Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Next TV rights deal

DC_fan

Something that hasn't been mentioned on this thread is the Jarryd Hayne factor. If he becomes an established NFL star I would think there will be many Americans interested in the game he played previously. Properly marketed by the NRL a new or existing streaming service could piggy back off Hayne and bring the NRL a host of new customers from a country where right now there are only a few rugby league fans.

Disagree totally with your comets.

The American sporting public don't give a stuff what sport Hayne has previously played. All they will care about is can he play American football.

The only people who will care about his league background is NFL scouts who may look to the game as a possible source for players in the future.

redvscotty

Disagree totally with your comets.

The American sporting public don't give a stuff what sport Hayne has previously played. All they will care about is can he play American football.

The only people who will care about his league background is NFL scouts who may look to the game as a possible source for players in the future.

lol, you have been butthurt 4 dayz mate.

There is a group of Americans who will see Hayne kill it, and then look up Rugby League. It's bound to happen. You can't categorically state it'll never happen even because you're DC FAN and you said so.

merkin

docbrown

Cheers doc.

Safe to say it is a lot higher than the $30-$50 million that Roy reported? 9 having complete rights would be massive for the NRL, especially if all matches are on FTA nation-wide. I would sign up to Stan in a heartbeat if they started adding a comprehensive catalog of old matches and other Rugby League related content

Price & full details are pretty vague so hence why I'm hesitant to believe it. It makes sense from a logic point of view though. If the NRL were confident that they had an alternative that would end up matching Foxtel's original (& expected) offer, then they could go deal with Fox on an even footing. They'd obviously know that there'd be a backlash in News press but that would happen even if the NRL sold it for $2 billion & News were cut out. So say 9 got it, then instead of dealing with the NRL Fox would have to deal with 9 if they want to get the on-sell rights. 9 changes its slots, simulcast etc and NRL doesn't have to do the negotiating heavy lifting.

I'll wait though until I read it in the papers or hear it from a higher source. If true though it explains a lot of the NRL's thinking. If they lose, well they get more coverage & same money they would have anyway. If they win, more money & more coverage.

I for one do hope that Google is in the market, the streaming through Youtube onto my TV is excellent. I am watching some footy now and it is better than any stream I have used.
If Google was to come into play I guess it would be Youtube they'd use.

8Ball

Price & full details are pretty vague so hence why I'm hesitant to believe it. It makes sense from a logic point of view though. If the NRL were confident that they had an alternative that would end up matching Foxtel's original (& expected) offer, then they could go deal with Fox on an even footing. They'd obviously know that there'd be a backlash in News press but that would happen even if the NRL sold it for $2 billion & News were cut out. So say 9 got it, then instead of dealing with the NRL Fox would have to deal with 9 if they want to get the on-sell rights. 9 changes its slots, simulcast etc and NRL doesn't have to do the negotiating heavy lifting.

I'll wait though until I read it in the papers or hear it from a higher source. If true though it explains a lot of the NRL's thinking. If they lose, well they get more coverage & same money they would have anyway. If they win, more money & more coverage.

Interesting comments doc. I think the most exciting part about this is that the NRL still has 2 years to play if indeed they have a genuinely acceptable option that's already on the table.

reanimate

I for one do hope that Google is in the market, the streaming through Youtube onto my TV is excellent. I am watching some footy now and it is better than any stream I have used.
If Google was to come into play I guess it would be Youtube they'd use.

It'd definitely be YouTube, they already stream some sports on there in countries like NZ and also do video game competitions, e.g. StarCraft 2, live on there pretty regularly.

I'm watching Knights vs Sharks from June this year, paired with my phone, YouTube and TV. Excellent quality, the missus walked in and asked why the footy is on Thursday arvo, she couldn't tell the difference in quality.

Johnny88

What would Nine pay for the rest of the 4 games? You would think no more than 400mill.
I know its early days but I think Smith wont get anywhere near 1.5 bill. Nine comes out as the winner in this deal.

8Ball

There was a rumour floating around in the early in the negotiation period that nine offered 1.5b originally for the lot and Smith turned it down. I can't find the article though.

I'd be very surprised if Smith couldn't get 1.5b..

ek999

On the proviso that they cannot on-sell any matches to Pay TV and every match is broadcast live nation-wide, I would accept the $1.5b from 9. The exposure of having every match live on FTA is worth the loss of cash in my mind.

Add on NZ and other international markets and the NRL would have enough cash and it would be easily the most watched sport in the country bringing in extra advertising revenue etc

applesauce

Hearing word that the NRL will try and sell 9 games (yes 9) to FOX till 2025 for $2billion (bringing the total to about $3billion). This also gives the NRL 4 games to sell in 2022 to a "Netflix" or FTA network but 3 more years to run on the PTV component.

saint pebba

Hearing word that the NRL will try and sell 9 games (yes 9) to FOX till 2025 for $2billion (bringing the total to about $3billion). This also gives the NRL 4 games to sell in 2022 to a "Netflix" or FTA network but 3 more years to run on the PTV component.

That would be a very silly move...

I wouldn't lock in PTV for that many years.

Johnny88

Cant believe Dave Smith has sold simulcast rights with nine's ads (dirty feed). How do Fox make money from this deal? Wonder what Smith's bonus is from the 9 deal he couldn't wait to sign it.

reanimate

2025?? That can't be right, not for 2 billion, that would be ludicrous unders.

babyg

could be a smart move. Does that give afl the jump with proper streaming services

Tbh I would prefer nine bought the other 4 games for their stan service. Their subscriber base would sky rocket. What they could do is have the games live on stan and delayed by 2-3 hours on gem.