Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Next TV deal discussion 2028 -

Wb1234

At one stage I think we all thought Stan would go. I’ve kept it on suspicion as it has just enough good content to keep it. Stan Sport? Nup.
It’s just an extra channel with minimal overhead it costs them nothing to keep it open

it’s the cost of the content vs the revenues from that content that determine if it grows

right now I’m sure with the union tv rights they are losing on the super rugby

paying 30 million for super rugby you would struggle to think they get back ten million In revenue each year from ads and subs

Pneuma

It’s just an extra channel with minimal overhead it costs them nothing to keep it open

it’s the cost of the content vs the revenues from that content that determine if it grows

right now I’m sure with the union tv rights they are losing on the super rugby

paying 30 million for super rugby you would struggle to think they get back ten million In revenue each year from ads and subs
You’d hope so. The product is crap. When it was first introduced super rugby was actually exciting. Crowds were huge and it really did help fox sports grow. Over time it has become tedious and predictable. I haven’t watched a game in a decade I reckon. League always delivers.

Wb1234

You’d hope so. The product is crap. When it was first introduced super rugby was actually exciting. Crowds were huge and it really did help fox sports grow. Over time it has become tedious and predictable. I haven’t watched a game in a decade I reckon. League always delivers.
It was a news ltd creation and now they’ve walked away from it

those crowd drops are terminal they can’t recover but the wolrd cup here will give it a short term boost

Iamback

It was 150,000 subs in May 2021 just for Stan Sport. Stan has 2.3m subscribers as of August 2021. Its not going anywhere, and just reported 2.5m

7plus being able to show AFL under the 2027 deal is going to be a big deal for Seven. Plus they are getting some streaming for the cricket under the new deal as well I understand. It went gangbusters over the Olympics.

That was pre content moving to ch7/Fox though. You need quality content with all the streamers out there.

Do they report hours watched on those extra channel streams on 7 plus?

They won’t in the future as it made a profit

Can you imagine the money doesn’t go the arlc and a player gets injured

then next year the clubs will be pulling players for the tournament

at least if the arlc is banking off it the clubs will respect it more

And yes I know clubs aren’t supposed to stand down players from internationals but they all do

between growing the international game in the pacific and adding potentially another 3 new clubs rugby league is laying a platform that will pay off for decades
Singapore…yeh baby

Iamback

At one stage I think we all thought Stan would go. I’ve kept it on suspicion as it has just enough good content to keep it. Stan Sport? Nup.

I have Stan for years, In that time they have lost Disney content, Showtime, Paramount plus content, Now lost content to 7 plus and Fox.

As the contracts slowly expire and the lack of available content disappears it will die, It needs to merge with Amazon or something really

Iamback

They won’t in the future as it made a profit

Can you imagine the money doesn’t go the arlc and a player gets injured

then next year the clubs will be pulling players for the tournament

at least if the arlc is banking off it the clubs will respect it more

And yes I know clubs aren’t supposed to stand down players from internationals but they all do

between growing the international game in the pacific and adding potentially another 3 new clubs rugby league is laying a platform that will pay off for decades

Wouldn't in the case of Mansour and Taupau Lebanon and Samoa cover it?

That is the big issue atm the big 3 are the only ones able to pay players.

I have a different perspective on streaming services these days.
There are the occasional shows that I find out are good, so I switch whatever stream is on for a month and watch the show(s) and turn it off. At the moment I have none going, except Kayo, but that is only because I'd turned it off after the NRL finished and a month ago they gave me an offer to have it on for two months for $5 a month. I've watched the Tests plus some NFL.
I was toying with the idea if not having Kayo this coming footy season as I'm usually working arvo/nights these days so I was watching replays last season.
I then discovered that NRL.com replays the games for free couple of days later.
That could give me viewing time during the week.
Now that I find out they are increasing to $30 a month, and the only conclusion is that they need the cash to pay the AFL in the coming seasons, well I'm thinking I might try not having it. I'm not saying I won't change my mind but I think I will see if I can deal with watching replays on NRL.com.

I have Stan for years, In that time they have lost Disney content, Showtime, Paramount plus content, Now lost content to 7 plus and Fox.

As the contracts slowly expire and the lack of available content disappears it will die, It needs to merge with Amazon or something really

You are aware than Nine Entertainment own Stan, right?

The NRLW averaged 200 000 + across all platforms. That`s got to be worth something to a broadcaster, especially one with exclusivity.
Not really as it’s not new subscribers, no one’s buying kayo or fox to watch nrlw/aflw. It might have a little value as a popular filler for HT advertising bonus but nothing of consequence to the cost of running them.

There are the occasional shows that I find out are good, so I switch whatever stream is on for a month and watch the show(s) and turn it off. At the moment I have none going, except Kayo, but that is only because I'd turned it off after the NRL finished and a month ago they gave me an offer to have it on for two months for $5 a month. I've watched the Tests plus some NFL.
I was toying with the idea if not having Kayo this coming footy season as I'm usually working arvo/nights these days so I was watching replays last season.
Now that I find out they are increasing to $30 a month, and the only conclusion is that they need the cash to pay the AFL in the coming seasons, well I'm thinking I might try not having it. I'm not saying I won't change my mind but I think I will see if I can deal with watching replays on NRL.com.
$30 a month is starting to reach top end for me, especially as I rarely watch more than 3 games live these days. Still just about worth it for 3 games the SL games and F1 but if it goes up again to cover the afls 2025 mega increase then it might be vpn and dodgy Indian feeds for me!

Steel Saints

It was 150,000 subs in May 2021 just for Stan Sport. Stan has 2.3m subscribers as of August 2021. Its not going anywhere, and just reported 2.5m

7plus being able to show AFL under the 2027 deal is going to be a big deal for Seven. Plus they are getting some streaming for the cricket under the new deal as well I understand. It went gangbusters over the Olympics.
If Stan don't get the content to remain relevant and competitive, would Nine consider selling it? And at the same time, keep Stan Sport?

The_Wookie

If Stan don't get the content to remain relevant and competitive, would Nine consider selling it? And at the same time, keep Stan Sport?

Im not sure Stan Sport is viable on its own, or whether its current subscriber base would pay the skyrocketing sub costs to keep it going as a standalone.

Steel Saints

Im not sure Stan Sport is viable on its own, or whether its current subscriber base would pay the skyrocketing sub costs to keep it going as a standalone.

Had a feeling you would say that about Stan Sports own viability as a standalone . In a way, it makes perfect sense for Foxtel to jag as much content away from Stan. The less content Stan has, the more likely they sell up. And one less rival for Fox to compete with.

Foxtel recently did a deal with NBC Universal.

Iamback

Had a feeling you would say that about Stan Sports own viability as a standalone . In a way, it makes perfect sense for Foxtel to jag as much content away from Stan. The less content Stan has, the more likely they sell up. And one less rival for Fox to compete with.

Foxtel recently did a deal with NBC Universal.

Paramount Plus has taken back showtime and other content too

Diesel

100% the latest increase coincides with the AFL deal.

JD-Roo

Any changes as far as extending halftime breaks?
The only time the half-time break was ever extended was way back when AFL was still doing State-of-Origin, so a couple of decades back.

It got extended from 20 to 30 minutes for the TV coverage for one match in Adelaide (I think), but was dropped straight after as it screwed with the player's and coaches' mid-match routines too much.

In 2019 and 2020 there were separate discussions about actually shortening the half-time break to 15 and even 10 minutes, but those plans were dropped.