Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Next TV deal discussion 2028 -

Pneuma

I've got him on ignore so no idea what inane rambling he is on about again but what extra content are you talking about?
AFL advantages:
More games
Metro reach
4 games on FTA increase FTA value, decrease fox value
more flexibility in FTA games being covered in different states increase FTA value, decrease Fox value

NRL Advantages:
SOO
Internationals
More exclusive games on Fox
Thursday night FTA
No overlap of games
Bigger audiences
Sydney audience (which people keep saying is most valuable in the country)

The value of AFLW/NRLW regardless of number of games is next to zero

Why you feel AFL is worth so much more I really dont know!
Maybe your just trying to justify the unjustifiable?

Once again there is no justification for a difference of $365mill v $550mill in Australian TV rights.
Potato

Pneuma

The total revenue before costs of NRL digital was less than $30mill before it was hidden away. You think Telstra are paying AFL $50mill plus substantial costs to run it??? If they are we should have sold the digital rights back to them!!

Lol, its for 7 years! You honestly believe Telstra are going to spend $301mill on wifi at Marvel???

NRL isnt getting $400mill CASH! Its getting $402mill cash and contra. Around $30mil contra is my estimate (based on last deals $24mil contra + Ch9 $5mill + SkyNZ increase inc contra)
Alas we wont know as Pistol Pete has buried the numbers. Nothing like accountability eh?
Potato

Pneuma

The NRLW averaged 200 000 + across all platforms. That`s got to be worth something to a broadcaster, especially one with exclusivity.
Of course it does and its rating far higher than the aflw’s muck. Of course that’s good news but he’s not going to acknowledge that . The whinging Pom can’t see past his unnatural love for Gil.

I've got him on ignore so no idea what inane rambling he is on about again but what extra content are you talking about?
AFL advantages:
More games
Metro reach
4 games on FTA increase FTA value, decrease fox value
more flexibility in FTA games being covered in different states increase FTA value, decrease Fox value

NRL Advantages:
SOO
Internationals
More exclusive games on Fox
Thursday night FTA
No overlap of games
Bigger audiences
Sydney audience (which people keep saying is most valuable in the country)

The value of AFLW/NRLW regardless of number of games is next to zero

Why you feel AFL is worth so much more I really dont know!
Maybe your just trying to justify the unjustifiable?

Once again there is no justification for a difference of $365mill v $550mill in Australian TV rights.
Bless

I love how Perth potato continually uses the words
My Estimate
My Guess
I suspect.
etc
& then tries to pass himself off as an authority on the deals .
Lol like he knows exactly what is contained in them .
yep Potato

Pneuma

I love how Perth potato continually uses the words
My Estimate
My Guess
I suspect.
etc
& then tries to pass himself off as an authority on the deals .
Lol like he knows exactly what is contained in them .
yep Potato
Yep. He’s a legend in his own mind. He sees everything from a jaundiced view formed purely by spite. But he is consistent.

taipan

Welcome back Tai, havent seen you for a while. You might have missed it but AFL signed a tv deal in 2022 that was $160mill plus a year MORE than their last deal. In 2020 they signed one of those short term deals you mentioned that recouped all of their covid TV revenue losses. Hmmm.
But yeh the economy means Tv isn't willing to splash out for sport lol

Ironically Vlandys blamed covid for Fox struggling and therefore giving them it a bargain basement price (the now infamous catching a cold line), yet all the stats show streaming subscriptions went through the roof during covid!

Heres the link for you to catch up
I've been around mate ,busy busy. Debating in LU had to take a back seat.
The deal Sept 22 still reinforces my view 2022 was not 2020/21 re COVID and the AFL would have had no idea what would have happened in 2022. And because of their 4 qtr, throw in the adds it's not surprising.Ironic 7 years .They also have far greater overheads player numbers, coaching /mgt numbers and an extra game.You cannot continue to compare what fumble ball got compared to the NRL, there is a difference on so many levels.

And 2022 was not 2020/2021 in terms of COVID impact ,even though it is still around doing damage.If it was as bad as 2020 there is no way on this planet AFL could have got any where near that mark.

It's 7 years ,so if the economy in say 3 -4 years is skyrocketing as well as inflation will it be such a good deal?At least they have certainty just like the NRL.
You can also argue why such a long deal, if in 3 years additional opportunities could arise to flog your product.
Also when the deal was finalised in Sept ,our good old Reserve Bank continued to up interest rates in Sept/Oct/Nov/Dec and you can bet 50quokkas to 1, interest rates will go up again in February (due our inflation rate rising).
Plus the fumblers are still putting in to assist the Sunburns and the Sydney Yetis err Giants

Fox in the States has had a drop in viewership, although they are doing a damn side better than the other cable mobs there.

We all know what transpired in 2020 with the COVID effect on the game, from admin down to players.FHS many hundreds of thousands of extra people were out of work relying on Govt assistance just to exist, many losing jobs, many businesses closing never to return.You think people hoicked out of work would continue with Fox cable subs.

Your comment it(NRL) was a bargain basement price is just your view. Yet the figure has given a decent cap increase to all clubs, covered a 17th team ,covered increases in the NRLW comp, provide loot to lower comps .
You negotiate when you feel is the right time ,when you have some certainty (flimsy at times) of how the economy is going, and you want to ensure you have security to finance the comp over a period.Just like an employee wants job security.
The comment re the economy and Tv wiling to splash out.Well I remember a certain WA guy who won a Yacht race, paid a huge sum for rugby league. He overpaid(splashed out) and Packer made the comment when he bought this guy out "you only get one Alan Bond" in your life.
7 was never going to put real commercial tension in a battle to get the NRL.They wanted AFL first and cherry pick the NRL.And who woulda got promotional preference not the NRL. It's bad enough with the pathetic promotion of the NRL with ch9. CH10 ATT was not a real player.Regardless if D Smith, Greenberg or the Galloperhad been around.
Remember Financial markets had not anticipated the magnitude of the rise in inflation at the start of the year(2022),when cash rates were close to zero and bond markets projecting more of the same.
I repeat one more time the world economy this year is going to take a hammering, if the many financial pundits overseas are to be believed.And cable news could well bear the brunt of it.

Wb1234

Yep. He’s a legend in his own mind. He sees everything from a jaundiced view formed purely by spite. But he is consistent.
Jealous of how strong rugby league is here than in his home country

why people think a pom would know what’s best for rugby league in australia baffles me

this is the league that killed off Toronto because the city offered nothing commercially to super league, unlike Leigh

Jealous of how strong rugby league is here than in his home country

why people think a pom would know what’s best for rugby league in australia baffles me

this is the league that killed off Toronto because the city offered nothing commercially to super league, unlike Leigh
Toronto gave me someone to go for in that league. I watched every game I could with them playing.

And ottowa and New York ready to join too

I’ve given up on super league . English fans have no idea how to run a major league like the nrl
Yep. Having North American teams in their League would have made it very relevant in the progress of Rugby League. Way more than what they envisaged.

Iamback

The NRLW averaged 200 000 + across all platforms. That`s got to be worth something to a broadcaster, especially one with exclusivity.

Super Rugby gets around the same. They got $100m across 3 years. No reason a dedicated NRLW slot ( Like AFLW now has ) can't bring $30m a year in. ATM the game isn't set up for that, Hopefully we add more teams and can take that and a 9th game to next TV talks

Iamback

I'm counting the digital value - around $40million and the wifi at a very generoud $53million. I doubt its anything like that but lets say it is to make the tv gap not look even worse! We know the other TV offers were $5500 plus and $600mill so its unlikely that they would have accepted less than $550 from Fox/Ch7. Even a $350mill gap over the life of the contract that they could have got from Paramount seems excessive.

No reason they had to go to tender with those numbers. Wait a year or two announce 17&18, sell 9 games. The tender process drove the massive AFL deal, not content. NRLW/AFLW is worth nothing in reality.

Lets use that $550m figure then.

An AFL round is 1080 mins and NRL is 640 mins.

AFL has added an extra round not just for the 7 years but for the next 2 also.

They know have an AFLW running until Nov, They can do that because don't have an international window to try and fill in.

Feb-Nov content. Longer games across the season it is more than double the Minutes NRL provides.

Oh yes and they have qtr breaks not one 10 min half. More stoppages in play for ads.

So again why would NRL get the same if they went to tender later?

Pneuma

They know have an AFLW running until Nov, They can do that because don't have an international window to try and fill in.

Feb-Nov content. Longer games across the season it is more than double the Minutes NRL provides.

Oh yes and they have qtr breaks not one 10 min half. More stoppages in play for ads.

I wonder how much of that deal relies on a Tassie team being added? If it doesn’t go ahead the outcome might be interesting. Looking at it from that perspective the afl may not have the Tasmanian government as much over the barrel as the government thinks it does

Wb1234

I wonder how much of that deal relies on a Tassie team being added? If it doesn’t go ahead the outcome might be interesting. Looking at it from that perspective the afl may not have the Tasmanian government as much over the barrel as the government thinks it does
Which is why they never admitted it before

if the tassie govt knew it doesn’t throw that money at it

Wb1234

Say afl 550 million we get 430 million now

team 18 and nrlw, end of season internationals

should match it

heck even if we get 520 milllion we aren’t funding the giants or the suns whose loses go up every year

Iamback

So much unknown with their deal as such them getting it doesn't mean NRL is undervalued