GF. Cant speak for the 3 GF's previous, but id imagine that most were not Storm fans.

taxidriver

because we love our city and don't need to escape a sh*thole like you do

beave

Until Brisbane is capable of catering to 80,000 people or more, it will never and should never host the NRL Grand Final. Freezing 30,000 people out of the Grand Final is a death sentence for the game.

As for your "if it's x and y team play it here, if it's t and z team play it here" assertion, do you understand how the event is planned? :lol:

Yes, pissweak. Sydney clubs would love to have 8k ticketed members and three of them do, one of them after playing like busted for the best part of 40 years (Souths, if you missed it).

The fact we have more ticketed members than you at all is a miracle - you're a one town team with your nearest opposition some 1,300km down the road, the Bulldogs have three teams within a twenty minute drive of them and 8 within 2 hours drive. You're comparing apples with oranges mate. NQ and the Gold Coast should be doing MUCH better than they are.

Have you actually been any further north than Brisbane???? Do you realise that Townsville has a population of 170k????? We rely heavily on other areas like Mackay and Cairns to bolster our crowds, and guess what, they are both over 350kms away. You clowns down south whinge and put up deluxe excuses for $hit crowds if a game is held at the SFS because you little sweethearts may have to pay $15 for parking...................... or god help your obese a$$es, walk the 20 mins from Central station to attend said game. God knows how you would get a crowd or season ticket holders down there if you had the same obstacles as some up here.......................

And don't try and throw south's into the equation, you are comparing a team that has won the most premierships in the leagues existence, had over 100 years history and based in the biggest city in Oz, to a team that has had minimal accolades, only 15 years in the big time and based out of a large 'town'. F$#K me, whenever we had to play your team from 05-08 at your home ground, you had to move it north to get a crowd because of the minimal NQ fans in Sydney............. if we applied the same logic up here, we wouldn't have a home game, because we rely totally on our own fans to go through the turnstiles and put up the $$$ to keep the club going. The only other team up here that has any real presence is the Broncos, and even then, most of those fans have started tp disappear now that we have been around for a bit.

Your 'heres a $90 season ticket' is a joke. I am all for boltstering fans to each club home games and propping up teams due to the pokie tax, but right there you are undervaluing your teams worth. You might have 100 odd more season ticketed fans than us, but our cheapest season ticket is $200 odd for a general admission seat on the hill, we are making more coin than the dogs per person at our home games. Greenberg is a good operator and I wish we had someone that had some ideas akin to his, but $90 season tickets is a cheap gimmick and no matter how you try and paint it with 'well it will encourage those people to drag other people along to games" BS (whilst amusing), it was a cheap stunt to keep up with other more popular teams and try to create the 'feel good' attitude towards the dogs. There's no way even with inflation athat it will continue on in the future.

I generally agree with most things you say on here, but your comments about our situation seem to be spoken from a mouth than is implanted firmly straight up it's own a$$.