Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Next TV deal discussion 2028 -

Iamback

The worry I have is that the more major sports that stay with Foxtel the less likely it would be for us to take a gamble and go with Ten/Paramount on our own. Foxtel will be aware of that.
We really needed at least one of the other major sports to go with Ten/Paramount to give it some oomph.
I`d like to think that Nine/Stan could provide a bit of competitive tension for Foxtel but Nine always seem half-hearted at best when it comes for bidding for Rugby League broadcast rights.

Fox needs those major sports to pay for the ones they have

I have no problem with that but given Australia's population. The trade off is less money coming in, especially with those services that need subscribers to survive

Mate that is ridiculous. Top line NRL players are playing from February to November. That is way too long considering the contact they endure, and the aerobic effort required on top of that. It is probably why you have players like Jake T developing chronic hamstring problems as he never has enough time for his body to adequately heal. No amount of extra money will prevent that, which means you wind up with less top line players being available.

Who wants to watch reserve graders running around in first grade games all the time? The NRL won't get to revenue levels comparable with the NFL or NBA due to the population differences, true. However just lengthening the season is daft to say the least.

Also, platforms like Foxtel will need content. The decision to sell off Fox Movie studios is now starting to bite as with Disney+ having bo8ght it, now if you want to watch show like The Simpsons, X-Files, Family (to name a few) you have to have Disney+ as Foxtel lost the rights to show them as of 1 January 2023, and I dare say they will lose more as time goes by, especially if other of the big studios launch their own streaming services in Australia.

(edit: fixed some typos)

Wb1234

Mate that is ridiculous. Top line NRL players are playing from February to November. That is way too long considering the contact they endure, and the aerobic effort required on top of that. It is probably why you have players like Jake T developing chronic hamstring problems as he never has enough time for his body to adequately heal. No amount of extra money will prevent that, which means you wind up with less top line players being available.

Who wants to watch reserve graders running around in first grade games all the time? The NRL won't get to revenue levels comparable with the NFL or NBA due to the population differences, true. However just lengthening the season is daft to say the least.

Also, platforms like Foxtel will need content. The decision to sell off Fox Movie studios is now starting to bite as with Disney+ having bo8ught it, now if you want to watch show lik The Simpsons, X-Files, Family (to name a few) you have to have Disney+ as Foxtyel lost the rights to show them as of 1 January 2023, and I dare say they will lse more as time goes by, especially if other of the big studios launch their own streaming services in Australia.
Jake t is because of Donny singe

they had good physio staff before they all left cause of him

Iamback

Also, platforms like Foxtel will need content. The decision to sell off Fox Movie studios is now starting to bite as with Disney+ having bo8ught it, now if you want to watch show lik The Simpsons, X-Files, Family (to name a few) you have to have Disney+ as Foxtyel lost the rights to show them as of 1 January 2023, and I dare say they will lse more as time goes by, especially if other of the big studios launch their own streaming services in Australia.

NFL is the outlier in World Sport. Most comps are longer for the content

Vee

The players have a point in that regard. A longer season increases the chances of player injury, which means you are more likely to have games effected even more than previously by injuries, even if it is just bumps, bruises and mental fatigue. That effects the quality of the on field "product" shown on TV (be it FTA, or any other). For contact and intensity of physical contest, the NFL is probably the closest comparison to NRL (even though it is far more soip start than RL), and they try to not over do their season length as the players, owners and administrators understand you need to give the players time to recover between games, and between seasons, if you want the players being able to physically perform at their best. That's why the NFL have restrictions on when training can start in the pre-season, how much contact can be done even in season, and stuff like that. In RL, we have too many people who say "they are professionals, they should push through" when in fact sports science shows you have to give players bodies time to recover if you want top performance.
Paragraphs are your friend.

taipan

There'll only be one person shown up if he renegotiates early again with the same result as this time!
No cash increase ch9, no increase Fox. Awesome outcome from going early.
Meanwhile AFL clawed back their covid losses in 23&24 and now talking up a massive increase from '25.
The last deal was negotiated in 2021 in the midst of the continuing COVID crap. To assume one would get a big increase with all the uncertainties around such as the economy , business survival, unemployment, and whether the whole clusterf&ck would get worse, is smoking the funny stuff.

TV stations had no real idea of where this pandemic would take us and them FFS.To get a deal with any sort of increase is a plus ATT .It created certainty of income.

You just let your hatred for V'Landys cloud your thinking.If the 17 team you currently bag(as no extra revenue) was Perth, you'd be creaming .It forms the basis for an 18 team comp for the next deal.

Even that "charismatic" D Gallop stated, to fish where the fish are. ATT they are where the Dolphins play.They've got.
the financial support, the fans and initially an average playing roster.Hell even the Sharks had little financial backing initially.

taipan

There'll only be one person shown up if he renegotiates early again with the same result as this time!
No cash increase ch9, no increase Fox. Awesome outcome from going early.
Meanwhile AFL clawed back their covid losses in 23&24 and now talking up a massive increase from '25.
The last deal was negotiated in 2021 in the midst of the continuing COVID crap. To assume one would get a big increase with all the uncertainties around such as the economy , business survival, unemployment, and whether the whole clusterf&ck would get worse.
TV stations had no real idea of where this pandemic would take us and them FFS.To get a deal with any sort of increase is a plus ATT. The nRL had a huge cost cutting exercise to survive.
You just let your hatred for V'Landys cloud your thinking.If the 17 team you currently bag(as no extra revenue) was Perth, you'd be creaming .It forms the basis for an 18 team comp.
Even that D Gallop the charismatic leader of the NRL(OK I lie) believed in fishing where the fish are. They are ATM where the Dolphins are situated.They have the financials, fans and as expected initially an average playing roster.
Even the Sharks did not have the financials initially.
As far as the fumbletons are concerned, they can talk up as much as they want.It gets down to the ability to pay on the basis of the prevailing economy ..We are hardly booming and a recessions is still a strong possibility..

NFL is the outlier in World Sport. Most comps are longer for the content

Few have comparable levels of physical contact. The NRL is one. Things like football (aka soccer) and basketball do not have anywhere near the levels of physical collision/contact that the NFL and NRL do. Even places like the top level RU competitions in the UK only run for a maximum of 6 months, and its not like they get paid peanuts.

Steel Saints

So they cut out 30 percent of bbl games and still got more money

sounds like a great result now

So they cut out 30 percent of bbl games and still got more money

sounds like a great result now
CA got a good result because they put it out to tender. The cons in the new deal, is that the length of it has increased from six to seven years and men’s white ball internationals are still behind a paywall.

If it hasn’t already, men’s ODI and int T20 may lose relevancy by 2031.

Iamback

Few have comparable levels of physical contact. The NRL is one. Things like football (aka soccer) and basketball do not have anywhere near the levels of physical collision/contact that the NFL and NRL do. Even places like the top level RU competitions in the UK only run for a maximum of 6 months, and its not like they get paid peanuts.

They also don't generate anywhere near the same TV revenue

UK Rugby deal. around $180m

France is around the same

We know Super rugby even allowing for NZ money is well behind NRL/AFL.

As is the case in Soccer and the US sports there will be times when top players are 'rested' which is fine, If the players want the money that is the trade off

Iamback

The last deal was negotiated in 2021 in the midst of the continuing COVID crap. To assume one would get a big increase with all the uncertainties around such as the economy , business survival, unemployment, and whether the whole clusterf&ck would get worse.
TV stations had no real idea of where this pandemic would take us and them FFS.To get a deal with any sort of increase is a plus ATT. The nRL had a huge cost cutting exercise to survive.
You just let your hatred for V'Landys cloud your thinking.If the 17 team you currently bag(as no extra revenue) was Perth, you'd be creaming .It forms the basis for an 18 team comp.
Even that D Gallop the charismatic leader of the NRL(OK I lie) believed in fishing where the fish are. They are ATM where the Dolphins are situated.They have the financials, fans and as expected initially an average playing roster.
Even the Sharks did not have the financials initially.
As far as the fumbletons are concerned, they can talk up as much as they want.It gets down to the ability to pay on the basis of the prevailing economy ..We are hardly booming and a recessions is still a strong possibility..

Not to mention AFL has thrown in magic round in 2023 and 2024 for free. Imagine the sooking from certain people on here if NRL did the same thing

Iamback

CA got a good result because they put it out to tender. The cons in the new deal, is that the length of it has increased from six to seven years and men’s white ball internationals are still behind a paywall.

If it hasn’t already, men’s ODI and int T20 may lose relevancy by 2031.

Is $216m a year an increase?

Wb1234

They also don't generate anywhere near the same TV revenue

UK Rugby deal. around $180m

France is around the same

We know Super rugby even allowing for NZ money is well behind NRL/AFL.

As is the case in Soccer and the US sports there will be times when top players are 'rested' which is fine, If the players want the money that is the trade off
Nrl really does dwarf union at club level

not even close

Cricket Australia also have a lucrative overseas (India) tv market. Overall, when India tour and should they be able to fix the BBL, that's probably where they see the upside.

As for NRL, can we pls not flog this dead horse. Ok deal is sub optimal but not much we can do about it now. If the next deal is a dud, then right to make some noise.

Iamback

Nrl really does dwarf union at club level

not even close

They sure do, Of course they have different funding for the Internationals

Still how would guys Like Welsch, Wade Graham, Dylan Edwards etc enjoy say a 20 round comp with the paycut that goes with it. So those who can play internationals?

It isn't ideal but it goes with wanting the big money. The trade off is less of a pre-season and possibly missing some games for the truly elite in the sport