Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New NSW Second division plan "Platinum League"

Right, here goes:
*Not letting kids sign with an NRL club until they are 17 (at least) will be the biggest boost to professional rugby union and other sports in years. Tell a kid he can’t ensure a future in rugby league and he’ll go elsewhere. Most of them already play other sports already anyway. One of the stupidest things I’ve ever heard and probably illegal anyway because it’s restricting trade.
*Carving NSW up into regions and plonking NSW Cup teams there will not only waste millions of dollars but will gain virtually no support in the regions. The regions they are proposing don’t even make any sense. They’ve just arbitrarily divided NSW/ACT into 11 because that’s how many NRL teams there are in NSW/ACT.
*Not even getting input from the NSWRL, CRL and clubs displays the arrogance of these dickheads. Yet again. They scrapped the Anzac Test without informing the NZRL and now this.
*The NSWRL and CRL merger will ensure country football has no say on its future and be another nail in its coffin following the death of the Origin game. The CRL was set up in 1934 to prevent Sydney neglecting and dictating to the bush. Welcome to 1933.
*I’m not even going to get into the ludicrous division of Sydney that lumps traditional areas of NRL clubs together. It goes without saying how idiotic that is.
Basically if you want to know what Richo has been doing for the last year, think of George Costanza at the Yankees. I could have saved a lot of time and money and shat a better idea than this.

BuffaloRules

There is going to be a lot of 16 yr old kids playing professional Rugby Union then... I'd forgotten how flushed with money they are...

alien

i wonder if eventually the nrl will try to force more sydney 1st grade clubs to merge

Dogs Of War

Right, here goes:
*Not letting kids sign with an NRL club until they are 17 (at least) will be the biggest boost to professional rugby union and other sports in years. Tell a kid he can’t ensure a future in rugby league and he’ll go elsewhere. Most of them already play other sports already anyway. One of the stupidest things I’ve ever heard and probably illegal anyway because it’s restricting trade.

There nothing to say they can't sign with a reserve grade team that that NRL clubs will keep at the right amount of arms length to get around this ruling. Either way, when they hit 18 they will be getting paid, if that means Union is paying them until then, well we can thank union for helping develop our junior prospects. It's not like Union isn't doing this already, getting players into there system only for a NRL club to step in and sign them away.

*Carving NSW up into regions and plonking NSW Cup teams there will not only waste millions of dollars but will gain virtually no support in the regions. The regions they are proposing don’t even make any sense. They’ve just arbitrarily divided NSW/ACT into 11 because that’s how many NRL teams there are in NSW/ACT.

It will take time to sort out, but what is proposed it a lot better than whats currently in place.

*Not even getting input from the NSWRL, CRL and clubs displays the arrogance of these dickheads. Yet again. They scrapped the Anzac Test without informing the NZRL and now this.

There would have been input into what they wanted. But at the end of the day the game has to be about aligning with other visions the game wants. Given they have indicated $100mil to be poured into development, you would think that there will be a lot of beneficies of this. Not to mention from the articles regarding player burnout, something has to give.

*The NSWRL and CRL merger will ensure country football has no say on its future and be another nail in its coffin following the death of the Origin game. The CRL was set up in 1934 to prevent Sydney neglecting and dictating to the bush. Welcome to 1933.

Who is to say that the CRL when merged won't have any say into the workings of the NSWRL. It's up to the CRL to ensure that the charter includes good support for those areas.

*I’m not even going to get into the ludicrous division of Sydney that lumps traditional areas of NRL clubs together. It goes without saying how idiotic that is.

Why is NSW different to QLD? Why can't it work? QLD Cup teams are at a bigger disadvantage because they don't even have the NRL clubs to go around to affliant with. So NSW should have a much better setup and support structure.

Basically if you want to know what Richo has been doing for the last year, think of George Costanza at the Yankees. I could have saved a lot of time and money and shat a better idea than this.

Please amuse us with how you would make it better. What is your idea for an ideal NSW Cup setup that also takes into account bush footy and provides those areas with a great level of footy on a fortnightly basis.

There is going to be a lot of 16 yr old kids playing professional Rugby Union then... I'd forgotten how flushed with money they are...

They don't need money you dumb merkin. No 16-year-old gets paid a lot.

They just need to offer him a contract that NO NRL CLUB WILL BE ALLOWED TO OFFER. Done deal.

There nothing to say they can't sign with a reserve grade team that that NRL clubs will keep at the right amount of arms length to get around this ruling. Either way, when they hit 18 they will be getting paid, if that means Union is paying them until then, well we can thank union for helping develop our junior prospects. It's not like Union isn't doing this already, getting players into there system only for a NRL club to step in and sign them away.

It will take time to sort out, but what is proposed it a lot better than whats currently in place.

There would have been input into what they wanted. But at the end of the day the game has to be about aligning with other visions the game wants. Given they have indicated $100mil to be poured into development, you would think that there will be a lot of beneficies of this. Not to mention from the articles regarding player burnout, something has to give.

Who is to say that the CRL when merged won't have any say into the workings of the NSWRL. It's up to the CRL to ensure that the charter includes good support for those areas.

Why is NSW different to QLD? Why can't it work? QLD Cup teams are at a bigger disadvantage because they don't even have the NRL clubs to go around to affliant with. So NSW should have a much better setup and support structure.

Please amuse us with how you would make it better. What is your idea for an ideal NSW Cup setup that also takes into account bush footy and provides those areas with a great level of footy on a fortnightly basis.
You've made up a heap of shit.

"There would have been..." You have no idea. Just making it up.
"Who's to say..." so you have no idea.

And $100m? They'll f**king need it if they're going to send reserve grade teams around NSW every week and send FIFO players from Sydney to training every week just so 50 people can watch a second rate game.

The Qld Cup works because the clubs are organic, local organisations. Not made-up entities plonked into a region and staffed by FIFO players. If the NRL thinks it can re-create the Qld Cup in NSW by just pulling clubs out of thin air they're f**king kidding themselves.

And if you're happy for other sports to take RL players on the theory they'll come back one day instead of just keeping them and developing them ourselves, I don't even know what to say to that. What f**king logic.

BuffaloRules

They don't need money you dumb merkin. No 16-year-old gets paid a lot.

They just need to offer him a contract that NO NRL CLUB WILL BE ALLOWED TO OFFER. Done deal.

There have been plenty of NRL players over the last 20 years that were playing Union when they were 16...

Out of your entire rant list, that one is pretty lame...

How much can Union pay them when they are 18 or 19 is the question, and how many can Union afford?

Don't worry. It's completely fair. The entire sport is being f**ked over by these incompetent morons. From top to bottom.

johnny plath

Could have entered a team or two in NSW Cup too boost bush football without ripping the whole thing down.

eg.

Raiders Reserve - based in Canberra not Mounties/ covers Southern NSW
Newcastle Reserve
Bulldogs Reserve
St George / Illawarra Cutters
Manly Reserve
Cronulla / Newtown Jets
Souths / Norths Bears
Penrith Reserve
Parra / Wentworthville Magpies
Wests Reserve
Roosters / Wyong Roos
New Zealand Reserve

12 current teams

add
Dubbo - represents Western NSW
Coffs - represents Northern NSW
WA Pirates
Fiji

for 16 teams. Piece of piss...

Q cup works along these lines, but regions/teams that aren't aligned with an NRL team traditionally struggle. How would you see the additional teams competing with the existing ones?

There have been plenty of NRL players over the last 20 years that were playing Union when they were 16...

Out of your entire rant list, that one is pretty lame...

How much can Union pay them when they are 18 or 19 is the question, and how many can Union afford?

What kind of sport encourages their best young players to leave on the basis that "it's okay, some of them will come back one day...maybe"? FMD.

If you don't think this is an issue, you don't understand the junior player market or the way kids think. RL has lost heaps of kids to RU and even AFL over the years. This is actively pushing them that way. What a joke.

What he wanted to do when he took the job. lets see how much of this makes it into the report lol.

Discussing his blueprint to improve the NRL, Richardson said the season must be streamlined to reduce player burnout, which was a major concern given the current packed schedule with 26 rounds and three mid-week State of Origin matches.

"It’s not about quantity, its quality. Certainly we can reduce it (the season) to 22 games or even 20," Richardson told The Daily Telegraph.
"Then look at State of Origin and stand-alone weekends. We look at the pre-season and control that a lot better.
"Then international football. We’ve got to lock in what we want to do then take it to the broadcasters for the next television deal."
Richardson said the burden on representative stars was too great under the current model of fixtures.
Looking ahead to future broadcasting rights, Richardson said adding new teams was critical for the code, particularly spreading the game to the west coast.
"We’ve got to expand. I’m not so concerned about the number of teams, it’s the number of fixtures," he said.
"The bigger the expansion the better it is for the TV networks. I think Western Australia deserves a side, we need another team in South-East Queensland and New Zealand is crying out for another team.
"The opportunities there in the next media deal are huge. I think we can make some good decisions fairly quickly."

Read more at http://wwos.ninemsn.com.au/2015/11/...mes-and-expand-richardson#xwBcqD6uToTC6mqG.99

boonboon

Don't worry. It's completely fair. The entire sport is being f**ked over by these incompetent morons. From top to bottom.

You Sir are an idiot.

Some of your points may be right although I don't agree with most of them but your attitude indicates if you were right in any small part it was luck and nothing else

Q cup works along these lines, but regions/teams that aren't aligned with an NRL team traditionally struggle. How would you see the additional teams competing with the existing ones?

When WARL looked at introducing a NSW cup team they decided they would not have the player depth or talent to compete with clubs with pokies and NRL talent stacked in them and decided it was a waste of money for the game in WA which could be spent better. Investing in our academy and SG Ball has been far more beneficial in developing a pathway to NRL for WA jnrs. We need more jnr clubs, regional development officers, SHS scholarship programmes and better funding for the SG Ball Pirates, not a NSW cup team imo.

BuffaloRules

What kind of sport encourages their best young players to leave on the basis that "it's okay, some of them will come back one day...maybe"? FMD.

If you don't think this is an issue, you don't understand the junior player market or the way kids think. RL has lost heaps of kids to RU and even AFL over the years. This is actively pushing them that way. What a joke.

But its been happening for decades already you goose!

Union can offer kids scholarships to some of the best schools in Sydney and Brisbane....

A lot take them up and play, and then go and play League for the money when their school days are over...

You Sir are an idiot.

Some of your points may be right although I don't agree with most of them but your attitude indicates if you were right in any small part it was luck and nothing else

Great contribution.

Maybe I actually know what the f**k I'm talking about. And the fact every other stakeholder in this are all on the same page in their opposition to it says a lot too.