Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New Zealand 2 will deal a massive blow to NZ rugby

The Great Dane

Ah anyone that uses THAT term means they have lost the argument
Right... So does that go for every time somebody points out that you're committing a logical fallacy, or only when you're committing whataboutery? You're hilariously full of shit lol.

The AFL's situation isn't even close to being comparable to the situation in PNG, and to pretend that they are is simply dishonest.

Wb1234

Right... So does that go for every time somebody points out that you're committing a logical fallacy, or only when you're committing whataboutery? You're hilariously full of shit lol.

The AFL's situation isn't even close to being comparable to the situation in PNG, and to pretend that they are is simply dishonest.
Afl is getting a team in Tasmania with govt funding

but if rugby league wants to do it it’s not practical hahhaa

be consistent how you look at both codes dude

Wb1234

No it doesn't. There's literally no substance to it at all. It's just a video of a celebrity in one of the major cities surrounded by security at an event. You've definitely never been to PNG...

PNG has the second highest crime rate in the world, and you can get detail on it simply by googling. They're amongst the highest rates of violent crime, corruption, violence against women, etc, etc, in the world.

Because of their census issues and the pandemic their poverty rate is a bit up in the air ATM, but it's estimated to be at about 40%. That's a rate of poverty that's hard for people in developed first world countries to even comprehend unless they've witnessed it first hand.

At last count PNG had the fourth highest child stunting rate amongst in the world with malnutrition at about 50% amongst children. That's not that they aren't getting enough food and going hungry sometimes, that's that they're literally getting so little food that their bodies start to consume themselves to survive, which results in stunted growth or starvation. Again that's incomprehensible to people in developed countries with the first world problem of "poor" people having disproportionate rates of obesity.

I could go on and on ad nauseam about rates of sanitation and electricity, literacy, disease, organised crime, literal tribal warfare, but I'll spare us both.

Suffice it to say that PNG has huge societal issues that it needs to deal with, they aren't currently in a position to host an NRL side, and won't be for decades.
Maybe you should google Australian mining companies in png

here I’ll throw you a bone Newcrest mining

Pneuma

If the Sydney clubs struggle to generate $10m from football operations, what chance does a Papua New Guinean team have when only 15% of its population has access to electricity and the GDP per capita is about $3,000?

A PNG club will not have the luxury of generating $50m from people playing the pokies.
You always see everything in the negative. PNG would clearly operate under a different model with the PNG government, Australian government and the nrl in partnership with the club.

Pneuma

No Tassie side yet. Massive petition going out to stop the spend on the new ground the government wants to waste its money on. It’s 50 50 at best.

Centy Coast

Omg the last thing the NRL need is another NZ team, the Warriors have struggled since their inception. WA should be next, if not rugby league should just stay on the East Coast.

Centy Coast

You always see everything in the negative. PNG would clearly operate under a different model with the PNG government, Australian government and the nrl in partnership with the club.
An PNG side could pay their players with pebbles hahaha

The Great Dane

I'm being totally consistent.

The issue with a PNG NRL side isn't that it would need government funding, all sports teams get government funding on some level. The issue is that it wouldn't be commercially viable, and no amount of government funding will change that in the foreseeable future. The government effectively bankrolling the team (which is what would need to happen) would be a short term band-aid solution, and sooner or later somebody else would need to pick up that bill.

Look, I don't really have an opinion on a Tasmanian AFL side. I haven't really looked deeply into exactly what they're asking for and why, however I have no doubt that you could create a business plan for a Tasmanian AFL side that is sustainable. They'd be one of the smaller sides in the league, but it'd be doable.

I also think it's pretty obvious that the AFL is coming up with all these demands because they don't really want to expand, at least not yet, but Peter Gutwein and the Tasmanian government have forced their hand. So they're throwing out the wish list that would give a Tassie side the perfect start in their eyes, but aren't fussed if the government says no to the demands because they don't really want the team in the first place.
To try and compare that to what would need to happen in PNG is simply dishonest, and an intentional attempt to distract from the discussion at hand, i.e. whataboutery.

Pneuma

The issue with a PNG NRL side isn't that it would need government funding, all sports teams get government funding on some level. The issue is that it wouldn't be commercially viable, and no amount of government funding will change that in the foreseeable future. The government effectively bankrolling the team (which is what would need to happen) would be a short term band-aid solution, and sooner or later somebody else would need to pick up that bill.

Look, I don't really have an opinion on a Tasmanian AFL side. I haven't really looked deeply into exactly what they're asking for and why, however I have no doubt that you could create a business plan for a Tasmanian AFL side that is sustainable. They'd be one of the smaller sides in the league, but it'd be doable.

I also think it's pretty obvious that the AFL is coming up with all these demands because they don't really want to expand, at least not yet, but Peter Gutwein and the Tasmanian government have forced their hand. So they're throwing out the wish list that would give a Tassie side the perfect start in their eyes, but aren't fussed if the government says no to the demands because they don't really want the team in the first place.
To try and compare that to what would need to happen in PNG is simply dishonest, and an intentional attempt to distract from the discussion at hand, i.e. whataboutery.
Your comments about Tasmania are 100% correct. Gutwein is gone now and replaced with an afl fanboy. The afl don’t care about a side in Tassie either way.

The Great Dane

Maybe you should google Australian mining companies in png

here I’ll throw you a bone Newcrest mining
You're moving the goal posts... Does my pointing this out mean that you won the debate again?

Mining companies are irrelevant to the point.

There's no getting around it, you were embarrassingly ignorant about the social issues PNG has, specifically when it comes to poverty, violence, and crime.

Wb1234

You're moving the goal posts... Does my pointing this out mean that you won the debate again?

Mining companies are irrelevant to the point.

There's no getting around it, you were embarrassingly ignorant about the social issues PNG has, specifically when it comes to poverty, violence, and crime.
Nah your just not getting it

those billion dollar companies can sponsor the bid

heck if the pm leaned on them as their civic duty who knows how much they could rustle up

they could also invest in the bid

Wb1234

It’s exactly the same

a Tasmanian afl team isn’t viable on its own and the afl want govt to underwrite its losses

so it’s ok for afl to be ambitious but this simply isn’t possible in rugby league

you can’t judge the finances of a png bid

you don’t know what sponsors and investors they can attract and how much govt funds they can attract

by the time the nrl is up to 20 teams the game will be generating that much money that funding a png team could be easily achieved

we are talking over a decade down the track

with the growth the game is on now with new teams being added then who knows how much revenue we are making down the track

but the addition of the dolphins, Perth bears, south qld jets and nz orcas would be very valuable to tv stations once those teams are established in the nrl

The Great Dane

Nah your just not getting it
I completely understand.

You're desperately trying to change the subject because you were unbelievably embarrassingly wrong about the state of PNG, but I won't allow it.

You were completely ignorant of the scale of the social issues PNG faces. Admit it and move on or give up.

Wb1234

I completely understand.

You're desperately trying to change the subject because you were unbelievably embarrassingly wrong about the state of PNG, but I won't allow it.

You were completely ignorant of the scale of the social issues PNG faces. Admit it and move on or give up.
So you understood that despite png being a third world country you understand there are many billion dollar Australian companies that can underwrite the bid

cool you got my point then

The Great Dane

It’s exactly the same
A Tasmanian AFL team would be able to survive when the Tasmanian government pulls that $8mil a year. Their grant is a luxury not a necessity.

A PNG NRL side would fold overnight if any of the AU$30mil+ per annum they'd need to survive were to be pulled. PNG's grants would be necessities not luxuries.

That's the major difference, and it's a monumental difference despite your attempts to pretend overwise.
you can’t judge the finances of a png bid
We can absolutely judge the potential finances of a PNG side based solely on the economic realities of the country, and it's just silly that you'd pretend otherwise.

The economic realities are what they are, and even you yourself have freely admitted that a PNG NRL side would have to be reliant on government grants to be anywhere near possible.

The Great Dane

So you understood that despite png being a third world country you understand there are many billion dollar Australian companies that can underwrite the bid

cool you got my point then
Keep dodging mate, keep dodging.

BTW, tell you what, we'll consider said mining company's bid once you've found one that's willing to underwrite a PNG side in perpetuity. Good luck with your search lol.

Wb1234

A Tasmanian AFL team would be able to survive when the Tasmanian government pulls that $8mil a year. Their grant is a luxury not a necessity.

A PNG NRL side would fold overnight if any of the AU$30mil+ per annum they'd need to survive were to be pulled. PNG's grants would be necessities not luxuries.

That's the major difference, and it's a monumental difference despite your attempts to pretend overwise.

We can absolutely judge the potential finances of a PNG side based solely on the economic realities of the country, and it's just silly that you'd pretend otherwise.

The economic realities are what they are, and even you yourself have freely admitted that a PNG NRL side would have to be reliant on government grants to be anywhere near possible.
No a Tasmanian afl side isn’t viable

just be consistent in your arguments

ok you tell me the following

1. What investors does a png bid team have
2. What sponsors does a png bid team have
3. What govt support is being provided
4. What infrastructure is being built for the club
5. How much profit or loss will a png bid team made