Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New Zealand 2 will deal a massive blow to NZ rugby

The Great Dane

Pfft, meaningless…

VFL are including one-day school events and RL isnt accounting Touch?

Not a problem, just some clickbait. It doesnt change reality as much as a VFL fan might want it to.
They're not doing that, so yeah...

Also RL's dropping male participation numbers, and failure to keep up the with the growth of other similar sports, is a trend that's been recorded by many independent sources over the course of roughly 30 years now.

It's not 'clickbait' made up by some random news site to make headlines, it's a serious issue that will have major affects on the sport going forward if something can't be done to reverse the trend.

The Great Dane

All sports now use 'participation' figures rather than actual registered players. Its BS and should be stopped.
There's some truth to this, but registration numbers wouldn't give you an accurate figure on their own either.

Like I said before, it gets to a point where it's all shades of grey with no right answer.

They're not doing that, so yeah...

You reckon the DONT include AzKick in that?

you think that actually have 700k real players?

What are you smoking?

It's not 'clickbait' made up by some random news site to make headlines, it's a serious issue that will have major affects on the sport going forward if something can't be done to reverse the trend.

They manipulated data (or accepted manipulated data) to create a controversy then grabs a quote from 2 years ago as their “comment”

Award winning stuff….

Pneuma

What are you smoking?

They manipulated data (or accepted manipulated data) to create a controversy then grabs a quote from 2 years ago as their “comment”

Award winning stuff….
They claimed 175000 female players in Queensland last year. It’s utter bullshit. The numbers reported by the nrl are club registrations. They are real. They include league tag these days although the Oztag figure of 150000 nationwide is not counted.

The Great Dane

What are you smoking?
They're definitely including Auskick, I said as much a few posts ago. The NRL is almost certainly including League Stars in their numbers as well, all the sports include stuff like that.

What the AFL aren't including is 'one-day school events'.

Award winning stuff….
You've got no evidence of that, and you're opinion isn't very valuable when you'll claim that all the statistics you don't like are manipulated.

The AFL's numbers and their legitimacy are beside the point anyway. What's concerning are RL's, and their steady decline in the most important demographics, while other sports explode.

Wb1234

They're definitely including Auskick, I said as much a few posts ago. The NRL is almost certainly including League Stars in their numbers as well, all the sports include stuff like that.

You've got no evidence of that, and you're opinion isn't very valuable when you'll claim that all the statistics you don't like are manipulated.

The AFL's numbers and their legitimacy are beside the point anyway. What's concerning are RL's, and their steady decline in the most important demographics, while other sports explode.
Hahhaha the sky is falling in

basketball is taking all our juniors

The Great Dane

Hahhaha the sky is falling in

basketball is taking all our juniors
They, and others, literally are. You can pretend it isn't happening, but the data is clear, and it is increasingly restricting the talent pool in Australia and NZ.

So what's the league going to do in a few decades time if the NRL can't reverse the trend? Sourcing all of the league's talent from the PI's doesn't seem realistic to me.

Pneuma

Nsw and qld have participation figures this year that demonstrate an increase in registered footballers playing in club footy. It does not include league star numbers. You keep saying the opposite without evidence. The afl have a track record of lying about participation. Their retiring ceo lied in public about participation in qld and the statement has since had that claim removed as it was blatantly false.
Rugby league clubs have diversified to create a club environment that allows tag as an option. I think that’s a great idea for a broad range of reasons. I’m sure you won’t.

Wb1234

They, and others, literally are. You can pretend it isn't happening, but the data is clear, and it is increasingly restricting the talent pool in Australia and NZ.

So what's the league going to do in a few decades time if the NRL can't reverse the trend? Sourcing all of the league's talent from the PI's doesn't seem realistic to me.
Dean young was a soccer junior

deenan kemp was a soccer junior

once they grow up they stop listening to their mums and want to be a rugby league star

oh and png nz and the pi islands can provide almost unlimited players

The Great Dane

Nsw and qld have participation figures this year that demonstrate an increase in registered footballers playing in club footy. It does not include league star numbers. You keep saying the opposite without evidence. The afl have a track record of lying about participation. Their retiring ceo lied in public about participation in qld and the statement has since had that claim removed as it was blatantly false.
Rugby league clubs have diversified to create a club environment that allows tag as an option. I think that’s a great idea for a broad range of reasons. I’m sure you won’t.
Notice how RL doesn't give a good breakdown of their numbers anymore, it's because they're trying to hide the fact that all of the growth is in female and noncontact versions of the game as it has been for well over a decade.

You can go on and on about how great it is that girls and noncontact versions are being offered, but you're completely off your head if you think that filling the NRL with players whom didn't learn to tackle until they were leaving high school won't impact the quality of the product. There's fat f**king chance that the NRLW will fill any void that may be left by the NRL as well, especially with the way it's been structured as a competition.

The noncontact codes are a great gimmick to get/keep people involved whom wouldn't be otherwise, and use those statistics to push for more government funding, but that's about it.

A five second google search will give you access to more Australian sports participation data than a person could read in a lifetime as well. You don't need me to curate the infomation for you, go and have a look for yourself.

BTW, there's a difference between saying something incorrect and lying, and there's no more evidence that the AFL have been blatantly fudging numbers than any other code. Some would argue that the NSWRL and QRL including League Tag at all is them fudging their numbers, so really anybody can play that game.

The Great Dane

Dean young was a soccer junior

deenan kemp was a soccer junior

once they grow up they stop listening to their mums and want to be a rugby league star
Almost every player in every sport is a 'soccer junior' using that standard.

The problem you have is that increasingly less and less kids are growing up, ignoring their mums, and deciding to join a RL club...
oh and png nz and the pi islands can provide almost unlimited players
You're a special kind of stupid if you really believe that.

Pneuma

Notice how RL doesn't give a good breakdown of their numbers anymore, it's because they're trying to hide the fact that all of the growth is in female and noncontact versions of the game as it has been for well over a decade.

You can go on and on about how great it is that girls and noncontact versions are being offered, but you're completely off your head if you think that filling the NRL with players whom didn't learn to tackle until they were leaving high school won't impact the quality of the product. There's fat f**king chance that the NRLW will fill any void that may be left by the NRL as well, especially with the way it's been structured as a competition.

The noncontact codes are a great gimmick to get/keep people involved whom wouldn't be otherwise, and use those statistics to push for more government funding, but that's about it.

A five second google search will give you access to more Australian sports participation data than a person could read in a lifetime as well. You don't need me to curate the infomation for you, go and have a look for yourself.

BTW, there's a difference between saying something incorrect and lying, and there's no more evidence that the AFL have been blatantly fudging numbers than any other code. Some would argue that the NSWRL and QRL including League Tag at all is them fudging their numbers, so really anybody can play that game.
Actually they do give a breakdown. They faithfully report the increase in female football. It’s easy to find.
Including league tag isn’t fudging. It’s ensuring all club participants registered with clubs playing on weekends are counted and that figure is rising.
The decline in kids and adults playing full contact sports has affected all codes and that’s why they’ve modified their rules.
I know the difference between a lie and being incorrect. I’d suggest to you that a ceo of a sport making a demonstrably false statement like McLachlan’s was a deliberate falsehood. A lie.
There’s plenty of young men and women playing the game mate. The games fine. The well isn’t dry.

Wb1234

Almost every player in every sport is a 'soccer junior' using that standard.

The problem you have is that increasingly less and less kids are growing up, ignoring their mums, and deciding to join a RL club...

You're a special kind of stupid if you really believe that.
Yeh it’s not like 50 percent of the nrl playing squad is kiwi or pi

keep ignoring the evidence of juniors from other sports who end up as nrl players

the realty is until a kid reaches 18 the junior stats are meaningless as 98 percent of them give up all sports

the nrl has never had problems developing players it could easily cover a 20 team comp

afl can’t sustain more than 16 teams and union two sides is their limit

Te Kaha

Yeh it’s not like 50 percent of the nrl playing squad is kiwi or pi

keep ignoring the evidence of juniors from other sports who end up as nrl players

the realty is until a kid reaches 18 the junior stats are meaningless as 98 percent of them give up all sports

the nrl has never had problems developing players it could easily cover a 20 team comp

afl can’t sustain more than 16 teams and union two sides is their limit

Thats is such a bullshit post. NZ juniors are declining and will continue to do so. Team contact sports are declining all over the world. No matter what you believe the truth is the truth.

They wish that was still true. Their self reported numbers were very dodgy in the past, but they've been thoroughly cleaned up in the last decade. The lower levels of Auskick, that are basically skills classes for toddlers, don't count at all anymore for example, and you have to attend a certain amount of higher level ones before you're counted as a participant as well.

Now, sure, they could still be fudging their numbers to some degree, but any and all sports could be fudging their numbers in similar ways, and at this point their numbers have been independently verified by multiple groups over the years whom all come to similar conclusions. In other words, it'd have required a conspiracy and/or them to pay off a lot of people for them to be fudging their numbers in a significant manner, and there's zero evidence for that. The same baseless accusations can, and are, made about any and every sport as well.
Any link to the methodology for counting participation? For any sport in fact? I’m not aware there is any govt requirement for how a sport counts “participation”.

SpaceMonkey

Just cause the AFL fudge their figures doesn’t mean we should. Including touch is a joke, it’s massively boosted by corporate
/social comps that have zero relevance to League participation

Gobsmacked

Just cause the AFL fudge their figures doesn’t mean we should. Including touch is a joke, it’s massively boosted by corporate
/social comps that have zero relevance to League participation
It was invented to train for Rugby League by Rugby league, some of our best players skills are attributed to playing touch.
I couldn't care less whether they include them or not but to call it a " joke " is a stretch.
We all know that only a small fraction of juniors go on to play seniors ( in all sports) and an even smaller fraction go on to play professionally.
What's important is that small fraction isn't being lost. Imo it isn't, in fact I would say our ability to see talent at young ages and nurture it has only gotten better and less of the talented kids are lost then ever. Heck, we're even recognising talented kids from other sports.
The main point to participation numbers is that those kids that play at a young age tend to be fans for life.
Does touch achieve that? Yes. I think it certainly does.

Dark Corner

True but if AFL can get away with including all variants in participation number then RL needs to get its act together and advocate for the same. We are stronger together after all and touch is a genuine form of RL. Together RL would be around 5th place in participation tables , not missing top ten all together. That's massive when it comes to lobbying for grassroots funding.
Alongside Touch Footy you also have Tag Footy, Touch Rugby League and isn't a Tag Rugby League as well.