Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Nathan Tinkler relinquishes ownership of the Newcastle Knights

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...uarantee-will-be-honoured-20140321-hvl9e.html

Knights fans assured Tinkler bank guarantee will be honoured

Date
March 21, 2014 - 2:18PM

Westpac Bank has reassured Newcastle Knights fans the $10.52 million bank guarantee it holds will be delivered to the Knights Members Club if it isn’t renewed on time by Nathan Tinkler.

The Newcastle Herald revealed on Thursday that Westpac, one of the Tinkler Group’s major financiers, appointed receivers to dispose of two Tinkler properties in a bid to recoup outstanding debts.

The property seizures increased speculation about Mr Tinkler’s ability to renew the bank guarantee before the March 31 deadline and therefore keep ownership of the club.

The bank guarantee – understood to be a cash deposit – was initially meant to be renewed by January 31, but Nathan Tinkler's Hunter Sports Group negotiated an interim two-month extension.

A spokesman for Tinkler and Knights officials strenuously denied this week there was a problem.

‘‘As stated previously ... the bank guarantee remains in place with Westpac and will continue to be following March 31,’’ Tinkler’s spokesman said.

But the Knights members club has imposed a deadline of Tuesday, March 25, for Mr Tinkler’s Hunter Sports Group to ratify the new guarantee for the full term or it would use its power of attorney to secure the money.

HSG would then have six days to comply or the members club could begin proceedings to buy back the Knights for $1 – under the original privatisation agreement of August 5, 2011.

Members club chairman Nick Dan said the board was ‘‘continuing to monitor the situation closely’’.

‘‘We have had calls from concerned community members and I’ve told them that, if unfortunately Nathan is not able to put things in place, then that’s what Nathan made sure the bank guarantee was there for,’’ he said.

‘‘If he is unfortunately unable to fulfil his obligations we would then have to approach Westpac regarding the bank guarantee.’’

A spokesman for Westpac confirmed the bank guarantee would be honoured if called upon by the members club.

‘‘Given this situation relates directly to a current Westpac customer, the Tinkler Group (not the Knights directly), we are limited in what we can say,’’ he said.

‘‘We have been in discussions with the Tinkler Group for quite some time about existing exposures with Westpac which includes a bank guarantee to support the Newcastle Knights.

‘‘The bank guarantee is still in place and like any guarantee, if it is called upon Westpac will honour that.’’

Sydney insolvency experts Grant Thornton Australia were appointed by Westpac last week to oversee the sale of properties held by Merewether Investments and Oceltip Investments No 2.

These include a commercial property in Newcastle’s Honeysuckle and a vacant block of land in Queensland.

georgesnmith

tuesday is the deadline to have the new guarantee in place or they will call in the funds

apparently new sponsors have already been enquiring about investing should tinkler's companies fail to do so.

BunniesMan

Silent? About What. All that article says is that a major Australian bank will do its job. It doesn't say anything about Tinkler. The fact that it has come to this says all we need to know about Tinkler. Remember this was originally meant to happen in January. The Knights gave him an extra 2 months and he is still struggling. Now this:

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/n...party-agreements/story-fni3fh9o-1226860614434

Gidley also said staff superannuation “continues to be paid on an ongoing basis”. A document belonging to one player suggests that basis is highly irregular. We sighted it last week, and it revealed just three superannuation payments — all of different amounts — over the past 15 months.

The fact that a player is giving his personal financial documents to the media suggests at least he is deeply unhappy and perhaps others as well.

Tinkler is a joke.

The Knights will be fine once they get out of bed with him and get this 10 million safely into their hands.

Tinkler on the other hand is showing what happens when you give too much money to bogans.

There will be a lot of companies wanting to sponsor us. It will be fantastic PR. Could destabilise our season on the field though and pretty much write it off.

Newcastle seem to have one of the bigger fanbases in nsw. Decent stadium. Why are they not financially sound? I hope they have invested tinklers money well to build the business and not frittered it away.

Is there not much corporate support for Knights?

Alex28

Crowe loves Souths, always has always will. Tinkler loves KFC.

If giving cash to the club is a sign of love, then Tinky loves the Knights a hell of a lot more than Rusty does Souths! By the time the Bank Guarantee gets paid out we will have seen over $20 Million of Tinky's money.

Doesn't Rusty's money sit on the Souths balance sheet as a loan?

Cumberland Throw

So buy Wednesday the knights could;

*Have $10M cash
*Have no coach
*Have no major sponsor

Hmmm interesting times...

Surely its time the Wests Leagues Club stepped in...

Looks like they have more cash than Tinkler...

am pleased to present the Annual Report
to Members for the year ended
31st January, 2013.
The last year has been one of record success
for the Club. Turnover hit a record $108
million, as did net profit before tax of
$13.88 million. The chart below details the
operating performance of the Group.

Phil Gardner CEO Wests Leagues Club Group

eozsmiles

Newcastle seem to have one of the bigger fanbases in nsw. Decent stadium. Why are they not financially sound? I hope they have invested tinklers money well to build the business and not frittered it away.

Is there not much corporate support for Knights?

Not heaps, which has been part of the problem in the past. But when Tinkler took over there was a change in how they got there money - some sponsors left and others were cut. But there will certainly be a number of groups willing to come on board when/if Nathan leaves. The Knights are very popular in Newcastle, but their boss isn't.

The White Knights are still around.

georgesnmith

http://www.news.com.au/sport/nrl/kn...eet-requirements/story-fndv33vy-1226863346760

"THE battle for control of the Newcastle Knights intensified on Monday with the Knights Members Club board announcing it will take steps to call in the club’s $10.3 million bank guarantee within the next 48 hours.

The board met Monday morning and has given club owner Nathan Tinkler an ultimatum they will use their power of attorney on Wednesday to access the money if he fails to show how he will finance a new guarantee by 5pm on Tuesday.

Nathan has until March 31 to have the guarantee in place and we certainly hope that will be the case,” Members board chairman Nick Dan said."

“But we have to protect the interests of the club which is why we will be taking steps to call in the existing guarantee on Wednesday if we haven’t heard anything from Hunter Sports Group by 5pm tomorrow before it expires at the end of the month.

“The money will be placed into a joint-signatory Knights account while we wait to find out Nathan’s future plans.”

If Tinkler fails to meet the March 31 deadline, club directors will begin the process of buying back the club for $1.

HSG officials could not be contacted but it’s understood they are prepared to fight the legalities of the club calling in the guarantee."

for the good of the club he should walk away and not fight it

georgesnmith

if that report above is correct about how profitable the wests club is the knights should run to them.

in the past there was a dispute about letting them run the club their way, but with that kind of backer behind them the knights would be exactly where tinkler promised and failed to deliver.

betcats

Tinkler on the other hand is showing what happens when you give too much money to bogans.

I never liked the bloke but no one gave him anything, he is as self made as they come you idiot.

Yes he is a prick and yes he has lost it as fast as he made it but he is still a self made millionaire.

Newcastle Boganaire is no knight in shining armour

League News
Date March 24, 2014 - 2:17PM
Andrew Webster

Chief Sports Writer, The Sydney Morning Herald

COMMENT
Three years ago: Mining magnate Nathan Tinkler taking questions from Knights members concerned about the Knights privatisation deal. Photo: Jonathan Carroll

Here's an idea for Nathan Tinkler: call another meeting with Knights members as he did when he was trying to wrest control of the club three years ago, and tell the same people who allowed him to sweep to power exactly where they stand.
In other words, tell them if he has enough money to continue to fund their club, or if he does not.
Simple.
Tinkler with his star recruit, coach Wayne Bennett. Photo: Darren Pateman
Because, to be quite frank, this continual game of smoke-and-mirrors about the club's financial state is becoming a little boring, if not insulting to those who trusted him in the first place.
The dogs have been barking in Newcastle for many, many months about Tinkler and his tenuous ownership. You sense the rottweilers are about to be let off the chain, and the “Boganaire” is in their sights.
The Knights have been at breaking point at so many times since their inception in 1988, and still won two premierships and produced a legion of Australian and Origin players.
Star player Willie Mason said he has been paid on time but player managers say that several of his teammates have not. Photo: Simon de Peak

Yet the close of business on Tuesday looms as the most important deadline in their recent history.
By then, Tinkler needs to show the Newcastle Knights Members Club he can produce a new $10.5 million bank guarantee by the end of the month, or the members will start the process of buying the club back for a dollar.
That’s their right. Thank heavens for former chairman Robbie Tew for putting such a guarantee in place before handing the reins to the former billionaire.
Former Knights board member Robbie Tew who introduced safeguards into the Tinkler deal. Photo: Darren Pateman

There are faint murmurs coming out of Newcastle that Tinkler will be able to find the money at the 11th hour, as he has done on numerous occasions since buying the club in 2011.
And should that happen, the Knights - from chief executive Matt Gidley to chairman Paul Harragon to the players themselves - will say the club’s future was never in doubt.
Move on, nothing to see here.
“We have heard nothing at all to suggest there is a problem,” Gidley said last week. “Nathan has to renew the guarantee every year, so 10 days out from the deadline each year, we could conceivably have this sort of speculation about whether he is going to continue or not.
“You’d rather it wasn’t blown up hysterically but that’s the reality and until Nathan meets the deadline, I guess we just have to put up with the speculation.”
Speculation?
One of Tinkler's major financiers, Westpac, appointed external administrators at two of Tinkler’s companies late last week.
Westpac took the extraordinary step of releasing a statement to assuage the fears of Knights fans concerned about the demise of their beloved club.
“We have been in discussions with the Tinkler Group for quite some time about existing exposures with Westpac which includes a bank guarantee to support the Newcastle Knights,” a spokesman said in a statement.
Speculation?
Reports in The Newcastle Herald last week that some players had not been paid on time were dismissed by veteran prop Willie Mason.
"I'm not sure where the little whispers are coming from,” Mason said. “It's always like that when you lose, everyone tries to bring up crap. If you check everyone's bank accounts, I'm pretty sure everyone's getting paid.”
Well, we checked with several player managers, who would have more of an idea than their clients if the players had been paid on time.
We can tell you what they’ve told us before: some players were certainly not paid on time.
It doesn’t matter if you are making $70,000 a season or $700,000. If you’re paying a mortgage or have a car repayment coming out on a certain day of the month, you need to be paid on time.
The same player managers report there have been long delays with superannuation being paid for the past year. This is a complaint this column has heard before, and it does not happen at any other club.
But not according to the Knights. Move on, nothing to see here.
What about Tinkler’s dwindling fortune? Companies placed into receivership? His repossessed private jet? The selling off his horse racing and breeding operation, Patinak Farm?
Speculation? Move on, nothing to see here.
Tinkler, a former Muswellbrook sparkie, rode into Newcastle and said he was all about “community”. He delivered the most successful coach in history in Wayne Bennett, and a bulging salary cap of superstars.
The good rugby league people of the Hunter were finally being handed a commodity they have never really had when it came to their footy team - certainty.
But instead of galvanising the community, with each proud member falling in behind their team and knockabout owner, the new regime has polarised a staunch rugby league region.
Fans buy The Newcastle Herald each day, slowly turn the page and wonder, “What next?”
They have dealt with uncertainty before. They have survived contractual disputes, drug scandals, the sudden departure of their best player in Andrew Johns, and an ugly cleanout under former coach Brian Smith.
But this is different.
Tinkler has caused a serious disconnect between club and fan, and the chasm appears to be widening.
The members want to know if Tinkler still cares like they do. If he still has the money to support them as he once assured. And, above all of that, they want the Boganaire to give them what he promised all along - certainty.

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...ning-armour-20140324-hvm0r.html#ixzz2wrBDmzWo

oikee

Another NsW club in crisis, along with Panthers then Parra then the Tigers as well as the Dragons losing cash hand over fist and now the Knights have lost tinky tinklers.

You have Manly begging for government handouts, Shane Matske now shown the door and with his strategy not having the slightest impact in NSW, why would you hang onto him. Been at NRL headquarters now for 12 years and the game has not grown outside or inside Sydney.

Now the Knights great white hope about to go under, 1 billion gone, Gee whiz, we can see where the NRL is going wrong, all these wrong bets have stripped the game of any dignity and the fans have been left out on the scrapheap.
Dont fret, Jimmy Dolye will come in and carve Sydney up like grandma's cherry pie.

Another NsW club in crisis, along with Panthers then Parra then the Tigers as well as the Dragons losing cash hand over fist and now the Knights have lost tinky tinklers.

You have Manly begging for government handouts, Shane Matske now shown the door and with his strategy not having the slightest impact in NSW, why would you hang onto him. Been at NRL headquarters now for 12 years and the game has not grown outside or inside Sydney.

Now the Knights great white hope about to go under, 1 billion gone, Gee whiz, we can see where the NRL is going wrong, all these wrong bets have stripped the game of any dignity and the fans have been left out on the scrapheap.
Dont fret, Jimmy Dolye will come in and carve Sydney up like grandma's cherry pie.

**cough b*llsh!t cough**