Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Mullen

--Storm--

Jamie Soward turned into one of the better player's in the comp under Bennett; why is it Mullen is still soo rubbish?

--Storm--

Are you saying Mullen hasn't been a huge disapointment?; Soward was average before Bennett got there & flourished; Mullen is the same as he was last year if not worse.

Frederick

Mullen has been one of the Knights better players IMO. Especially defensively.

Joel thompson brushed him aside like he was a piece of paper to score his try last night.

I agree with the OP, Mullen has done nothing this year to show any improvement. He ran the ball a couple of times early but that's gone by the wayside now. He never grubbers to the ingoal, aiming for the repeat set, more often than not he'll take the wrong option in attack, and never, ever controls a game.

Let's face it - Mullen is a mental midget. Always has been, always will be. Personally I feel it's time we give up and move him to another position with less responsibility (or out of the team altogether) and try a new approach.

Johns Magic

I would still love to see him at fullback. A great second-man ballplayer, top step, and speed to burn. Also a great cover defender. I really think it could be his best position.

Not gonna happen with Boyd around though.

Johns Magic

Mind you i really don't think it's fair to judge his performances at the moment when he is playing with a bunch of pea-hearted pillows in front of him. He's not getting any help.

--Storm--

Boyd; Mullen/Gidley; Buderus spine looked strong pre-season but none of them have been any good; Boyd is even more disapointing then Mullen; Mullen is the same player he was 3 years ago, hasn't improved at all; Newcastle should have left Boyd @ the Dragons & bought Todd Carney instead.

What part of having a crap forward pack blunting Boyd's game do you not get Storm? Boyd is brilliant but realises 2013 is too far away. If Bennett gets the forwards he needs Boyd will thrive once again. Darius is erratic this year but his class is permanent.

K-Man

Joel thompson brushed him aside like he was a piece of paper to score his try last night.

I agree with the OP, Mullen has done nothing this year to show any improvement. He ran the ball a couple of times early but that's gone by the wayside now. He never grubbers to the ingoal, aiming for the repeat set, more often than not he'll take the wrong option in attack, and never, ever controls a game.

Let's face it - Mullen is a mental midget. Always has been, always will be. Personally I feel it's time we give up and move him to another position with less responsibility (or out of the team altogether) and try a new approach.

Exactly. I want to like Mullen, I really honestly do. He's got a long left-foot kick, a bullet left to right pass, speed to burn that in other teams would get used a lot more but we never make any breaks for him to back up, etc.

But unfortunately time has proven that he just isn't up to the thinking side of the game under pressure.

His inability to find the in-goal for a repeat set is comical... seriously when you kick a footy down at the local park it is so easy to just drop on the foot (not end over end) and roll a wobbly little thing into the danger zone. Dave Taylor can do it, Dugan can do it, players who are not even supposed to often just do it because they realise it's the best option.

Mullen also has the worst bomb in the comp I reckon, he strikes them neatly and without much height, so we rarely get a bit lucky at the end of our sets. Games are won and lost on little moments like this and Jarrod doesn't help us get our fair share.

I'm prepared to say Mullen/Gids is never going to cut it. We could have the Queensland forward pack and Billy Slater, but I still think this halves pairing would prevent us reaching the top.

The good halves reveal themselves early - Cronk went from bench utility to amazing in half a season. You know when you've got one, and we don't have one.

So easy to kick him when the team is down. If we were winning, it would be largely off his bat, as per usual. this thread wouldn't exist, as per usual. He's our best mate every time we win, worst enemy if we lose. Yep, he played his worst game of the year against the raiders, along with about 13 other blokes. Had been good otherwise this year. Still leads KOTW by a margin. Fickle. Just so fickle. We're tearing each other apart over Mullen, over Wayne... It's just so clear that there is rot that is set in beyond any individual player. Mullen isn't a marquee half, that's been established. I don't think he's getting paid like one, so no drama there. You all expect him to be one, though.

Just get a real halfback. Nothing has changed in that respect, but even having cooper cronk would not fix us right now, so don't expect it all from Mullen. Not really fair on him.

The truth of course is that he's about 20 classes above any other half we have. Turf him and you make our problem a lot worse.