Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New Zealand 2 will deal a massive blow to NZ rugby

bazza

Not really, especially not in the context of this thread and the fanciful claims made about the state of league v rugby viewership.
oh - I totally expect that a final involving a NZ union team to out rate a Warriors game in NZ

On the topic of the thread, would a second NZ team even increase the number of kids playing rugby league in NZ?

bazza

You keep claiming Super Rugby is dying in NZ... Clearly that is not the case but your ego wont let you admit it.
on Super Rugby and NZ - what is the interest in games involving no-NZ teams. I guess there is some history with the Brumbies, Reds and Waratahs but is there any interest when they play each other?

Is having the non-NZ teams in the comp financially rewarding to NZ compared to a domestic only comp?

Te Kaha

on Super Rugby and NZ - what is the interest in games involving no-NZ teams. I guess there is some history with the Brumbies, Reds and Waratahs but is there any interest when they play each other?

Is having the non-NZ teams in the comp financially rewarding to NZ compared to a domestic only comp?

Same as it's always been, any game not involving an NZ team will get dismal ratings. But then on a weekend where Aussie teams play each other it means there are games where NZ teams are playing local derbies, and they rate much higher, so it balances out.

As for "financially rewarding" .... It doesn't matter. Super Rugby makes up less than %10 of NZRs income. It's basically a development comp to keep players in NZ.
That's why All Blacks players have limits placed on the number and frequency of games they can play, as well as time on the field. It's why the top players have a "sabbatical" written into their contracts where they can take an entire Super Rugby season off and either do nothing or earn megabucks playing overseas. All while earning from their NZR contract.
Some in this thread assume that Super Rugby "dying" will cause "massive damage" to NZR in NZ, which it wont. Let alone the fact it is far from dying.

Matua

The interest will be much lower for matches with no NZ teams. But that has been true since the start of Super Rugby.

I don't think it's financially rewarding as such to have the Oz teams but it's beneficial for other reasons.

Matua

oh - I totally expect that a final involving a NZ union team to out rate a Warriors game in NZ
Ok, this writer only posted this weeks figures, but these ratings aren't just anomalies. As Te Kaha has noted there's been numerous recent articles and quotes noting that viewership has been trending up in Super rugby. I reckon that some round robin matches (Chiefs v Crusaders, Blues v Crusaders etc) would have out rated all of these matches.

On the topic of the thread, would a second NZ team even increase the number of kids playing rugby league in NZ?
This is essentially what I have been saying since the beginning. A 2nd team without support for the domestic game, which is in a perilous state at the moment, will not address the decline. It's just another team in NZ for players to go to instead of Oz teams. League needs to be rebuilt in many areas of NZ, including my home province where the comps have died.

The trolls on this thread think that an NZ2 will be a magic bullet, but it wont unless the domestic game is invested in as well.

bazza

Ok, this writer only posted this weeks figures, but these ratings aren't just anomalies. As Te Kaha has noted there's been numerous recent articles and quotes noting that viewership has been trending up in Super rugby. I reckon that some round robin matches (Chiefs v Crusaders, Blues v Crusaders etc) would have out rated all of these matches.
yeah - no doubt that games with 2 NZ teams would rate highest

This is essentially what I have been saying since the beginning. A 2nd team without support for the domestic game, which is in a perilous state at the moment, will not address the decline. It's just another team in NZ for players to go to instead of Oz teams. League needs to be rebuilt in many areas of NZ, including my home province where the comps have died.

The trolls on this thread think that an NZ2 will be a magic bullet, but it wont unless the domestic game is invested in as well.
yes - would like to get to a stage where NZ is producing enough domestic players that they could fill another team themselves
Seems that the current NZ players are either at the Warriors or poached by Aus teams as teens (plus a few that move to Aus with their family for non rugby related reasons)
doesn't seem to be a huge amount of NZ rugby league players that have missed out of the Warriors system and them been picked up by other NRL clubs

Matua

yeah - no doubt that games with 2 NZ teams would rate highest

yes - would like to get to a stage where NZ is producing enough domestic players that they could fill another team themselves
Seems that the current NZ players are either at the Warriors or poached by Aus teams as teens (plus a few that move to Aus with their family for non rugby related reasons)
doesn't seem to be a huge amount of NZ rugby league players that have missed out of the Warriors system and them been picked up by other NRL clubs
Nah, there's heaps of NZ players not coming through the Warriors system, and there's definitely enough for another team (the Storm used to carry half a team on their own). Many NZers go as teens though as you note. The Warriors haven't always been the best at predicting the future (the Bromwichs, SKD etc overlooked), so there's definitely an opportunity for the other NZ team to get players.

But the pool of players will decrease if the domestic game isn't sorted - for example, as I noted the comp is dead in my province, will a Tohu Harris of the future switch to NRL if he didn't grow up playing on Sunday. Also, there were lots of players going to league during U20s days as they could get money, but today most of the rugby Academies combined with NPC salaries will see young guys stay, or opt (like Eten Nanai-Seturo) for rugby.

Gobsmacked

Nah, there's heaps of NZ players not coming through the Warriors system, and there's definitely enough for another team (the Storm used to carry half a team on their own). Many NZers go as teens though as you note. The Warriors haven't always been the best at predicting the future (the Bromwichs, SKD etc overlooked), so there's definitely an opportunity for the other NZ team to get players.

But the pool of players will decrease if the domestic game isn't sorted - for example, as I noted the comp is dead in my province, will a Tohu Harris of the future switch to NRL if he didn't grow up playing on Sunday. Also, there were lots of players going to league during U20s days as they could get money, but today most of the rugby Academies combined with NPC salaries will see young guys stay, or opt (like Eten Nanai-Seturo) for rugby.
I would fully expect the same from another NZ team. 5 tiered development system along with a 30 man full time professional team with 15 million to spend..
That apparently won't do any good...
Give me a break.

Matua

I would fully expect the same from another NZ team. 5 tiered development system along with a 30 man full time professional team with 15 million to spend..
Give me a break.

If they have the 15m to spend and devote it to the domestic game than that will be great, I'm not holding my breath though. In fact I'm hoping that the warriors don't f**k their tier system up as the evidence of the last 28 years suggests they will.

Also, that 30 man squad wont be all NZers, there will be the odd good Ocker and a bunch of journeyman Ockers.

Te Kaha

Give me a break.

And when the clubs and districts and regions die from lack of players who will fill those teams? Auckland will survive, but Christchurch and Wellington don't have the player base to fill teams without the regions contributing.

In the vain attempt to further your imaginary war you conveniently ignore the damage a second NZ team would do the the game here nationally. I'm just glad NZ2 is dead and your pathetic vendetta against League in NZ is worth nothing.

Gobsmacked

I keep thinking that there's no way 2 people could be this dense but if you pick 2 that like Union, let them age a bit and they're kiwis.. presto 🥜

Te Kaha

I keep thinking that there's no way 2 people could be this dense but if you pick 2 that like Union, let them age a bit and they're kiwis.. presto 🥜

Someone who is hell bent on destroying domestic League in NZ is calling others "dense"... the irony.

We get it, your myopic view that another NZ team will advance your imaginary war is all you care about... but to do so at the expense of the domestic game here is just pathetic.

Gobsmacked

Someone who is hell bent on destroying domestic League in NZ is calling others "dense"... the irony.

We get it, your myopic view that another NZ team will advance your imaginary war is all you care about... but to do so at the expense of the domestic game here is just pathetic.
I'm not going to argue against a nonsense point of view.
I wouldn't even know where to start.
I have no idea how you even come up with it to be honest, I'm actually impressed.

Te Kaha

I'm not going to argue against a nonsense point of view.
I wouldn't even know where to start.
I have no idea how you even come up with it to be honest, I'm actually impressed.

How is it nonsense? You have already stated you don't care about the regions. You don't care that the remaining players will centralise to a city. Therefore you don't care that it will kill the game in the regions.

In the current state of League in NZ, a second team would be disastrous.
So why would you want it? Simply because you are under the mistaken impression that it would "deal a massive blow to NZ rugby". So therefore it is obvious to everyone the reason you want NZ2 is to further your imaginary war.

It's just good that NZ2 isn't going to happen. Well good for NZ League, just not for you.

Gobsmacked

How is it nonsense? You have already stated you don't care about the regions. You don't care that the remaining players will centralise to a city. Therefore you don't care that it will kill the game in the regions.

In the current state of League in NZ, a second team would be disastrous.
So why would you want it? Simply because you are under the mistaken impression that it would "deal a massive blow to NZ rugby". So therefore it is obvious to everyone the reason you want NZ2 is to further your imaginary war.

It's just good that NZ2 isn't going to happen. Well good for NZ League, just not for you.
I just want to thank you for daily reminding me that New Zealand will get a second team and it will deal a massive blow to NZ rugby.
Puts a smile on my face, thanks man 🤘

Te Kaha

I just want to thank you for daily reminding me that New Zealand will get a second team and it will deal a massive blow to NZ rugby.
Puts a smile on my face, thanks man 🤘

well your dreams are free.... too bad for you it wont happen in reality.

NZRL had an extra $1.5mill in their grant revenue line last year. I wonder if that's an increase from the ARLC for grassroots funding? Probably 10% of what it needs to be but a start I suppose.